Still Laughing :: Haiku of Japan #91

in #haiku6 years ago


すつかり剥げて布袋は笑ひつゞけてゐる
sukkari hagete Hotei wa waraitsuzukete iru


completely
worn away
Hotei still laughing


—by Santoka
(Tr. David LaSpina)



(Print by NAME)

Hotei, perhaps better known in the West by his Chinese name Budai, is that fat laughing fellow that many Westerners confuse for the Buddha, often calling him the laughing Buddha, the fat Buddha, or simply the Buddha. Statues of him are common enough all over Japan. The above photo of him is one I found in Atami.

There is a Buddhist saying about him:

大肚能容,容天下难容之事;
笑口常开,笑世间可笑之人。

The big belly can contain,
embracing matters difficult to withstand in this world.
The smile is always there,
laughing at those who are laughable in this world.

Rubbing his belly is said to be good luck, so people commonly rub the belly of any Hotei statues they see. The Hotei statue that Santoka happened upon in this haiku has been worn away either by rubbing or weather, or both.

But cheerful Hotei doesn't mind, he just keeps smiling at the silliness of the world.






Don't miss other great haiku in the Haiku of Japan series!
Recent Haiku
Collections

If you enjoyed this post, please like and resteem. Also be sure to follow me to see more from Japan everyday.

I post one photo everyday, as well as a haiku and as time allows, videos, more Japanese history, and so on. Let me know if there is anything about Japan you would like to know more about or would like to see.

Who is David?
Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.
Sort:  

I can almost hear in my head what Blyth would say about this one.

I think the photo explains it better.

A great post as always.

That was a great one, very moving.

Been enjoying your posts referencing Japanese culture @dbooster. Please keep the series going :) I have always wanted to write a Haiku but have never given it a go, maybe I should start?? haha

How did you come to live in Japan by the way? Long story? haha Was interested but didn't see it in your 'Introducing' steemit post. Maybe a post idea? lol

This is the most grounded Hotei I've seen yet. Just look at those earlobes! They say that fat earlobes mean you are properly grounded, in your seat, sitting it out. You've got to keep on smiling if you're that rooted to earth (soaking up the nonsense - and people's desire for luck - in your compassionate way).

I heard Alan Watts talk about the role of the Jester in Western culture. I wonder if there is a similar role? I know there are cultural differences and sensibilities but both seem to point to the idea that it is all a game. Nice Work brother!

This one left me smiling. Loved all the Buddha statues in Japan. They felt so special to be around.

I upvoted your post and the dollar amount changed to $6.66, but Hotei is still laughing.

This is one of the most enjoyable posts I’ve read in a while. Thanks!

I like it. I don't know Japanese tenses, so I'll carefully ask, why "still laughing" over "still laughs," or "laughing still"?

I also have a small statue of Hotei. I always liked this image.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45