IDEA: Steemit Video Content Channels

in #growth-ideas7 years ago (edited)

#mrwang #filmmaker #inspire (4).png

A Problem I noticed.. is the lack of cross promoting Steemians

Since I've found Steemit in July, I've wondered why there was no dedicated youtube channel promoting it's own video content creators by including their videos in a Official Steemit Channel or promoting the content creators own youtube channel.

The Mission

Using the resources such as Youtube we need to offer channels with different subject content with users approved by a team or committee of media minded people who understand the regulations that might hinder the success of the channels reputation. Each media channel should have a specific subject set as a boundary to funnel all related traffic in it's direction.

With users such as @mrwang, @heiditravels and @andrarchy for example.. We can be seen not only on our own individual channel but cross promoted in a certain channel on Steemit/Youtube. This will help other users discover related content and users they may have never heard of before.


-source
Establishing a central channel with a weekly steemit update where any particular user on a certain day, covers recent trending topics, gossip, tutorials and even welcome new users to the platform. With a "network" of channels providing different content we can become a stronger media presence and attract the "bigger" names we are interested in bringing to the platform.

I've already started

Just recently I put out a call to action for steemit to subscribe and comment on a particular youtube channel. A celebrity I personally know, my very close and good friend, Chingo Bling. That post can be found here, Bring Chingo To Steemit which is a mass swarming request to get his attention, similar to @richardcrill and his Crowdsourced Marketing idea proposal . Only difference from mine and his is that I personally know Chingo Bling and work with him quite often on his very own youtube channel.

Chingo Bling

My intentions are to bring steemit the attention and take the @mrwang youtube channel to a higher and even more competitive level as I continue producing exclusive steemit content. This includes collaborations with fellow steemit users and my network of celebrity friends, to say the least. With more support from up top.. I can continue doing my part in building Steemit into the Empire it's meant to be.

Thank you guys for finally getting this project idea together and opening the door of opportunity for talented and passionate content creators and professionals such as myself. I hope you find this proposal to be a great opportunity and idea worth taking action upon. I look forward to the comments and feedback below.

Sort:  

It seems like a pretty good idea.

One challenge is what form the channel takes. Is it run by Steemit Inc? Is it run by the community?

And what's the culture... Steemit in general? The Steem community? Best picks from a wide range of content?

Personally, I lean toward a community run channel. What culture specifically is a tricky one, but I think it's best that the community decides that according to the objective the channel is designed to accomplish. Is it to spread the word about Steem? Get newbies up to speed? Convert youtubers specifically?

So many exciting options to choose from! :)

So many options is exactly my point.. with youtube at least.. you can offer several sub channels with different content topics. My channel was created specifically for steemit videos I produce and I offer a variety of content ranging for funny skits to heavier and honest content like my, mental health awareness videos... so I have a wide range of topics already covered as @MrWang.

What's more important is having a main channel that connects all of the different networks, groups, guilds, artist, nerds and whatever other content creators I didn't just mention. Making it easy for someone to stumble upon us and get curious to find how deep this steemit rabbit hole goes..

Do you thinks that's how it would work?

Let's imagine ourselves as such people. We see the first Steemit video, and we're curious. We got there through the endless stream that is Youtube... but will I click further? I was lured to that content by some other tangential interest.

Does the rest of the content tell the same story? Does it seem as interesting? I really don't know.

We don't but have you seen the official steemit YouTube page?
There's nothing on it but the marketing guys post.. no other content, channels or organization to showcase our top content creators or any for that matter..

Now look at mine and note how I'm promoting others content and affiliations as well, MrWang YouTube Channel
My public actor channel Wallace Carranza YouTube channel
to answer your question, no the rest of the content doesn't tell the same story and it's not interesting because there's no other content to show what steemit offers

Yes i think Mitchell brought up an important point. Once a good angle is figured out, I believe you'd be able to come up with pretty great video content - you have the energy for it!

Thank you @kevinwong means a lot coming from you.. thanks for the support.. Now let's figure out that angle issue

That's definitely true. And that channel is exclusively targeted at the Steemit community. We need to get a specific plan together on this; At that point it should move forward smoothly. We definitely have enough content for it.

Note: Your Golos welcoming was hilarious. That accent.

Thanks homie.. and yea, we can get a plan together for sure. Yea I work on a lot of accents in my line of work. :)

full support great initiative brother.

Thanks a bunch for the support homie

Thanks for the mention @mrwang! Great idea too! I'm down! I think there could be quite a few of these swarms. It could be huge!

Can you look at my idea it is very similar to yours. I was wanting to know if you know who runs the steem Instagram or Facebook

Great message, suggestions and work you do. I agree with you that Steemit requires less all-you-can-eat channels. Per topic we shall have channels. But even more important, each account should be able to create its own channel with content it likes to have in that channel, and not only based on author, but based on the content itself, eg when subject line contains xyz, put it into my home channel (or another personalised channel), when the body text contains xyz put it into my own channel, if tag + xyz in post, put it in. Basically advanced search and filtering capabilities. I think this will create opportunities for strong sub-communities and even niche posts to get some reach. The current google search implementation is not really good as well and does not have a good user experience IMHO.

Thank you for the support and yes very good points, i agree

That should be doable -- at least by making playlists of Steemians YouTube content. Each Steemian YouTuber could submit a playlist of their content. Or some of the Steem Trails could get together a playlist of videos from their YouTube folks. For example, I curate for the @gardening-trail and the @foraging-trail. There are a few of us that have YouTube channels. I look forward to keeping up with this initiative. Thanks.

Well in with Youtube in mind.. we would need to come together, form a team of some sort that can manage the central page. Thru them we can identify what sub channels are to be available and what channel catagories certain videos into. Of course the central channel will consist of steemit updates and such plus featured and sponsored users.

Full support! If people start to take a closer look at what you are doing and have been doing, people will understand better, where you are getting at within this proposal and give you support. Videos are hard to make. You are a few other steemians have the resources to make killer videos, this a niche as per steemit marketing that you should hold. You make the videos and find ways to engage your audience! And your idea of getting the steemit crowd to catch the attention of people you already know; you are already a step ahead!

much appreciated. Yes, I feels good to know they are finally catching up with me :P

Great post voted for you and resteemed!

Thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77