Winter Game :: Haiku of Japan #80

in #haiku6 years ago (edited)


氷上を滑りし礫とどまれり
hyōjō o suberishi tsubute todomareri


on ice
sliding throwing stones
come to a stop


by Okamoto Kazuhiko
(Tr. David LaSpina)


9ccbb0aa9c642c2cd77e27f89f6d8ff7--woodblock-print-block-prints.jpg
(Print by Kazuyoki Ohtsu)

This is a game they play in Japan and elsewhere. You may have played it when you were a kid. I did. On a frozen pond kids throw stones low so they skim over the ice and then slide. The one who slides the furthest wins. Or sometimes the one who slides the closest to another object wins.

Funny I should pick out this haiku today, as it was a warm day around 15 degrees C (59F). Crazy warm for the winter. Warm winter days like this I always fine myself of two minds: on one hand, I really enjoy the warmth, on the other I worry because it shouldn't be this warm in winter.

I should find a frozen pond and throw some stones and stop thinking so much.






Don't miss other great haiku in the Haiku of Japan series!
Recent Haiku
Collections

If you enjoyed this post, please like and resteem. Also be sure to follow me to see more from Japan everyday.

I post one photo everyday, as well as a haiku and as time allows, videos, more Japanese history, and so on. Let me know if there is anything about Japan you would like to know more about or would like to see.

Who is David?
Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.
Sort:  

'I should find a frozen pond and throw some stones and stop thinking so much.' HAHA 🤣
I just came back from Tokyo 2 weeks ago. I did not expect to see a frozen and partially frozen lake at the Shinjuku Gyoen.
its the first frozen lake i've seen in my life.
i was really curious so i threw some pebbles around ahaha. cant believe i enjoyed myself so much

That's the spirit! Pebbles were made to be thrown into lakes, or on ice covered lakes.

Almost makes me feel like "curling" . . . up with a book indoors... Love ice in a box (to keep my peas frozen). I challenge you and me both to stop thinking for a bit! However, the frozen pond didn't stop Okamoto Kazuhiko from thinking up this haiku - what is not a sliding stone to a poet?

The curse of being a poet—Buddha mind is forever out of reach as we just can't stop thinking. Your koan might help. What is not a sliding stone to a poet? Indeed!

Plop. Ice melts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45