Avoided the Gym by Starting my Master's Program

in #gym8 years ago

So about a year ago I decided to start my Master's in Mathematics Education to avoid going to the gym.

I know it sounds nuts but let me explain. Last June I started to get pretty motivated about losing some weight and getting fit. I have been been unfit for a while and decided it was time. I was so pumped that I told everyone my plan to join a gym as soon as school ended (I am an elementary teacher and have my summers mostly off). I told them that July 1st was the day that I would be going down and starting my new healthy lifestyle.

Well, July 1st came and I was tired. I mean I was so tired I could not even think about going and working out. I had laundry to do and a house to clean and kids to take care of. I was in no way going to go workout but can you believe that all those people I told remembered! I started getting texts asking me what gym I joined, what my workout routine was going to be, if it felt good to be exercising . I did not know what to say. I couldn't text them back "I'm tired and lazy and probably wont be joining a gym after all". I had to come up with a good reason to keep my fat butt on the couch. So, I thought really hard and then got an idea! If I go back to school I wont have the time to workout and everyone will still think I am a motivated person. I got online and found a program I could do online. I signed up and happily texted back saying that my workout would have to wait because I started my master's program and would be super busy through the summer and the school year working away at the degree. Score! I totally saved face. Everyone was happy for my motivation to start school again and no one discussed the gym again.

Now I am coming to the end of my degree. I have three classes left and I am still just as out of shape and heavier than I've ever been but I still think I should get a "Inventive Avoidance" award for my effort. School has been hard. Harder than I thought. Have you ever read a textbook on the history of ancient mathematics? It's awful! I have almost completed a two year program in one year with kids and a job. I am proud of myself but now have to think about re-motivating myself and getting into a workout program. This time I will make sure not to preach my start date to anyone who has my cell number though because I am running out of great excuses! I only tell Steemit!

Sort:  

Congratulations @mommaash! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mommaash! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Home stretch to the finals. Do not miss them!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mommaash! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61081.21
ETH 2406.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64