Golden Hour - Victoria City Rowing Club

in #goldenhourphotography6 years ago (edited)

What on earth was I thinking? See EXIF data

It was a quiet evening in early April and the water was smooth as glass. The rowers were coming in for the evening and had just come to a complete halt a few yards from the dock which is out of frame on the left. As they rested there briefly, I had a few seconds to capture this scene.

This photo was taken on Elk Lake, Victoria, BC, and it is my entry for the #goldenhourphotography contest by @juliank. Click on the photo for a full-screen view. Thanks for taking a look!

DSC_9306.jpg

Nikon D750, 140mm, 1/20 second, f/22, ISO 250, April 6, 2015

When I looked at the EXIF data of this three-year-old photo I was puzzled because I would handle this differently today. After a lot of thought, I can now recall what I was doing... I shot in shutter speed priority mode and selected 1/20th second because I hoped it would help to enhance the smoothness of the water. The camera then selected the f/22 aperture which I would never use myself. The camera was on a tripod and the rowers had stopped so I mostly got away with the slow speed although the rowers are a bit soft...

Today I shoot in manual and I would pick 1/125 second and f/8.0 and let the ISO go as high as needed.

The photo was re-processed in Luminar last night. I cropped in a wide 16x9 format which I feel helps to enhance the peaceful feeling. Vertical crops are energetic while horizontal crops can be more tranquil. I also opened up the shadows to approximate the level of detail that was visible to the eye.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Thank you very much @pixresteemer!

A serene landscape with a gentle rowing activity. This is picturesque, an amazing capture. Good job @keithboone!

I have chosen your work to be featured on the 6th edition of Photocircle authors of the day, Congrats! Stay tuned!


PC comment footer 02.png

Learn about this new photo curation project by clicking >here<


Alternatively, you may also check the latest featured work of outstanding authors by clicking >here <

Thanks so much! I resteemed your post :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 01:22:54
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 981.17/1600.00
Total Photos: 53
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 13
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Very cool ,,, Continue your beautiful effort
I'll follow you

looks like they are floating on pink champagne

Thank you so much! What a nice description :)

Madness or not, this is definitely a winner photo! I love the colors but the water is what I like the most!

Thank you! I'm just nitpicking technical stuff. I used to shoot semi-automatic and get strange settings selected by the camera. It's actually easier to shoot manual, which I do now.

I used to do that back in the 80's,with my father's old 📷.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45