Growing Food in 2017

in #growfoodnotlawns7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3273.JPG

We LOVE growing food. LOVE IT. I feel it's the most rebellious thing we can do these days as activists, as parents and as humans. We started about 6 years ago, I planted a few things in a tiny garden bed in a house we were renting. Both myself and my husband grew up with parents that enjoyed a garden, so it wasn't something foreign to us. The following year we bought our house with a decent sized backyard and attempted a veggie patch- in which we made dozens of mistakes. With gardening there's no better way to learn than by totally screwing it up! Each year we got a bit better, a bit bigger and this year was our biggest and best yet! Last year as well as this season we made use of my husband's mother's garden since she had decided on not doing as much from now on.
I got to work meticulously planning, I made spreadsheets and maps, organized and researched, collected tons of seeds, and STILL made tons of mistakes!

LIVE AND LEARN!

My favourite crops this year are as follows;

IMG_3268.JPG

The top of the list has to go to the black beans, they do amazingly well here on the prairies.

IMG_3274.JPG

Very minimal weeding, they grew fast and healthy, no pests went after them and we should get an amazing haul out of it!
IMG_3243.JPG

I will be growing black beans every year, I love them ​​in burgers, soups, tacos, either way they rock!!!

IMG_2895.JPG

Next, the corn. It's incredible! I have no idea what I'm going to do with it all, as it's not good fresh and it won't pop like popcorn. Field corn they call it, and as I recall I have no chickens or sheep to feed it to. Hahaha

IMG_1090.JPG

This was one of our big mistakes this year when planning the garden, having gotten them for free from the Sherwood Park Seedy Sunday, we didn't look up the three varieties we planted to see what they would be good for.

IMG_3087.JPG

We planted Flint Corn, which is the yellow one and Painted Mountain which is all that beautiful coloured stuff. Strawberry Indian corn is the third variety but it's not quite ready yet. I'm hoping they will get enough time to ripen before the frost hits.

IMG_2883.JPG

The Amaranth we grew was also totally unbelievable!

IMG_3267.JPG

The young leaves were tasty although they did get bitter as the plants grew. We are still waiting to harvest this crop as the seeds have not quite ripened yet. We used West Coast Seeds 'Hopi Red Dye' amaranth and it grew beautifully!

IMG_3266.JPG

We did have a few get eaten but not too many and we were able to spread out a couple clusters of over-seeded spots to fill in the gaps. Hopefully we get a ton of seeds out of it, I would for sure grow this variety again!

IMG_3264.JPG

The quinoa! Oh the quinoa!! I'll admit, I really had no idea we could grow quinoa here in Canada. In zone 3-4, I would not have expected it to be able to do so well, but it did!

IMG_1901.JPG

It was, unfortunately, one of the favourites among the various critters that snuck into the rural garden in the spring. Those little buggers, whomever they were, deer, bunnies, bugs, ate almost all the young quinoa! We were quite disappointed to say the least.

IMG_1900.JPG

The few survivors did flourish however, and we expect to collect quite a bit of quinoa in the next week or so! And look at that colour!

IMG_3271.JPG

Every heard of Calendula? It's super popular these days, a pretty little orange or yellow flower, aka marigold, and it can be used in all kinds of ways.

IMG_3269.JPG

These beautiful flowers were easy to grow and fairly easy to harvest and then dry. I used the dehydrator to fully dry them, they stayed sticky for quite some time.

0260A060-1360-4E86-BE19-78C86E0FAD79.jpg

Then I just put them in big jars and into the pantry.

IMG_2344.JPG

I love to infuse oil with them and then make it into lotions, ointments and deodorant.

IMG_3076.JPG

Did you know Canada is one of the largest exporter of lentils?
I had no idea until we changed our diet and began eating them so much. They're such a little powerhouse food, loaded with nutrients and can be used in so many dishes!

IMG_3272.JPG

We received some Black Beluga and some Red lentil seeds this spring and planted a whole bunch! We have picked them and have them drying now in our shed.

IMG_3123.JPG

IMG_3265.JPG

The rest of the garden was filled with the usuals, cucumbers, peas, carrots, celery, sunflowers, lettuce, garlic, zucchini, potatoes and more.

IMG_2376.JPG

We also grew sweet potatoes for the first time this year. I was very surprised by the process to say the least! @venomnymous has been working on a blog post to share our experience, it was really cool so keep an eye out for that :)

IMG_3252.JPG

Many of the things we planted were gobbled up by hungry critters in the spring, such as the soybeans, so we replanted but many things, like the soybeans, just didn't get enough time in our short growing season.

IMG_0867.JPG

Its September now, getting colder and soon the frost will hit hard. We love growing things and are already planning for next year! I hope you all had a productive year as well!

~Happy Growing!

Sort:  

You absolutely deserved the curie award just for the photos - that is one impressive garden. Getting into the grains like amaranth and quinoa is pretty ambitious!

Thank you so much! We just love growing food SO much! lol
This year was our biggest and best but we always just want to get bigger and Bigger and BIGGER!!!! Muahahahahah!!
A farm is totally in our future, this is all just practice :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @theneohippy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Can't wait to see the sweet potato post!! :)

Hi, theneohippy! I just resteemed your post!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot.
If you want to know more about me, read my introduction post.
Good Luck!

Thanks roboblogger :)

Hi, theneohippy! I just resteemed your post!
I can also re-steem and upvote some of your other posts


Curious? Check out @resteembot's' introduction post
PS: If your reputation is lower than 30 re-blogging with @resteembot only costs 0.001 SBD

You and your garden - amazing !! :)
Happy Growing!!

Respect.

Thank you!! :)

Nice garden and the corn looks crazy. I agree that the land is better used by growing vegetables instead of grass. Keep up the harvest. Thanks for posting.

I did a post on how I did a faux pas this season on over fertilizing. I won the darwin award.

There's no better way to learn than by making mistakes when gardening! LoL

I must be a very good gardener than.

Show me your 'green thumb'. Mine is green but I think it's mold. Have a nice day.

Haha I've always said I have a black thumb, I still have quite a knack for killing tomato plants haha
Have a good one! :)

That's a good one. You have a good day too.

super super like. Its my dream to have a garden. Right now I don't have space. But u doing well. Keep us the good work.

Thank you so much! We started really small and it just grows bigger every year. Container gardening is a great way to go when you're low on space :) I hope you get your dream garden soon!

Awesome! Keep it up! There's something special about feeding your family with food grown yourself.

Thank you! It really is special. You can truly appriciate the food you eat when you grow, prepare and cook it all yourself :)

What an amazing harvest. We too desire to #growfoodnotlawns. It is so much more nutritious. Thank you for this inspirational post!

Thank you for the kind words! Growing our own food has been so much fun for us. Some day I would love to only be eating food we grew ourselves :)

Congratulations @theneohippy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65