Tales of Man & Majestic Beast - from TTT Contest #10

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Man! there is something wrong with the way things happening to me on steemit. I can't pin point - Why are efforts not being rewarded now a days as it used to be? Recently, I thought of leaving steemit but only thing which keeping me interested is interactions and involvement by some of the really enthusiastic creative steemians. These steemians come and summit their original writing despite really low prize. And that makes me proud about the creating TO TELL A TALE OF A PICTURE.


To Tell a Tale of a Picture is turning out to be very very interesting, exciting and helpful contest for steemians who love to write or newcomers want to exercise their writing skills. As a curator, I get blown away by the ideas, stories and imagination of contestants. I believe these contestants should be recognized and their creativity must be appreciated.

TO TELL a TALE of a PICTURE #10
TTT10-frame.jpg


STORY -1 (WINNER)

United By Hunger (A Short Story)by @iamthegray

"I’ll give you fifty dollars for Drotto,” Brago had offered. “Fifty dollars…” Raj muttered to himself as he continued his journey through the small town. Drotto was his most prize treasure. Before the circus was gutted by fire, he and Drotto had been a team to watch out for. On good nights, he took home as much as hundred dollars. Now, someone is offering him fifty dollars. He shook his head.

He head the rumble and patted Drotto on the side. “I know you are hungry.… Very soon we will be in the plains of Durra and then…” A wisp of chicken soup from one of the open stalls made its way into his nostrils. He sniffed and salivated and wanted to stop. The hunger in his stomach had come alive. It was then he remembered that he had use the last money on with him to pay the fine. Drotto had strayed into a field while he was at the temple and… He sighed. Who could blame an hungry elephant who hadn't eaten for hours.

United by hunger, man and animal continued the journey.
POST


STORY -2 (GREAT STORY)

HOME by @tygertyger

She tried to remember her mother, how it felt as they strolled through the cool morning hours of the jungle just before sunrise. She was happy then, before the brutal training. Her legs bound her trunk reaching, begging for mercy as the bamboo canes whipped and cut. She learned to contain her longing, her ache for her family became this subconscious hum she no longer really noticed. She learned how to obey the will of the hairless apes that now ruled her. Not all were unkind, some were even gentle in her handling, but their kindness could never replace the comfort of home. Home, would she have even recognised it and more importantly would they have even recognised her. Today was to be her last trip to the market, tomorrow she was going away. Bapu had sold her to the woman. She had spoken kindly to her in a soft voice. The next morning she was loaded in a truck, she swayed nervously in anticipation of their journey. "don't worry" the woman said. City noises gave way to shifting landscapes, after hours they arrived. And there she found waiting, others like her, caressing trunks and trumpets to welcome her home.
POST


STORY -3 (GOOD STORY)

Not Today by @seunnla

I have a phobia for all living things that are neither humans nor plants.
That pretty much means that I'm afraid of animals, and the bigger the animal, the more the fear.

People think that I'm just being a baby but my phobia has a history and I remembered this history as we passed the riding space at the *India City Fair.

When I was much younger, my little-brother liked to chase chickens all over the compound, he was just 2-years then.

One day, after school, it started to rain, my Aunt was cooking and I was watching TV, I didn't realize when my brother went out.

Next thing, I heard him crying.

I ran out of the house only to meet him sitting in a puddle of water, bleeding from the cuts on his face.

As I ran to him, I saw a mother-hen with chicks I knew what had happened.
He had chased the chickens and the mother-hen had attacked him.

Since then, I developed a big-phobia for animals and so when the Elephant-rider offered me a ride at the City-Fair, I politely declined.
POST


INTERESTING STORY

Jaipur by @jadams2k18

After a 6-hour trip on his faithful companion, Abu (the elephant), Ranjit arrived on the crowded street of Jaipur. He couldn't get used to the fuss of the merchants in Jaipur. The heat of the afternoon made the clothes sticky. After giving water to Abu with his bucket; Ranjit took the opportunity to take a comforting masala chai in the market. Finally he came to the business of Madhur, footwear manufacturer, in the old part of Agra.

"Dear long lost friend, Ranjit. Welcome, come on in. You can try on the shoes you like."

"I only want some traditional juttis, I come for the wedding of my brother's daughter", answered Ranjit

"For Ganesh! What a pleasure! A wedding. I will give you the best I have at a good price "

After haggling the price enough, Ranjit came to a good agreement for his shoes.

At nightfall, before going to his brother's house, Ranjit decided to bring some snacks: rasgullas, sandesh, papad and chapati (Indian bread).

Ranjit hoped that his niece would like the wool pashmina he had made. Reddish, like the one he wore.

Tomorrow would be a long day ...
POST



I am sure you would have like above original short stories written by contestants. Please visit these contestants and see their work encourage them with UPVOTES.



Visit: TO TELL A TALE of a Picture Contest #11



Love from-

The Patcher ( @dpatcher )


Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

You got a 3.70% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @dpatcher!

Thank you love ❤️

Thanks my dear @dpatcher. It was nice to know more about way of life in India

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52