Selling your music for Steem and SBD - Growth-Project -

in #growth-project6 years ago (edited)

()
source-


Selling your music for Steem and SBD inside the Blockchain


Idea


My idea is to incorporate a Click To Buy button into musicians posts, that will enable us to sell our music internally inside our own Steemit Blog and wallet. This will be in the form of a Buy It Now button or indeed similar in nature to the current Promote and Boost buttons, with an included direct downloadable file link inside the post directed to our wallets. Just to make it clear that, this will only be available to artists that create Original Music to avoid any confusion.


Proposal

I'd like someone to create a Standalone player for us musicians, my idea is like an artists Jukebox, where the artists back catalogue is constantly added to each time they upload a new music track. These tracks will then be stored automatically into their players each time they upload the Mp3 file along with their post via Dsound, Dtube or Dlive. Within the musicians post, will be their wallet link, a 'Click to Buy' button with a bespoke set price by the artist. This would be the easiest option for smooth digital download transactions. The listener/music fan can then buy the track directly with either Steem or SBD if they love what they hear - which is then paid directly to the artists Steemit wallet. When the artist creates a blog music post with DSound, Dtube or Dlive - they will have the option to upload the MP3 of the song too, which will be stored centrally within their wallet, so it is not compulsory to do so.


(


Mockups / Examples

There are various digital download sites that have this feature already built into their platforms, which have been successfully enabling the artist to sell their music for the past 10 years or so. With the birth of Steemit and it's increasing off shoots, I believe this will be a great way for the artist to gain more revenue via Steem and Steem Backed Dollars.

As an example, here's a site I've recently been testing to see how it would work on Steemit.
It has a simplistic UI and would work really well on the Steemit platform.
SwiftDemand is a new token similar in nature to many other decentralized crypto-currencies.
I set the price at 150 Swift for each track and 600 Swift for the 5 track EP - that saves the consumer 150 Swift by choosing the complete EP.



In Practice/Personal Trial

Ok, this next part is not some shameless self marketing/promotion stunt to sell my own music! it is to merely demonstration the simplicity of the music buying process.
This is taken from my recent blog post, where I am now successfully receiving small donations of Steem and SBD for my EP. It is working and I now feel like it needs developing and moving forwards.

Check out my Blog Post Here
This gives you an idea of the work I put in just to add direct Dropbox links for each track.


You can download the tracks individually if you prefer. Please donate what you can to my Steemit Wallet

Track 1 - Was It Right Dropbox

Track 2 - Slowed By Notes Dropbox

Track 3 - Dragonfly Dropbox

Track 4 - Lights Dropbox

Track 5 - Never Grow Old Dropbox


Benefits

Once I find someone to write the code for my idea and put it into practice on the platform, I feel that it will be of great benefit to us independent musicians on the Steemit blockchain.


So, what do you think fellow artists?

@jerrybanfield @prc

Thanks for reading my idea and please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss it further.

(c) 2018 Darren Claxton
@darrenclaxton


Here's a few of my recent music blog posts.

cf3923c980e3e66f25bc3e83d63166e2f14bc63a263752d14d2ba6c9938838b961705c06b0b83f5c090c052fb771.png

Inside Your Soul

Open Mic Week 82

Have You Heard My EP?


And don't forget...

DQmUZpt4fcc4qyQUYzBaJqg2aRqaBtXcyLDZnEa15AhUuJj_1680x8400.jpg


Darren Claxton is a Songwriter, Musician and Producer of his own music, from Derbyshire UK. The music he writes is often heartfelt acoustic indie folk with a sprinkling of rock and country influences, with an occasional world music flavour as heard on his track ‘Dragonfly’ . But most of all, it's his passive emotive thoughts and feelings that are delivered through that soothing vocal, and intricate guitar playing of his.

Sort:  

This is fantastic idea, Darren! Ping me for any selling/buying testing needed, if I can be any help. One angle to it I see. Enabling buy for stern is not only cool, it may bring more musicians in. We know “usual” dsound post is dynamic, and great value to this. Same time if indie artists know they can upload and have their catalog for sale, it will attract more musicians. I know hundreds musicians are feeling down with latest development on music platforms (lack of it). Same time they also tired uploading their music to “yet-another-platform” our there for nothing in return, no fun, no friends, no income. Having buy option, especially for crypto made by your own music/art, may convince many to join. Godspeed!

Thanks for your contribution @samprock
My thoughts exactly my friend!
I'm currently waiting for the right investor to make it happen! I know people like to stream music but they also like to buy to keep, play in the car, house or wherever!
Fingers crossed for some backing with the idea!
Cheers again
Darren

Been out of the loop the last few weeks in the Steemit music world and feel like I've missed out on so much! But I'm glad to hear these conversations are happening - can't wait for it all to develop!

Hope you're well, music friend!

Hi @kayclarity I hope you're well too?
It's a project that I really want to get off the ground here on Steemit! I'm waiting for someone to come along and invest in my idea.
Hopefully Steemit Inc will see my post @ned

Wowww what a great idea for you the independent musicians, who create spectacular music and deserve much more, I am a musician I play the violin you remember me? You told me that we could do a duet and that the technology would help, I hope and not just words because I would really love to do something like that with you, it would be an honor to be a musician and I love your lyrics. What do you say if you give me the proportions of the track of Whas it Right I love it I want to play it with my violin. What I can help the most is to play the track just to play it with my violin at the height of the sound. And do not forget I want to do a duet of some theme of you and you tell yourself how and I pass you and you do the respectful things that you no longer have a genius in technology. Greetings I am your fan from now on

good idea, I'd be interested. I've been posting my iTunes links and cdbaby links. I'd bet it won't take long should the idea reach the right person.

Great idea, another nice post as usual.It is very useful and
interesting idea having great potential.Nice proposal, you are doing well keep it up.
thanks for sharing.

Nice proposal. It isn't a bad idea to sell your songs here. Please start working on it.

I posted about the exact same thing in my post here:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@omitaylor/idea-steemcommerce-buy-button

Great minds think alike.

I may have a pseudo-solution ready. I can share it soon.

I've been working on some things but alas, my delegation is up and my VP is back down. Added to the recent dropped blocks and bandwidth issues, my testing is limited. :(

Soon. Soon.

I like your idea of a Buy Button.
That would work beautifully for song purchases.
Speak soon on Discord!
Cheers
Darren

Wow. Really interesting project that could have huge potential....

Love this idea! Fantastic. Could it be used for other things (thinking about artists who have downloadable things)?

Absolutely! That's my plan!

Cool, that's some good thinking bro!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34