As Above, So Below

in #haiku6 years ago (edited)

As Above, So Below.png

                                                        dead trees
                                                        bury boughs
                                                        deep    in
                                                        the moon.

z_divider'.png
Since I was a kid, I've always been fascinated by the 'hibernation' I would see trees take in the cold of winter, the shedding of their summer coats to embrace the cold.

One tree who lived just outside my bedroom window would always show the moon peering in through their now bare branches, whereas I'd never see the moon the rest of the year when the tree was bundled up with leaves.

I think she enjoys being held, but when it comes time for the moon to continue on her trek across the evening sphere, it would always seem this tree would cling to her and bid her stay.

I think trees are lonely in the winter.
Give your favorite tree a hug for me.

haiqua written for @dbooster's Haiku Contest, Theme: Out the Window

thank you for the read
z_IOW_WM_BLACK.png
@isleofwrite logo design by @PegasusPhysics
header photo base is public commons

Sort:  

I love this!!!!! and yes, I think they do get lonely in the winter with everyone inside. I think it is why they sleep. easier to pass the time when no one is around to play near them and bring laughter and joy into their world.

Beautiful as always!!

This is very nice. I will hug some trees tomorrow perhaps :)

branch out of your routine and root your arms around a tree!

thank you for the read, @amymya. ^_^

I'm around them lots but don't usually stop for hugs, now I feel like a big meanie, hahaha

it's ok, they live long long lives - it's not that long a time to our tree friends. <3

Oh I love this. I love the interaction between moon and tree. And I'm always for hugging trees! I think they love being hugged (most of them, anyway), and it always makes me feel good. :)

The trees do like to hide things in summer and then reveal them in winter, I used to love climbing trees as a boy - but it's been a while since I hugged one.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

no time like the present!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 62 (3/3/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

The moon coming through the branches into the bedroom - totally can imagine being the child watching and thinking and dreaming :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53