Explore With Me: The Platamonas Castle

in #greektrail7 years ago (edited)

Hello my friends! This is another short post of a beautiful place in Greece! 

Today I’m giving you the castle of Platamonas, in Pieria, Central Macedonia. The castle was built in the 10th century AD on a strategic site binding Macedonia and Thessaly. It is open for daily visits and even though you may find the ascending tiring the view will definitely make it up to you. 

We chose to visit it in early spring, so the sun didn’t give us a hard time. The sky was blue on that day, but clouds would make their appearance and hide the sun from time to time giving it wonderful patterns.  

When reaching the top of the hill...

 We entered the castle...

 And wandered around the ruins...

Unfortunately, there wasn’t a guide to show us around, but there were informative signs for those interested to pick a few glimpses on the place’s long history.  

  Our land is blessed! Whose soul wouldn’t feel calm in front of this sight?  

I hope you liked this short tour I gave you today! 

You can check out my last trips to the Holy Maiden's waterfalls and Tsiairia Lake.  

Stay tuned with me, @ruth-girl, for more posts on my #greekcountrysidetour  

And for those of you who want to support the Greek community on Steemit follow the @greek-trail! Lots of remarkable people are waiting to be discovered by you there!  


Sort:  

Hello, you are the winner of MAP15!

You will see the 200 delegated SP for 7 days appear in your Wallet soon. Please use it wisely. I would appreciate if you could upvote and resteem the other recent MAP contests. Thank you!

And don't forget, you can get further inspiration, assistance and upvotes at the MAP Members Only Discord chatroom.

Wow! Thank you so much!!

Nice post, not having a guide is always more fun for me.

Thanks! Sometimes it is, but this time was like we were looking at a bunch of stones and didn't know what they were used for. But hey, unfortunately in Greece that happens quite often. It's a shame because the place is beautiful, but not many people visit it (mostly school and tourist groups), so they don't have a guide in the castle. There was only a lady at the entrance that just waited all day to sell a few tickets.

Greece is one place I've never thought about visiting. Come to think of it, it does have a long and rich history!

Να πολεμάω τις μέρες στα κάστρα και το σπαθί μου να βγάζει φωτιά... Ωραία ανάρτηση! Καλή συνέχεια.

Κάπως έτσι! Ταιριάζει με το σκηνικό! Καλό ξημέρωμα πατριώτη!!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Definitely the kind of landscape I like :)

I'm happy to hear that! :)

well it's close to our city ^_^

Both my wife and I really love Greece. It is really so long we haven't visited (the last time was ... 7 years ago :p )

If you ever need a free place to chill for holidays shoot me a message :)

Thanks! I will remember that ;)

Loading...

glad i followed you so i can know more about Greece

Thank you, more posts are coming soon1

Great. Thanks for sharing. I'm starting to follow you.

Wonderful trip! I love ancient history and architecture! These walls have seen a lot during a thousand years! Greetings from M-A-P community, followed you and upvoted, have a wonderful weekend:)

Thank you, dear M-A-Per :P
I just followed you back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52