I need help with my grandma, your mothersteemCreated with Sketch.

December 24th 2015

Dear Aunts and Uncles,

I am writing this letter in the hope that you will hear my positive voice; digest the meaning of my words and come to your own conclusion on how your mother must be treated as the matriarch of the family.

For 15 years my mother has been living in servitude for Avery as well as myself for the past 8 years. This has included taking your mother to every Dr. appointment, Psychologist, Psychiatrist, Physical Therapist, ER, Podiatrist plus 5 hour long infusion treatments for her arthritis 10 times a year. Her health, well being, nutritional care and personal care, grooming and laundry have fallen on myself and my Mother.

I have not asked for money for the care that I have given your mother throughout the 8 years I have been living and taking care of her. What I need from you is a new pair of winter shoes for your own mother and money for the Adult underwear which is used and thrown away multiple times a day. I have been using my own money to feed, clothe and support you mother while receiving food stamps and other government aid for myself. I have not asked for or received any money from the State or Federal government for taking care of my grandmother. I take care of her for the LOVE that I receive from her. She has been constantly in my life through both the good and bad and the happy and sad.

I have to say that I think that the uninvolvement of care, attention and financial support by the three other siblings is subpar. My mother and I have for a very long time now devoted strength, spirit, money, food and all of our physical and mental capabilities to help your mother. We do everything we can to help make my grandmother's life easier.

That said, I think that all of the siblings MUST come together to take care of your mother in the best way possible. I believe the best solution for her is to enter a 24hr care facility that can tackle her daily needs. I have been searching for a bed in a Medicare senior living community for over a year to no avail. I have tried the Jewish angle as well and have exhausted all means of public assistance. Currently she receives $90.00 in the form of food stamps and her $880.00 Social Security and if I need to go to the Jewish Food Pantry for her I go.

I hope that you can come together as siblings and treat your mother with the Love, Dignity, Care and Respect that I have for her. She can not bathe or dress or walk in and out of the house without 100% attention. She is lucid but has no short or medium term memory to speak of. Some days are better than others. The Psychiatrist says she is PreDementia.

Thanks,

You nephew.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lovetrumpshate! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70