Happy Hanukkah

in #hanukkah6 years ago (edited)

This is the only new testament feast day.

The one and only that Yeshua celebrated publicly.

Remember when he proclaimed "The Father and I are one" and everyone tried to stone him? That was Hanukkah, otherwise known as the feast of re-dedication of the Temple after the abomination that causes desolation was there. Yes it has happened in the past, and is a mirror of what is to come!

When Yeshua said the word "One" or "Echad", they all knew what he was saying. "Sh'ma oh Israel, HaAdon Eloheinu Echad." Here oh Israel the Lord our God is one. People argue this topic to this day. "How can a man be God?"

The reasons for this time of year are mystical and many. If you want to know if God still loves his people and the land they are said to occupy, just look at the 1990's proclamation which was passed in the nineties but signed days before Hanukkah.

Hanukkah-891389.jpg

source

Seventy Years. Is that significant? You bet!

The first of eight days comes to an end...

20171213_195500.jpg

Just took this on one side of the sky.

Shalom

Thanks for taking the time to read.

Sort:  

Ah, Hanukkah, the holiday of weight-gain. Here's a little taste of what I have to deal with here in Israel! :)

img

Yum... In Canada we call those donuts and eat them every day of the year. Breakfast lunch and dinner. It is Hanukkah here every day of the Year. Our Thanksgiving is also celebrated in October to coincide with the Festival of Sukkot. It is our Harvest Festival/ingathering/ of the Lord. We store all our harvest / apples and pumpkins in sukkahs.

Canada is cold. You burn more calories. Also, our doughnut have filling instead of holes. Sweet sweet fattening filling. This year some artisan bakeries went overboard for reals. You can get gold-leaf covered sufganiot. Madness, I tell ya.

I love it. Could you send me some in the mail ? How much would it cost in Steem dollars for a gold leaf sufganiot.. I could pay in Steem or Steem dollars

It would probably spoil unless it's like a FedEx overnight, and that's just unreasonably expensive. Better just catch a flight over. Weather is lovely. <3

Yes ... I will use my Steem Dollars and Steem Power to fly to Israel and visit the Temple in Jerusalem and have a donut. I am serious. It is my #1 goal in life

I'll be happy to meet you at the airport! Tag me when it gets real.

How much Steem power do I need to fly to Jerusalem ?

You need only change Steem over to bitcoin - you can book the flight via cheapair.com - the final step in buying the ticket offers Visa, Master, or Bitcoin.

Love it!

Do you have room for a family of 4 at your place ?

thanks for you.

Well for kids, everyday and every time is a festival whenever there are sweets, donuts and gifts for them. The little twinkles of happiness is something that gives me the most pleasure.

Steem On!

This is the Canadian version of donut that we eat every day. Invented by a Canadian Hockey Player named Tim Horton. Tim Horton must have been Jewish .... these are the best donuts.

Giles Gilbert "Tim" Horton (January 12, 1930 – February 21, 1974) was a Canadian professional ice hockey player, a defenceman for 24 seasons in the National Hockey League until his death following a car crash in 1974, at the age of 44. He played for the Toronto Maple Leafs, New York Rangers, Pittsburgh Penguins, and Buffalo Sabres. On January 1, 2017, in a ceremony prior to the Centennial Classic, Horton was part of the first group of players to be named one of the '100 Greatest NHL Players' in history. Also a successful businessman, Horton was a co-founder of the Tim Hortons restaurant chain. Horton was born in Cochrane, Ontario, at Lady Minto Hospital, to Ethel May (née Irish) and Aaron Oakley Horton, a Canadian National Railway mechanic. Tim had one brother, Gerry Horton.
The family moved in 1935 to Duparquet, Quebec, returning to Ontario in 1938 to Cochrane; the family moved to Sudbury in 1945.

Yum .... donuts

Amazing discussion about donuts. Now I want some too....

thanks for resteem..

Happy Hanukkah

Hi @sangeeta I know this picture has some hidden story but despite engaging all my senses I couldn't get the point. Only I could understand is shadow of candles make something on the wall. Anyways this is very nice present on the occasion of Hanukkah... What do you say Mr @hebrew???

Are these the 4 candles of Advent ? Is there a link between the 4 candles of Advent and 8 candles of Hanukkah ? I would like to learn more ?

Happy Hanukkah to you too @hebrew . God bless you and Have a great day...

Thank you.

Happy Hanukkah to all i love to celebrate such moments

Hi @hebrew, First Off - This is my very first comment on any of your posts. I landed here while browsing through different posts and I'm happy that I did. Didn't know much about this festival so had to do some research. Be happy my friend and have a lot of fun. Don't eat all rather save some sweets for me too.

IMG-20171214-WA0036.jpg

Steem On!

I don't believe things are random. So are you a crypto millionaire? It is possible.

I respect your viewpoint. May be, it was due to a lot of activity on your post or the main photo that got my attention. For whatever reason it is, I'm happy that I connected with you.

I'm not crypto millionaire at this point but I'm dead sure I'll be by the end of next year.

Thanks for your love dear @hebrew.

Steem On!

310723.gif

Happy day brpther looks like ypu are really enjoying it have a good day .

This post received a 0.234 SBD (100%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @alishannoor! For more information, check out my profile!

I did not grow up Jewish, but I always had an interest in learning a little about hanukkah, and what it means to people, aside from the barebones version of the story of the lamp oil miracle.

Assuming you post another 7, I'll certainly be popping in to read all about it!

Happy Hanukkah!

I have made a few posts about the History of Hannukah on my blog. It is an incredible time of the year. I am very interested in the Symbolism of these ancient Israeli / Hebrew/ Jewish Festivals and when I found the Books of Maccabees in my catholic Bible (and nowhere else) I decided that as an Ojibwe/catholic/mystic I would celebrate this Festival of Lights with candles, dreidels and donuts ... the same way Jesus did when he lived in Israel 2,000 years ago. There is so much important to learn in these traditions. It blows my mind - especially when I read these stories in the Hebrew language - that I am learning thanks to these posts by @hebrew

Is this a part.of your religion day brother . I think you have to be do this as a part pf religion pr culture .

Happy Hanukkah!!!!!!!!!

Upvote
Resteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29