Forcing Happiness is quite unhealthy in the long run.

in #happiness7 years ago

image.png

I'm' not sure if you guys have noticed how most youtube "Stars" and other social stars tend to over force Happiness. You can see that by looking at how over-amped they tend to get. Especially if someone has seen "Logan Poul". But overall those are examples that you guys can check out for yourself to see what I'm talking about.

Let's get to the topic at hand.

Forcing Happiness?


Most people tend to be fake when doing something social orientated. By fake I mean, they don't quite express things in the calm manner used off scene.

Now I've been asking myself, " What kind of a life role model is that?". I've noticed most kids trying desperately to be amped as if they are wrecked on cocaine or something. I'm not even sure if that is the definition of happiness itself. Rather brute forcing life circumstances.

When I was quite young I used to watch people like that and I ended up having a false expectation of happiness. That actually led me to a slight depression after time and being let down due to the inability to be "Happily Jacked on energy"

Looking back now at myself, it was quite easy back then for me to believe all the things I saw on TV or Youtube. Lucky for me I kinda got hit in the head with a bat and woke up from that stupid stuff.

Other Than That


On the other side, although this is somewhat false faked happiness, there are downfalls for the people doing it themselves.

As most might know by now, our emotions are interconnected with our bodies. And our bodies are used to work in an optimal manner, meaning that everything should be balanced. If one is truly happy and cheerful then his body will feel good and relaxed. If a person is under stress, then the body will be amped and kicked with dopamine to trigger the flights or fight response.

The dopamine sparks the cells and umps their working voltage, thus resulting in a full body cooldown afterward, or in other words, "Feeling Down and Wrecked".

By saying that, we can see that these kind of people are actually forcing an over-amplification of the body's response/nervous system.

If one tends to do that on a long-term basis, he might actually end up wear and tear ing his body faster. And it goes beyond that. That's only the Physical aspect of it all.

Overall


Compressing this down a bit, I wanted to say that sometimes people tend to do stuff for fame. And they get the fame because the things they do aren't natural. Therefore people find it interesting. But in reality, its always a good idea to think a bit logically before finding a "Role Model" figure. There's always the scenario where one decides to be something different than himself.

What do you think ?

Thanks for reading !

JOIN

Sort:  

I think that being happy and having fun are two different things. Most people, when posting on social networks, try to look like they're having fun because you're supposed to look at them and see how cool they are, and how great their life is. I've personally witnessed a girl at a party spending the whole night trying to get the perfect selfie. And yeah, they honestly don't always look particularly self-conscious or satisfied of their life, but I guess that would be a digression. People like Logan Paul might genuinely have fun in doing what they do, and the viewer who looks at that specific part of their life is compelled to think that they must be very happy and carefree to have that much fun. Which is, in turn, a false deduction, because most times you feel the need to have fun and get "amped up" to get distracted from your own misfortune.

"Forcing happiness"and the physical consequences that you describe sound to me more like when someone stays in a situation that's not really optimal for them, like an unsatisfactory relationship or job, and rather than face their shortcomings and disappointments they try very hard to convince themselves that they are happy. And I think it's a very common reaction to a lot of different circumstances during our life, that you can avoid only by being extremely honest with yourself.

Thanks for the post by the way, I love when things get introspective or a little psychological :)

Amazing comment. Thanks for the insightful perspective. I've seen so many of those kind of girls rly. Its quite boring and honestly trying to talk to them and have a fun time with them is just a huge drag.

Thanks man!
And yet, that's the problem. Imagine having a relationship or a friendship with some so absorbed in this kind of ego-trip, how do you even start a conversation? Sometimes I think these people would have so much to give, and yet they keep it all bottled up inside and choose to show the world something they are not.

The key point: When you feel the urge to get distracted, smoke a cigarette, eat cake, Take a moment to analyze that feeling of craving. You feel a little jittery, a little restless - try to understand that feeling. The act of mindfully paying attention to the craving allows you to separate yourself from it and let it go.

That is quite true. Happy to see more people understanding this kind of third party viewing angle :)

I think it's way more important to be yourself than force some sort of emotions onto yourself, like hapiness for example. And how long can you force happiness? If you're actually sad, forcing happiness won't do you any good. I think it's important to ask yourself the question if you're truly happy and if the answer is no, then work on that! :)

Someties its kinda hard for people to find their source of happiness due to life circumstances. But I believe that if someone tries hard enough they can do so <3.

Indeed! They just gotta take some action to achieve that :)

While I certainly want to spend more time happy, it's very unhealthy to push it. I had a friend who did this all the time, and people would get addicted to her. Her children can't function without her. Any time they start to feel anything that is not happy, she swoops in and forces everyone to be happy. I don't think you can ever really be happy if you don't first acknowledge where you are. I don't think it's necessary to sit and dwell in it, but you gotta feel all the feelings. I had a teacher tell me once, "it's yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow, not yeah though I walk in and build a house there."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62