Have you met GINA? She's your own personal Steemit secretary!

in #ginabot7 years ago

So yesterday, my buddy and fellow SFG member @grow-pro told me about a discord bot that could help me increase productivity, save time, and catch opportunities I might be missing out on.

IMG_20180127_050946.jpg
Source: @ginabot

Obviously, I was all ears, and when he led me to @ginabot, I realized very quickly how awesome this was about to be. GINA (General Instant Notification Automaton) is a "personal assistant" for the Steem Blockchain. She will message you on discord when something happens that you've asked her to watch for. Upvotes, comments, Resteems, even mentions and more!

Read her introduction post for more details and a full list of features.


@ginabot is powered by minnow-power.net!

Getting started is as easy as joining the Minnow Power Discord, registering with one command and a 0.001 transfer (which gets returned), then adjusting your notification settings. I had it all set up in less than 5 minutes.

IMG_20180127_062339.jpg

GINA will send you a "secret link" in a private message on discord that will take you to your personal settings. Here, you'll be able to choose what platform you would prefer her to watch, and what you'd like her to watch for .

IMG_20180127_062628.jpg

This can be anything from getting votes, comments, or Resteems on your posts, follower notifications, or you could have her alert you when a specific tag is used, or even a word or phrase is mentioned in a post! This will definitely help me find relevant [SteemGig] posts to curate!

IMG_20180127_062534.jpg

Here's where GINA benefits me the most. You can have her watch the Blockchain for anytime any username you provide is mentioned in a post or comment. This means if one of my science or tech articles gets mentioned in a curation post, I won't miss it. When someone writes a post about one of my projects, GINA will let me know, so I can run over and support it.


If you've ever needed a notification system for your Steem-venture, @ginabot is for you!

Less than 24 hours after "hiring" GINA to be my secretary, I'm already catching things that I would have missed last week! This is definitely going to make running a personal blog AND two side projects much easier to manage. A big thanks to @ginabot, minnow-power.net, and @grow-pro!

Time to kick this Steem-train into high gear!


clickthatstache.png

Support freelancers on the Steem Blockchain by following The Steem Freelancer's Guild!
Get rewarded for offering valuable suggestions for my family's investment portfolio, The Crypto Zoo!
Check out the survival mmorpg with Steem rewards I'm developing over at Thrive or Die!
Sort:  

One thing that I really didn't like about Steemit was the lack of notifications. Gina fixed that and has made my experience so much better! Definitely recommend if anyone is on the fence, which it's not like you have anything to lose. Easy to set up and can customize your notifications!
Nice post @thatsweeneyguy!

It's been very frustrating at times, to say the least. Now I'll always know when someone tags me or my projects in a post. Missed opportunities are the worst!

Oh for sure, the notification for getting tagged is the biggest thing for me. Cause I can eventually see replies on here but if some random person tags you in a post you haven't seen then it can be impossible to ever find.

cannot agree more @boatsports90, like when I first joined, found a way manually search @ mentions but it was intensely overwhelming to parse. I have no idea how I managed without GINAbot. I told @thatsweeneyguy while we were chatting, I said "you are about to love me for this" and I knew it would help him, he's busier than me..haha

I also love how I can set it up to let me know when a few friends post that do not post often - otherwise it gets lost in the feed or they have to message me and let me know they're out of hibernation.​😆 So much robo-love for GINAbot🤖

Oh I'm hiring Gina for my freelancer's office! lol

I only discovered GINAbot recently too, and have found it to be a wonderful integration into the Steemit & Discord experience.

The only wee niggle I have is that I found it not so easy to find where to get back to the settings page to change or add things; otherwise all good. :)

message her "..set"

This looks interesting, I have to ask: is there any possible security flaws?

Not that I can tell. You never have to give over your password. Simply send the transfer after registering, and you're connected!

Thanks for the reply, never can be too safe :)

Wow, that looks really useful. It is amazing how fast the Steem ecosystem is developing - we could do with a central hub to keep track of all the new apps etc unless there is already one...?

THIS POST

by @inquiringtimes does a really good job of gathering resources like websites and apps. You'll likely find more than a couple things of use there 😀

Happy Steeming!

Awesome - now following. Much appreciated :)

Automation is certainly the wave of the future. Just the other day I enrolled in a course teaching how to create chatbots. What an exciting time we live in! ^.^

AI is the future! I was born way too early...

I just discovered her yesterday too. She is very helpful, indeed :D

Cool.... this is GOLD!
Wonderful tip for all.

Great! This is exactly something I'm looking for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83