[Grateful Vibes #43] I'm Grateful For a Paycheck

in #gratefulvibes7 years ago (edited)


Image Source

I don't get paid frequently, so it's a big deal for us.

I don't have a salary job, so when the paycheck comes in, it it's like a lion catching a gazelle so he can eat for a few weeks.

Image Source

Every month, or in this case two months, I go though my sales and calculate my commission. I write an invoice to the company. It's a strange process. It feels as if i'm asking for money from the family business. I don't feel owed the money. I feel like i'm asking for the money.

Just like everyone else, we have mouths to feed.

We are blessed to be where we are and have the life we live. But to use the lion/gazelle analogy, it's a frightening prospect to think of missing that gazelle. If I don't get the gazelle, I have to get that zebra. Or something.

I don't think blogging on steemit will pay the bills.... yet.

Today, we had three decent checks come in.

We thank God for the provision to tend to my family and pay our debts to our township (local tax), our midwife, our one credit card. The normal, everyday bills that every family has to pay.

I am very thankful for the position we are in. Mostly debt free, no mortgage, no car payments. But we are not financially wealthy, we still are close to living paycheck to paycheck. We are just now beginning to build up our savings.

Seek first the... paycheck?

It's understandable how people can get caught up in getting that payout. I know the feeling of being with and without. The responsibility of tending to a family can be overwhelming - being without is not an option.

The difficulty is trust. Are we able to put our trust in Him, that no matter what His decision is, He will ensure you enough to live?

Feed me with the food that is my portion. Give us this day our daily bread.

Give me neither poverty nor riches; Feed me with the food that is my portion, that I not be full and deny You and say, "Who is YHVH?" Or that I not be in want and steal and profane the name of my God. Proverbs 30:8-9

Seek first the Reign of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. Matthew 6:33

His delight is in the Torah of YHVH, and in His Torah he meditates day and night. He shall be like a tree, planted by the rivers of water, that brings forth its fruit in its season, whose leaf also shall not wither; and whatever he does shall prosper. Psalm 1

Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me. I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing. John 15:4-6

And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth. John 1:14


Image Source

Bless the Most High!

@ironshield


This is 43 of 70 of the #gratefulvibes challenge by @paradise-found

https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@paradise-found/gratefulvibes-community-challenge-day-43-attitude-of-gratitude


Check out my previous Gratefulvibe: Grateful for a Special Time with my Boy.

https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@ironshield/grateful-vibes-42-i-m-grateful-for-a-special-time-with-my-boy

Sort:  

I'm glad you were paid, but I'm more glad you decided not to be anxious! It is surprisingly easy to be worried constantly. Good Job! :D

Yes, exactly right. Be anxious for nothing. @ironshield

AMEN, Praise Yah! The only other response I have to this is what our Messiah had to say in Matthew 6:25-34. I'm not say we don't do this at times but it is a good reminder!

25 “Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 27 Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature? 28 “So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; 29 and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30 Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31 “Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

Amen! We are commanded by our Messiah NOT to worry. Isn't that amazing! Last week, I found myself stressing, but I was reminded of these precious words. Do not worry about tomorrow! Amen and amen! @ironshield

https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@ironshield/grateful-vibes-38-i-m-grateful-to-god-for-unexpected-work

You are so very right.
We can train ourselves to trust in the Lord by being obedient.
And he has given us the manual, God's Word!!
Bless the Most High!! Amen

Thank God for His manual. Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth. @ironshield

I remember the days of living paycheck to paycheck ... and sometimes we still do. It's scary enough when it's just the two of you . I can't imagine the stress of having four little ones to care for, including a newborn. I applaud your faith ... and your courage!

Thank you for your kind words. Yes, it can be stressful sometimes, especially when I'm being pulled in four different directions at once. Of course one of the four directions is this platform. @ironshield

Sounds like things are going in the right direction...a steady growth seems to make for happier people at least from my own biased perspective
@battleaxe

PAYCHECKS: they are like the oil that smoothens the turning of the engine of life. We all love them. We love the even more especially when there are mouths that are depending on us to get some.

I like where you said

" I don't think blogging on steemit will pay the bills... yet"

They will definitely pay the bills someday soonest. Because the way the value of SBD is rising, only a lazy man will allow the profits slip by.

God will always provide!

Cheers!

#AIR-CLINIC

God gives and takes away. He always provides us a choice. @ironshield

I have always consciously trained myself not to work for a paycheck and even if i find myself working for an organization, i am conscious of the fact that i cannot survive from my stipend.

God is bigger than the box most seem to put him in.

Not working for a paycheck is important, but not as important as the Holy One. Thank you for your comment. @ironshield

So nice to have the ability to live mostly debt-free and be able to pay three of your bills recently! What a blessing! It is so hard for most people to have bills, mortgage, car payment, vacations, credit cards, college loans, etc. to not keep earning money as the main thing. I think John 15:6 was one of the first Bible verses I memorized and it still sticks with me today. Abide in Him. Blessings my steemit friend! :)

Thank you so much! Focusing on what is important first is so important. I'm very grateful that I don't have many of the financial stresses that people often deal with, but surprisingly what remains seems like a great weight - until I remember that it wasn't money that redeemed me and my family from an empty life. Only our Savior did that. Cast our heavy burdens upon him and pickup the light yoke. @ironshield

So true! Thanks for the response. Yeah, we have way less financial stress than a lot of people, including people in our family. Panamanians usually live differently...most don't have huge loans for homes, cars, education, credit. A lot live within their means and they're okay with that. It's is sad to see that the "American dream" slowly is creeping into their culture though...

It's so easy to slip into the trust or seeking of a paycheck instead of trusting and seeking the Most High. We often have to repent of this, although we've seen some small progress. When we slip into this I always recall all the times the Lord has provided for us when we needed it - which is every time we needed it. Blessed be His name.

Here's a small token towards that steemit paycheck from me and @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks BETA V2 bot has upvoted(0.5%) and checked this post!
Some similarity seems to be present here:
https://www.ucg.org/the-good-news/bearing-fruit-a-crucial-part-of-spiritual-growth
This is an early BETA version. If you cited this source, then ignore this message! Reply if you feel this is an error.

I think the bot reacted to the Bible verses... This post is nothing like the one linked to.

Thank you for invoking @originalworks! The bot always seem to find some similarity to an online source if I quote the bible. Seems like it should ignore sections called out as a quotation. @ironshield

You're welcome.
Yeah, that would make a lot more sense if it did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58971.18
ETH 3225.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29