Scrap Garden Ain’t So Scrappy Anymore!

Well actually it is still quite scrappy, but I’ve doubled the amount of seeds planted and am waiting to see which method works!

I planted another avocado pit in compost so now there are three (little pots situated furthest in back). The six lemon seeds (middle) are still waiting to sprout after soaking in hot water to start the germination process. I have six new lemon seeds in a small circle in the large pot (front) that soaked for a shorter period of time and dried slightly before planting.

One mulberry plant from @papa-pepper was gifted to my parents to plant on their land. It appreciates being out of its’ little pot and spreading its’ roots! I still have two that need to be planted at Wild Rose Acres (one may stay in a large pot until I find a permanent homestead).

Finally, I have another avocado pit in water using the toothpick method and I’m giving celery another go!

Cross fingers for scrap garden success!


Fundraiser Update
T-shirts sold: 0
3 days to go!


Photography taken by @kiaraantonoviche and may be shared/reposted with proper accreditation.

Join the SteemitHomesteaders.Slack community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Follow @kiaraantonoviche


Sort:  

Good luck with those avacados... I've never gotten a tree to last.
Any tips?

I have never had success with them either so I have no helpful advice, sorry! If I get any of these to work it will be a first!

I had them in aaquaponic system and that was the best result.
However, the motor went out and I never kept up with them.
Great results with green onions though.

you also do not forget to water the plants using liquid organic fertilizer made from cattle urine and rice laundry water. you can see how to make it in our blog, how to manufacture liquid organic fertilizer from goat urine. Good luck always. thank you

@kiaraantonoviche
you doing great in your gardening.. not easy but with effort you making great strides...
good one and thanks for sharing

@kiaraantonoviche I love this post would love to know more about the toothpick methods, I will research this method. I am currently doing my own project which I just posted about last week. So I will be following your progress. I am actually following the no dig Lasagna method organic garden I have already made my own FPJ which works a treat.

My garden is really scrappy and thanks you for the post.

I got two avocados to grow to 2-3 feet tall. Then I accidentally left them outside on a cold night and they died.

Oh no! That's terrible! I've never even gotten one to sprout so if one does, I will be stunned lol! And then I'll be very sad if I kill it after it does!

I was devastated. I had kept them alive for 3 years and through moving. Then I go and forget a frosty night.

Mulberry trees are awesome, unless they are close to where you part your vehicles, haha. They grow sorta wild in my area and are delight to find. I made lots of mulberry jellies and jams. This year we (daughter and myself) tried making mulberry wine and it has been a big success.

You're so resourceful! I can't wait to see more photos of how the garden is progressing! That mulberry tree looks quite healthy!

G'day. I'm no greenthumb but I have friends who are. They have grown many avocados from seed but none of the trees have fruited yet. Aparently they take many years.

The bloke on the local radio garden show says that if you want avocados to fruit in a couple of years there's only one way. That is to buy a small grafted tree form a local nursery.

We live in the tropics so not sure if it is the same for other climates.

Good work! I've had success sprouting avocado pits with bamboo BBQ skewers poked into the pit and suspended in a tall glass of water. I change the water about once a week and have sprouted three trees so far with a 100% success rate.

The tall glass gives the roots space to grow, I see you've used a glass dish, which may not leave enough room for the roots.

I have kept my oldest tree for around 2 years now, and hopefully it will grow into a big tree.

As for lemon pits, I planted them in soil like you did, but I added a piece of cling wrap over the pot to create a mini greenhouse. Poke some holes for air to circulate a bit. The cling wrap helps to retain heat and moisture and I've also had a pretty good success rate so far.

Good luck! Look forward to seeing the results.

Thank you! I was planning to transfer the pits to a tall glass if they showed any signs of sprouting but I might do that sooner now. Also, I tried the cling wrap greenhouse technique but I must have done something wrong because it just rotted everything and caused a mold like fuzz to creep across the dirt! Must have been TOO moist! I will probably give it another go with a few changes! Thanks!

Yes transferring them now to a tall glass would be good. The glass holds more water too, so it will stay fresher just a little bit longer.

I do get a bit of mold and fungi when I use the cling wrap. I never really worried about them, as long as my lemon pits sprout. Once they have sprouted I removed the cling wrap and let them grow as is afterwards.

I like it your Homesteading

Good to know about that method. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61434.10
ETH 2474.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64