[Grateful Vibes #38] I'm Grateful to God for Unexpected Work

in #gratefulvibes7 years ago (edited)


Image Source

I've become known for helping people with their computer issues.

There are always computer issues, small and large. And I've become the go-to guy for the solution. Browser hijacked, nasty malware, keyboard not working. No boot device found.

Yeah, no boot device found. That one is not fun at all.

Today was a busy day with tech problems.

It seems as if late November and December is broken computer time. It may be because people are on their computers more with less day light outside.

Maybe it's a grand conspiracy of broken computers conveniently after Thanksgiving and before Christmas. Who knows.


Image Source

I am grateful for some unexpected work today.

Even though the recovery didn't go as well as I would have liked, the client was not upset since he had backed up his data. It was an excuse for him to get himself a new laptop. A nice new laptop. It's amazing what $2K can get you these days.


Image Source

Dell computers, my former competition.

He purchased a Dell, which is funny to me, since I worked for Gateway Computers for 6 years from 1998 - 2004. For years, I would tell people why they should buy Gateway and not Dell. I began working at Gateway computers when the display stores first opened up, "Gateway Country Stores" and remained there until they closed their doors in 2004.


Image Source

Computer problems stress me out.

Technology is not always trustworthy. When the technology is working correctly, it's easy to take for granted. When it fails, it's almost unthinkable. Frankly computer problems stress me out. I just want it to work. All the time.


Image Source

The danger of the stress and worry of this life.

Living a stressful life is not only unhealthy physically, it is unhealthy spiritually. It will choke out the words of life which proceed from the mouth of God and prevent us from growing to maturity in the Word.

The seed is the word of God. The seed that fell among the thorns are those who hear, but as they go on their way, they are choked by worries, riches, and pleasures of this life, and their fruit does not mature. Luke 8:11,14

I believe this is why we are commanded by our Saviour not to worry about this life. I don't think He is saying to ignore responsibilities, but to seek first the Reign of God and His righteousness and worries will take care of themselves.

We are commanded not to worry.

Three times, we are commanded "Do not worry..." I think He may really mean it.

Do not worry saying "What shall we eat?" or "What shall we drink?" or "What shall we wear?" Matthew 6:31

Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Today has enough trouble of it's own. Matthew 6:34

Do not worry about how to respond or what to say. In that hour you will be given what to say. Matthew 10:19

Paul summarizes this in his letter to the Philippians:

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. Philippians 4:6

Thank you God for offering us a way to have the burdens of an empty life cast off from us, that we may take on the light yoke of Your Son, the Word made Flesh! HalleluYah! Bless the Most High!

@ironshield


This is 38 of 70 of the #gratefulvibes challenge by @paradise-found.

https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@paradise-found/gratefulvibes-community-challenge-day-38-attitude-of-gratitude


Checkout my previous Gratefulvibe: Grateful to God for Six Blissful Years of Marriage

https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@ironshield/grateful-vibes-37-i-m-grateful-to-god-for-six-blissful-years-of-marriage

Sort:  

Very good post - now i find it interesting that I also worked at Gateway at a similar time at first doing phone support and then my last year doing email support. I would love to swap some stories with you sometime.

Ah, a fellow Gateway guy. Lots of fond memories with the company! Phone support must have been a lesson in patience. @ironshield

One time what sounded like an older customer called in and wanted to know why some software he had recenty purchased was not showing the corresponding icons for running the program. This was on Windows 3.11. Myself being a new tech, took 1/2 hour before I realized that because of the store's policy not to allow returns of opened software packages, he had not yet opened the package to put the disk in his computer. I spent another half hour trying to explain that no icons would show up until he had opened the package and inserted the floppy disk. He eventually hung up on me because he thought I was trying to scam him.

I read this ... and started laughing so hard I had to read it to my husband -- as best I could. Customer Service requires a special kind of saint. The people there -- especially the good ones -- aren't paid nearly enough!!

Frankly computer problems stress me out. I just want it to work. All the time.

This is exactly how I feel about it!! I've told my husband ... you know ... that long-suffering guy ... that computers should be like toasters. You plug the damn thing in and it just works.

He'd sympathize with your plight, too. (Ask him about Adrian some time.) Anybody with a computer problem beats a path to his door -- mostly because he's good and works basically for free. (Until he married me and got a life, that is.)

He's also good at lots of other things like home repairs -- which gains him tons of Brownie points with me. But again ... other people have learned this -- and so he has this assortment of "friends" who call him (during terrible weather, week-ends, at night and other odd times) when you otherwise can't get a repair person (or handyman) to give you the time of day, let alone for nothing. They've always got some tale of woe -- and never any money.

He kept an elderly neighbor (an old guy in his 80s on supplemental oxygen and living alone) going so he managed to stay independent (relatively speaking) and living in his own home until he died. We don't regret that for a moment -- because we believe in Karma. But sometimes, too, you just have to draw the line.

My motto on this subject: Nothing that's paid for has any right to break.

from #theunmentionables

It's amazing how we can allow ourselves to become stressed out for no real reason. We can forget that we are to give all our burdens to Him . We are not meant to carry them ourselves.

Seek first the Reign of God and His Righteousness then...

Cast your burden upon YHVH and He will sustain you; He will never allow the righteous to be shaken. Psalm 55:22

Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, so that in due time He may exalt you. Cast all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you. 1 Peter 5:7

You are getting known coz your good work has spoken for you @ironshield

Oh wow man. so you are like a computer wizard of Oz? lolx. I'm glad we learn everyday about new things. Just learnt that we were asked not to worry 3rice in the Bible. Cheers man!

When I was young, my favorite song was "Don't Worry, Be happy." My girls got a kick out of watching it this morning. @ironshield

I work in the IT area as well have for many years more on the network and infrastructure side and although different it can be stressful as well
Finding away to manage and counteract stress is very important indeed
And prayer and belief is a very good way

I agree. Thank you. @ironshield

My husband needs to have you around to help him. He has a nasty virus or something on his computer that opens up windows when he's on the internet. It's not fun! Anyway, thanks for the verse about not worrying. It's a hard thing to not worry but we have to take every thought captive to keep from worrying. Funny that you had a Gateway job. We used to have a Gateway computer. I think it's the dinosaur I took to college with me so I could access AOL for chatting and email and type out my papers in Word. ;) Have a great day!

Technology often stresses me out too because it is not always reliable, but yeah being grateful is a great way to battle that stress. Glad to see you choosing that way often to manage your problems :)

I have to remind myself too! @ironshield

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ironshield from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64