[Grateful Vibes #37] I'm Grateful to God for Six Blissful Years of Marriage

in #gratefulvibes7 years ago (edited)

It was November 28th, 2011

I remember waking up that morning and thinking...

"Today I'm going to get married."

There was a lot of planning to do and things to get ready. The weather was nice, let's get outside for family photos.

The Obligatory Wedding Photos

The very moment we came out to take photos the wind changed direction and the temperature dropped 20 degrees. We were freezing!

"I think I'm getting cold feet. Ha ha."


With the groom's parents.


With the bride's family.

The girls.

The boys.

At the Church

When we pulled up to the church, I decided we would remain in the entrance to greet people as they came in.

They were all pretty surprised that we broke the tradition of the forbidding the bride from see her groom before the wedding.

Here comes the Groom and the Bride!

We did a double processional, once with the groom and again with the bride. Same music and everything!

My Father-in-Law Presided Over the Wedding

No, he's not a pastor or priest. This is his fatherly duty.

Yes, we're legitimately married, we have the certificate and all.


Blessing the new couple.


And we're married! We saved the kissing for later.

Bless the Most High!

@ironshield


This is 37 of 70 of the #gratefulvibes challenge by @paradise-found

https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@paradise-found/gratefulvibes-community-challenge-day-37-attitude-of-gratitude


Check out my previous Grateful Vibe: Grateful for @mericanhomestead

https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@ironshield/grateful-vibes-36-i-m-grateful-for-mericanhomestead

Sort:  

Congrats on Six years of Marriage!
Lovely pictures of the wedding.

In some ways it's gone by very quickly, in other ways it seems like a long time ago. @ironshield

Who says everyone has to get married the same way!!! Congratulations!!

I agree! Thank you! @ironshield

What a heartwarming story of love. I love how you broke tradition and started a new tradition! It may catch on!

That's absolutely beautiful. I love that your father in law got to preside over the wedding--I really think that's the way it should be, if he's willing to see it that way. We also broke a lot of superstitious "traditions" for our wedding--we wanted it to honor the Father, not wordly fears that had no place in our marriage. What a lovely post to read this morning!

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. We certainly have enjoyed the past 6 years. It was great having my father-in-law preside and doing our best to honor the Father in Heaven. Casting out worldly fears is something I addressed in my vows to my wife that very day! @ironshield

We remember this day very fondly. It was a good day. @ironshield

Awesome wedding, I love the photo's.
I'm surprised you did the processional too. :-D
I understand the father of the bride deal.
That's one thing I have always taken very seriously,
my vows were before God and her father.
God bless you this year and every year after!!
Happy Anniversary @ironshield & @lturner!!
I have a funny for you, when I first saw your wife's Steemit name,
I thought it was @Iturner, as in eye turner. hehehe
Bless the Most High!!

@lturner likes reading books, maybe that makes her a Page Turner...

Thank you, it was a very nice ceremony. 20 minutes and very meaningful. We broke a few traditions, but perhaps made a few new ones. It was very good that we received the blessing from my father-in-law right at the wedding. But more important than any blessing we could receive, is the blessing the creator of the Universe deserves. Bless the Most High! @ironshield

Congratulations on 6 years of blessed marriage. May you have many more! Lovely wedding photos that show the love of two families getting together to share in the joining of their children.

Thank you! The wedding was very short, like about 20 minutes. @ironshield

I'd say that was a good investment. 20 minutes for years of happiness.

Wow congrats for that. I remeber getting married at 19 yo. @ironshield

I was an old man when I got married, 33 going on 34. Now I'm turning 40 soon. Where did the time go? @ironshield

Grateful hearts are always remembered, and rewarded, in this modern time where marriage don't last,, God will be with you guy untill the end. THE man above is ur guild your power is Strong 💪 💪.

Grateful hearts are always remembered, and rewarded

These are encouraging words. We fully intend to break the statistics with this marriage. Thank you for your kind words! @ironshield

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44