Ocean Waves - Jacksonville Beach Florida - Psalm 93:4steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gratefulvibes7 years ago

I am so grateful that I live close to the beach and that I can walk on it anytime to enjoy the sights and sounds of the surf.

I grew up on the beach in Scotland, so I feel like I have salt water in my veins.

Seeing the ocean is always a reminder of the greatness of God and of His love for me.

Psalm 93:4 The Lord on high is mightier than the noise of many waters, yea, than the mighty waves of the sea.

140828-9038.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

This is my stock image and can be found on Getty images

Camera: Canon 5D Mark II
Lens: EF100-300mm f/4.5-5.6 USM
Exposure: 1/400 sec; f/22; ISO 400

This post is in response to the #gratefulvibes challenge by @paradise-found. For the remaining days of 2017, we are to write about something we are grateful for!

Check out his post here: paradise-found and see if you would like to add something daily. All you have to do is make a daily post for the rest of the year explaining why you are grateful.

Yesterday, the theme for #whiteiswhite was Water In Nature and today's theme is Anything Goes. So, this image is doing double duty (triple duty if you count yesterday's missed post in #whiteiswhite.) If you are interested in participating, the explanation and rules for the challenge can be found in this post

Monday: White Photographed Against White
Tuesday: Animals
Wednesday: Flowers
Thursday: Food And Drink
Friday: Architecture
Saturday: Water In Nature
Sunday: Anything Goes

Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it.

Upvote and Resteem.jpg

To check out my art prints and stock images online, please visit my website.

Sort:  

This is amazing shot my dear friend Up&Resteem

Thanks! Glad you like it!

My pleasure dear friend

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Beautiful Dianne. The other day, I made a poem in my own language, about the beauty of the sunrise, sunset and the ocean. How big is it? how deep? Only God knows everything. He made it perfectly.

Have a wonderful day!

Oh so true! My images for the last 3 days for #gratefulvibes have been the sunrise, the sunset and the ocean! God makes Himself visible in nature.

oh wow!!! amazing! I love them too!!
That's so true..He is everywhere.

Have a lovely day!

Very nice. I love the ocean too, as you can tell from my posts to your challenge.

There is a draw to them, right? Are you a surfer? I'm not, but I have friends who are.

I surfed in high school, but now my wife and I paddleboard...in the harbor, not the waves, although I would like to try that ;-)

Paddleboarding looks fun, but doubt if I will try it. I'm not a lover of being on the water - except in a big cruise ship. :-)

oh .. have you been to @meesterboom's page? he's from there, too
not the beach - same country

This is really beautiful, You can visit Cox's Bazar, in Bangladesh. It's the longest sea beach in the world ;)

BTW, I'm following you. You can follow me too. :)

How long is it? Our beach goes the entire length of the Florida east coast!:-) but I guess, it gets broken up by rivers entering the ocean.

Sweet shot of the wave rolling in,

I am getting withdrawal symptoms havent been to the beach for almost two weeks now, hopefully later this week I will be able to :)

Thanks! Hope you're doing OK and will get to the beach soon!

I'm doing OK, this weekend has just been so much rain making beach visits not that great LOL

I know how that goes. Today we had almost gale force winds on the beach, and the temperature has dropped into the low 50's - not pleasant with a northerly wind whipping up sand!

Wow, truly impressive capture!! Steem on #gratefulvibes!!

Your post brought back my memories of Florida as well. Driving along Daytona Beach. And the rain!!! So bad we had to stop under bridges till it stopped. We were their during Hurricane Erin , so that was a while ago.

Hurricane Erin? I don't think that ever made landfall in Florida. Was that 2001?

Hurricane Erin was in August 1995. Quite a serious one as this article mentions.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hurricane_Erin_(1995)

We were visiting Disneyworld, watching the trees bending in the wind.

we had just moved here in July 1995. It was a CAT 1 on the coast just south of here, but nothing too bad. Looks like it was a CAT 2 after it hit the Panhandle though! We have had another Erin since then, so it was not bad enough to retire the name. That second one did not make landfall in Florida.

Yes it was quite windy in Orlando. And there was talk of evacuation of Miami on the tv news.

Hehe, we always have talk of evacuation at the beaches in Florida. It's a way of life here. I was in Scotland this year when Hurricane Irma hit here as a CAT 1. My husband and son along with all our street decided to stay even though we had a mandatory evacuation. Luckily, it was just a CAT 1, and they had seen the forecast change. Last year during Matthew, my husband and I were both in Scotland leaving my son to evacuate to Orlando with 4 cats!! We are on a barrier island, so they close all the bridges and you can't leave after that!! We just have to pay attention to where it's going and make a decision based on that. The biggest problem in hurricanes is not so much the wind, but the storm surge! In a CAT 1 we are far enough from the beach to avoid it, but with a CAT 3 or higher we would be in trouble. At least you went home with a story to tell. Lol!

My sister lives in Houston and they had it rough this year. Quite scary.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

I just resteemed your post but if you don’t like to be resteemed just leave me a reply and I will unfollow and stop resteeming your posts immediately. I’m not a spammer… just read what this is all about here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62