Gratitude - It Pays Off, No Matter What Life Throws Our Way, and . . . a Way to End Depression and Negative Thinking

20111002 Curved Tree Over CalfKiller River.jpg

Today was a magical day. 72 degrees, and breezy, with winds coming out of the south . . . and this is February 15th??? In Middle Tennessee???

I've been through much colder days in Florida in February.

Even better, for once the day was dry, and so I was able to feed and water the animals without needing my foul weather gear, though the ground in the poultry pen and the barnyard are still pretty slushy. But it was t-shirt weather, absolutely lovely out, and I couldn't have asked for a nicer day.

I love it when it is windy. It's the sailor in me.

Smoke is doing well, far better than expected, having lost her sister so abruptly, but then, that's the way of things. I fed and watered her, and gave her new hay, and she a-l-m-o-s-t allowed me to pet her. Slowly she is coming around. She is learning that, in the big scary world out there, she has nothing to fear from me. I truly have her best interests at heart.

Lolo wasn't happy, as I would not allow him to go outside unattended, at least not until I got Mist buried, which I did around sunset. With the ground so wet, our red clay was much easier to dig than usual, and even when I lost the light, with our frog chorus to accompany me, what could have been an onerous chore was more a pleasure.

Our mackerel skies at sunset slowly gave way to deep indigo, studded with a myriad of stars, with the clouds hugging the horizon all around, leaving absolutely clear skies overhead. Our frog chorus was calling from the woods, gusts of wind were rustling the leaves and the branches, and if I really listened, I could hear a screech owl's call in the distance. Truly beautiful.

I buried our lovely Mist, apologized to her for not managing to protect her better from Lolo, but even with that, in the end, what I felt first and foremost was grateful. Grateful that we had her, even for such a short time; grateful that we still have her mother and sister, grateful that we found this amazing place, grateful for everything that happens, as it is part of the greater scheme of things, that in the end makes us who we are.

What kept coming to my mind, over and over again, is that everything happens for a reason, and God sends us only angels. It is not what happens in life that affects us in the end, but our chosen response to it; it is our human tendency to judge, to label things as being either "good"or "bad," and that is what makes us suffer.

If we can let go of the labeling, once and for all, we can end our suffering. Really.

It was like the nature films I loved watching as a kid, and that I still love seeing today. I never blamed the lion for taking down the gazelle. Sure, I felt badly for the gazelle, but the lion was only doing what lions do. If it didn't catch the gazelle, it would not eat, or feed its young, and the pride would ultimately cease to exist. It had no choice but to take down the prey that presented itself, when it did so.

In the same way, I couldn't blame Lolo for what happened, even right when it happened, as he was simply being a dog. Sure, I would love to "train" him to leave our small animals alone, but I've known from the start that he had a high prey drive, and that such training rarely, if ever works.

I could easily label what he did as "bad," but that would still not be valid for him, as from his perspective, he did exactly what he was supposed to do: he saw the rabbit, it ran, he caught it, and that was that. He excelled at being a dog.

I am reminded of Byron Katie, and her four questions from The Work:

Is it true?
Can I absolutely know that it is true?
How do I react, what happens, when I believe that thought?
Who would I be without that thought?

As applied to Lolo killing our rabbit Mist, I examine my belief: Lolo is supposed to protect our animals, not harm them.

Is it true? In my mind, yes. But what is the reality? The reality is that he killed Mist when he got the chance.

Can I absolutely know that it's true? Clearly not for Lolo.

How do I react, what happens, when I believe the thought, that Lolo is supposed to protect our animals, not harm them? I get angry with Lolo, blame him for acting like a dog, and feel awful about the death of Mist.

Who would I be without that thought? Calmer, less stressed, less angry and upset. At peace with what is.

This was, more or less, my thought process as I buried Mist. Lolo is a great dog. My life is much fuller since we got him, I feel far more at ease when Marek is away, and he does a great job of letting me know when anything is amiss, and especially, when strangers come onto our place. And I am very, very grateful that he befriended our cats.

Should I throw all this away because he killed my rabbit?

Clearly not. It was my responsibility to make certain that her cage door was firmly latched, and evidently I failed in that basic but vitally important task. I thought the latch was secure, but evidently failed to test it, which I normally do every time I lock their door. It was thus my action, not Lolo's, that ultimately caused her death.

Do I blame myself? No.

I take full responsibility, as the responsibility was mine to protect her, but that is not the same thing as laying blame.

I accept that I am human, that I occasionally make mistakes, and that this time, my mistake had tragic consequences.

But none of that makes this Lolo's fault, or mine. It simply is what it is, and my job, as a responsible human, is to learn the lesson and to avoid repeating it in the future. To that end, when I closed Smoke's cage door this evening, I tested it repeatedly before I was satisfied that she was safe for the evening.

I am very grateful for Byron Katie's work, which codifies and greatly simplifies a method for learning to accept and love what is with grace. In the end, our thoughts are only beliefs, and they can only affect us if we continue to allow them to do so. By doing the work, we gain a much clearer perspective, and take back the reins of our own lives, which frees us.

Byron Katie came to the work, or more correctly the work came to her, following a period of profound and debilitating depression, far worse than anything I have personally experienced. It allowed her to throw off the yoke of her depression once and for all, and can do the same for anyone who does the exercises as she demonstrates.

As she says, however, it is far more effective, especially in the beginning, if you actually do the work on paper, rather than strictly in your mind. By doing it on paper you are engaging your body, as well as your mind, and your sight and your tactile sense play a role in the insights gained.

She is also, like Abraham, a bit of a smart ass, and fun to listen to, even when what she is dealing with is difficult and profound. She is blunt and direct, but at the same time, loving and kind, as she leads people to see their thoughts as the beliefs they are, and to free themselves from the negative loops that have held them captive, sometimes for decades.

She has made The Work free to anyone who chooses to use it through this website:
http://thework.com/en/do-work

All words and images are my own unless otherwise attributed.

The photo above was taken shortly after we bought our place, of the Calfkiller River, that forms the eastern border of our property. This was most likely taken with my Canon PowerShot SX 30 iS digital camera, which I dearly love for its 30X optical zoom. Not the fastest lens for action shots, but an all around excellent camera, that I still have and use.

Resteeming is welcome, and you may link to my post from your own website or blog, but please ask for permission before using any excerpts or images, as all rights are reserved.

Sort:  

Thank you for the wonderful words. I sit here in a parking lot in Huntington Beach CA. I am waiting for my massage parlor to open up... haha... my symphony although not nature is replaced with the hum of the transformers in the parking lot.
The high pitched whirrrrrr of a sports bike humming by. The Kerbump of a beer truck door, the cooooo of a pigeon on the ground. I am grateful i can see that pigeon. I am grateful i can hear that whirrrrrrrr... and i am grateful you shared your piece. Much love from Cali

Jitterbugg

Thanks, @jitterbugg - and right back at you!

I'm actually a California native, and spent some of my favorite years in Venice and Santa Monica, not far north of you. ;-)

Ooh! I love Byron Katie! 😊😍😊

Me too! The Work really manages to cut right through the extraneous crap and get right to the heart of the matter, at least for me.

Sorry for the delayed response - I thought I had already replied to you, but if I did, it didn't "take."

Ah, the joys of rural satellite internet. Not. ;-)

It sounds like a really beautiful place there...and I love how you describe the stars and the frogs and the wind near the start. Hearing about Mist your rabbit and Lolo saddens me...but you are right in that he was just being a dog! I once had a border collie that was trained to herd cattle but he only wanted to go after the calves and would hurt them sometimes. He just wanted to be dog and run and hunt everything that moved. <3

I created a thumbnail of your image to link to your post which has been featured and curated for MSP Community Curation: Top Five 'Positive PAL Posts' - Week #08 - Hope you are okay with that! I enjoy reading longer posts like this one about life and love...they are somewhat rare to find on here. And I am interested in checking out Byron Katie. Thanks for bringing her to my attention! <3

https://steemit.com/community/@creativesoul/msp-community-curation-top-five-positive-pal-posts-week-08

We looked at property in several states for over 2 1/2 years before finally finding this place. Though there are still some things I'd like to change, it is truly gorgeous, and I love it here. We were seriously blessed to land amid some truly great neighbors.

Living with the woods literally twenty feet behind the house is magical.

We're hoping to eventually build our dream house deeper into the woods, invisible from the road, and completely surrounded by trees. Hopefully Steemit will help us to get there.

Thank you so much for submitting my post to be curated! Yes, it is more than okay, I am honored. ;-)

And I promise to keep posting longer posts. Once I start writing, it is sometimes hard to make myself stop, so I frequently find myself chopping my more verbose posts into two or three posts just to keep them readable for the average user, especially if English isn't their first language.

I've become much more aware of that in recent years, because my husband was born and raised in Poland. Although his English is exceptional, and he understands nuance far better than many Americans I know, he has cautioned me more than once that my English usage is sometimes more advanced than is comfortable for non-native English speakers to follow, including many among his family and friends.

So much of my editing consists of shortening my typical run-on sentences into a much more reader-friendly style. Strunk and White would be proud. ;-)

And you will love Byron Katie. She is absolutely no-nonsense, and as I've been listening to the audiobooks, I love her smart-aleck-but-loving style. Definitely worth a listen, or a read, depending upon your preference.

Living in the woods is very magical! One day...I will have a cottage away from the road surrounded by trees and sitting beside a lovely river or lake...but I have yet to find that perfect location...with lots of space to garden too! You are blessed to have found your perfect space and I look forward to reading more about your home and your animals. <3

I have the same problem with long and verbose writing...and I am often forced to edit much of what I write into smaller sentences...or with more common phrases and word choices. It's great to meet someone else with this problem...lol. I think it's important to try and keep in mind all potential audiences including non-native english speakers so that our work can be understood by everyone...but it feels equally important to be ourselves and preserve as much of our natural writing voices as possible. Balance and awareness in all things I suppose!

I love audio books because they allow me to multi-task...lol. I get more accomplished listening to books or music and keeping my hands busy with art or writing or other monotonous tasks. I am always looking for new ways to expand my awareness...change my perspective and learn new techniques to fight depression and repetitive thinking that leads to negative cycles.

Right there with you. I've been a fairly constant reader my whole life, and it has informed pretty much everything in my life, not to mention helping to mould me into who I have become.

My husband is currently driving for a living, so audiobooks are his preferred format as well, which is why we have so many.

But while I enjoy audiobooks as well, I'm moving around enough during the day that they are less convenient for me, and bottom line, I still prefer reading to listening. Of course, a lot of that is because I read much faster than audiobooks are read, so I'll complete the book in half the time if I read it, versus listening to the same book.

That said, I do enjoy listening to audiobooks when I am driving, or performing relatively mindless tasks such as doing the dishes or potting plants, and as you said, when cooking or creating art.

But writing while listening to an audiobook? My hat's off to you, my friend. I don't even like listening to music with lyrics when I write, as with few exceptions, I find it too distracting. This is obviously a skill I have yet to master.

Of course, I'm also a singer, so if it is music I like, I usually find myself singing along, which isn't exactly conducive to getting quality writing done.

My sister and I have joked for years that we are queens of the run-on sentence. I regularly find myself editing my sentences into three or more smaller sentences just for readability's sake.

As for our little neck of the woods, you're actually living where we'd prefer to be, so there's some irony there. I grew up on the West Coast, and have been really missing the Pacific and the grey whales, while Marek has traveled to BC a few times and has absolutely fallen in love with it. So who knows . . . if all goes well, perhaps we'll wind up with a small place there as well.

And you're welcome to visit us on our river. Just give me enough advanced notice so I can unshovel the house first. ;-)

Your story captured the entire process of right/wrong, good/bad, etc. If we could only all learn to live out that entire process in such an understandable and acceptable way, we could all stop blaming--blaming ourselves and blaming others. We all make mistakes, some of such turn out tragic, and a challenge to process. Good article.

Thanks very much.

I've been seeking to do this in various ways through my life, through mindfulness and meditation, to just seeing everything with as much sense of humor as I could muster in the moment. Byron Katie's Four Questions make it so simple, that it can be done in the moment, making it more likely that I actually will.

Like most of us, I have a lazy streak, and when I allow myself to get overwhelmed, good intentions often go out the window. So I'm grateful that Marek brought her work to my attention, because I'm already seeing a difference in how I approach issues as they come up, and a commensurate decrease in my overall stress level.

Whether he is grateful remains to be seen, as he was complaining about something last night, and I immediately brought up the Four Questions to him. Happily he took it in good humor. ;-)

Isn't it a journey though!! We discover ways to be that resolve and solve our complicated emotional issues, and then we slip back time and time again. I think one of the good reasons not to judge, because we all slip off the edge, probably more often than we really are aware of. The subconsciousness is so prevalent in our behaviors.

Well said, and absolutely true.

I remember once being told by a close friend that I was the least judgmental person she knew, and I actually laughed out loud, because I judge ALL THE TIME!!!

As do we all. That's what humans do - we are hardwired to judge.

But I do make an effort to withhold judgment as much as I can, and to be fair, not least with myself.

I could feel Katie’s work coming through already when I read “he did what he was supposed to do...” ;) Love her work! It turned my life around more than once...

I recently wrote a post inspired by the concept of projection that she and Jung talk about. Maybe you’ll find it interesting, it’s titled “I Have Never Loved Anyone” - sounds harsh at first but there’s a twist...

https://steemit.com/life/@petrajordan/i-have-never-loved-anyone

Great post! I've commented on it there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92