Learn Something New Every Day Contest. Day 6

Ugh.

Still not feeling very well, this flu is definitely getting the better of me. But I am hoping to be back to 100% in the next few days. Anyway, I am overdue to type up a contest post, so here we go! I apologize for the tardiness of the post, but as most of you know, I have been sick.
Never Stop Learning.PNG

Contest Day 5

That's a link to the previous contest!

What with having taken a couple days off, there were a few more entries than I usually get in a single day, so there are lots of fun facts to be learned by checking out the comments section of that post! Maybe you learn something yourself. Be sure to Upvote the comments that you learn something from, or laugh at (some of the entries are more comical that informational, but still fun and entertaining).


Rules for participation.

Tell me Something I Don't Know.

Leave me a meaningful comment below with a random bit of trivia knowledge (if you don't know what a meaningful comment is, make sure you read the post by @ogochuckwu linked at the bottom of this post). It doesn't have to be the most fantastic bit of knowledge, it just has to be true. If you post something really hard to believe, I may ask you to cite your source or link me to something that backs up your bit of info. If you cannot provide me with SOMETHING (a webpage, a news report, ANYTHING) to back up you claim I will not consider it a valid entry and I will not Upvote your entry. If you say something like "One thousand years ago, homo sapiens were an average of 12 feet tall. My teacher in third grade taught me that", I am probably not going to believe you. Like I said, it just has to be true (and somewhat verifiable).
All entrants will get a small Upvote for participating, (One Entry Per Person Per Day!!!) and my top three favorite will receive a 100% Upvote, a 75% Upvote and a 50% Upvote for teaching me something new that day.
Replies need to be in English or translated to English (If I can't read it, I can't judge it). You have about twenty three hours (give or take an hour depending on what time I get online that day) to make submissions to this post, at which time I will give out rewards and post the new Day's contest. Be sure to check the comments and support the other entrants. I highly encourage engagement in the comments section, and the vast majority of my Upvote power is used on comments. Earning rewards just for talking to each other is my favorite part of the platform, and I highly recommend Upvoting each others entries in the replies to this post! If the first three comments have Upvotes from me (the first one will be about a dollar), then I have already given out prizes for this contest, but the next one will be out shortly!
You must Upvote this post to be considered a "valid entry". This is not because I want the rewards from your vote. This is because I rent delegated Steempower to provide larger Upvotes as prizes to my contests, and your Upvote on this post helps me pay for that delegation, and spread more rewards to more users!


As always, thanks for taking the time to read my post!



Polish Your Posts by checking out this post full of useful tips for newbies about post creation by @ethandsmith!


Learn how to write quality comments that improve your blog by @ogochukwu


You can see your posts total pending payouts by visiting https://steemviz.com/pendingpayouts and typing in your username!


Every user can set up 3 rules to vote for their favorite author automatically. You get more rules the more SteemPower you have.

Learn how to add Emojis to your Steemit posts by CLICKING HERE



Image from pixabay. Gifs from GIPHY

Remember to follow me so you can catch my different Daily Contests every day!! Upvoting and Resteeming this post helps me spread more rewards to more users!


I'm @gogogadgetupvote and I'm Always On Duty!

Sort:  

Did you know Charles Darwin created the first office chair with wheels ever. Read it here
source

I sit in an office chair every day. It's kinda cool to learn who was the first person to attach wheels to a chair, and why he did it! First Prize today!

Thank you.

I did not know that. That is a pretty cool fact! Thanks!

In 42 minutes of free fall, you can cover the distance from one pole of the Earth to the other.
http://aapt.scitation.org/doi/abs/10.1119/1.4898780?journalCode=ajp&

That is a really long time to be free falling.... So in essence, at terminal velocity, it takes 42 minutes to travel the distance from one pole to the other? Damn that's fast. Thanks for the fun fact, bud!

You are welcome! I actually thought it's a lot faster like, up to 10 mins.

Second Prize today!

Yay! Thanks!

The 2015 French Scrabble Champion was not fluent in French.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigel_Richards_(Scrabble_player)

Reading, writing and speaking any given language are all completely different things. I didn't know that about the French Scrabble Champion, but I knew a kid in high school that could read and write in his french class, but he just could not for the life of him figure out how to speak it.

Couldn't make up my mind, so I decided to give two "third place prizes" today!

Did you know that an Appolo astronaut lost his wedding ring during his trip to the moon....And found it again during a space walk.

source

That's a pretty neat story! Thanks for sharing the source!

Couldn't make up my mind, so I decided to give two "third place prizes" today!

Thank you..


Source

Did you know that the word 'quarantine' which means to isolate, originates from the Italian word for 40 'quaranta'.
Back when Europe suffered from the black plague, the authorities of Venice, the then trading capital of the world, issued an order that all incoming ships would have to remain in the harbor for 40 days , and only then would the crew be allowed to land so as to avoid anyone bringing the disease to the city. This situation of being isolated for 40 days is the inspiration for today's quarantine.

Get well soon.

I don't think I did know that one. Thanks for sharing it with me!

Distance between Russia and the United States - less than 4 kilometers.

Where is that? The western most island of Alaska? Cause I know those Islands go a long way across the ocean. Got a source on that?

Hello @gogogadgetupvote..... I so much appreciate..Thanks for this wonderful opportunity

With my little experience and ideas;

"TELL ME SOMETHING I DON'T KNOW"

¤ The word "selfie" has been officially accepted for use in the word game scrabble

¤ Many traffic 🚥 lights button are placebo button. They exist to give the presser the feeling of control

So happy that I could share my thoughts @gogogadgetupvote

@strugzsteemit

You cant be serious...selfie has been officially accepted for use in "scrabble"?
I guess i just learnt something new because i never imagine something so common like that word to be officially accepted before being used..
I love this @strugzsteemit

Historys are made everyday likewise new things happen everyday..i so much appreciate @franklinolas

Am actually hearing this for the first time. Well thanks for the information man.

@drayhazz I appreciate sir.. I am also happy for you taking your time to go through it....

I did know about the traffic light placebo's. There is also a conspiracy theory that traffic lights are not needed at all, and that they were an invention of the fuel companies to make people use more fuel, thus spending more money on their product.
I did not know that "selfie" was accepted as a scrabble word. That is just terrible....
You do get an upvote for participating, but this technically counts as two separate facts, and the rules do say one entry per person per day. Please be mindful in the future! Thanks for particitating!

For real

@laliga yes for real.
We make research everyday to know more about what we are missing and about whatever don't know...
The only real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.

The elephant are the only mammal that can not jump.

I did know that, though I don't remember when or where I learned it. They are just too darn heavy. Poor guys.

The smallest bones in the human body are in your ear!

Do you have a source for that? I was pretty sure there were no bones in the human ear, only cartilage.

here is the source..
http://sciencenetlinks.com/daily-content/11/29/

At 3 mm x 2.5 mm, the "stapes" in the middle ear is the smallest named bone in the human body.

Thanks :)

Neat. Thanks for the source!

I just learnt something new. I had no clue before

What is the strongest muscle in the human body based on weight?

And no, male genitals are not muscles.

The masseter, which is a muscle of the jaw.

The strongest muscle based on its weight is the masseter. With all muscles of the jaw working together it can the teeth with a force as great as 55 pounds (25 kilograms) on the incisors or 200 pounds (90.7 kilograms) on the molars.

Interesting. The human body is an incredible thing, and so are a lot of the things it is capable of. Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39