The Steemit Gift Economy: What is it all about and what can you offer?

in #gifteconomy7 years ago (edited)

Steemit: The Gift Economy based on a Collaborative Community


This is a blog about the Steemit community, the gift economy we reside within, the range of gifts being offered in the community, and ideas on how to place yourself/myself within it. Firstly, an introduction to what a Gift Economy is and a short section on communities.

giving-hands.jpg
source

The gift economy idea

A gift economy is one in which services or goods are given without an agreement as to a suitable payment or trade to be made in return. source

An economy based on giving in the context of relationship rather than making transactions simply for profit or personal material gain.... Altruism is sometimes viewed as the basis for spreading wealth throughout a gift economy. However, the individual giver actually benefits indirectly. For example, social status and support in times of need may be obtained by those who give to others in the group or community. source

The key points being:

  • The 'work' is done without an invoice
  • The giver can benefit indirectly via social status
  • The giver can receive support from the community if things get tough

And here is a TED-Ed 4 minute video on YouTube if you want a little more background on Gift Economies:

A bit on Communities

A social group of any size whose members reside in a specific locality, share government, and often have a common cultural and historical heritage source

A social, religious, occupational, or other group sharing common characteristics or interests source

Here, the social group is you guys, and the locality is Steemit.

So the money is the gift, right?


No, I don't think so. Not in most cases anyway. Sure there are instances where the community members may ask for this financial gift, for themselves or others close to them, but in the context of this blog I see the gifts as being what is offered when the 'Post' button is pressed.

Providing for the community - May the Gods appreciate your work

From what I've seen over the past year, here are some of the gifts offered on Steemit:

  • Applications and how-to guides
  • Community 'Policing' services
  • Important news effecting the community as a whole
  • Finding causes for the community to focus its attention on - members in need, and other people in need
  • Providing entertainment and laughs
  • Sharing your life, experiences, and opinions
  • Offering recipes and photos
  • Creating competitions

and to a lesser extent

  • Sending a message offering services, for a fee
  • Your friendship - in return for friendship

and in no way a gift at all

  • Spamming of the community members
  • Taking from the community without planning to offer a gift to anyone but yourself (multi-account up-vote pillaging)

The list isn't complete, but it gives an indication of the different shape and size of gift you can offer. Some gifts will be gratefully received by many, others by only a small sub-section. Good! And of course, it is totally allowed to give more than one type of gift. Just do what you enjoy, and what you think the community would gratefully receive and require.

Get this combination right and you will know about it....


source

Imagine you are a Steemit Whale


Looking out for the prosperity and welfare of the community.... (I assume here that all Whales are good) What do you see on the new page? What gifts are displayed? What will help the community grow and the gift economy prosper?

Which gifts will be of most benefit and use to the community?

It is these questions that are being asked by our founding members when they browse the offerings from the community.

So what can you offer?


Anything you like!

The community is rich in many areas and so for example, starting out as the new 'excellent photographer' in town could be tricky. Maybe you want to offer yourself as a community health and safety officer, reporting bad deeds such as abuse of a member or the system. There are members like this, so maybe you can collaborate with them as it will be easier than going alone. Or maybe, you just have a lot of comedy inside you and a different outlook on life. There is always room for laughter in every community.

Remember though, The founding members are likely to be looking for gifts that are likely to enrich the community as a whole.

What about me then?


Well, I'm still figuring it out. I'm not a programmer, neither am I a good cook. In the past I've offered a little insight into my life, blogged about music that makes me shiver (too many times some might say!), posted about cats, parking, personal depression, the stock market, and more. You could say I am a jack of many trades, and a master of nothing. This would be fair I guess, but I'm still learning my place.... like many of us.

And guess what? I've been a part of the community for 1 year today....

1yearold.PNG

Finally, I have some ideas for the future and I hope you will join me there, but for now..

Steem on with your gifts and do the community proud!

Thanks for reading today

Asher

1.gif

Sort:  

Nice post man! Let's get this party started 😁👌🏽

Thank you@abh12345, well structured and to the point! :)

Thank you @abh12345, massive partying is imminent! ;)

I just gifted you with my humble last 100% left over voting power. What great ideas and kind thoughts. Its not fair that you didn't get more votes ( 9 ?? ) after one hour. I am not big in resteeming but @massivevibration will do.

Thank you!

Yeah only 9 so far and even less visits, this is the way it is so I'm not complaining. I'm glad you liked my post though, and sat here wondering what a massive vibration is but it sounds good!

Great post! I like the way you describe that we are in a Gift economy. I like to believe, when giving, one will receive. Sometimes it is a bit questionable if that is indeed the case. But I still try and believe it and continue to give my gifts. With qsounds I dedicate ton music as a gift to the community and although music is not that well looked at, I continue since persistence is what counts in making something successful. So please, keep on giving your music gifts to the community!

Wrt the whales, wll you can assume they are all good, but all those who are not we shall not be blind for. What about all those whales who run their own 'buy my vote or rent my SP' services? They take more revenues from the platform then every before. Ok, they may earn less on curation since the last HF, but fact is that in the past the gave rewards to others, and now they get a direct income for their reward to others. How can that be 'good'? Don't get me wrong, I like the entrepreneurship, and have respect for those who make these services happening, but it will be the dead for a human dominated community, it will be the dead of the community in itself when this continuous. On a daily bases now vote and buy my vote reteem or whetever bots are coming to life, more spam is coming to life, all those things that are not gift but far from that.

That said, as long as it is possible, I like to give the community some quality music to listen to. Stuff I personally like very much. Next to that I from time to time like to give the community also some other information and I do that with my edje account. So far so good, well, so far I'm still here and try to enjoy. Reading this type of posts, makes me feel happy again and thanks to @mammasitta for alert this post was out!

You got me thinking. There is no where you go on Steemit, you will see this post has being Upvoted by so so and so.
Is that what Steemit is now all about. Paying to get ur posts Upvoted.
Don't get me wrong. I do pay too cause I have no option. In a country like mine, we do whatever we can to make money as long as its legit.
How I wish there won't be to much gap between whales and minnows
I will always be grateful to @darkflame for the plans he has for me and @bullionstackers for #whalepower.
Thanks to all who wants the best for we minnows.
I'm grateful

It seems to be the case indeed to get some rewards, one has to buy it. TO be honest, I've done several test and I don't really see a net result from buying one of the 3rd party upvoters. Some give for free, but then again, with many of those upvotes on your post, you for sure will miss out on the possibility for curation guilds like curie to vote for your post. Their vote is worth around 100$ to 200$, much more than you get from the boosters. I personally give lower or no vote to those posts having many boosters called in. It is not a rule, but more and more I check if boosters are used, and by whom; When they are self voters, then the post must be really really really good for me to cast a vote. Not sure how others are in the community, maybe they don't care and give a vote after all, but I can imagine the people with more power and rewards to give, are a bit more critical to what they vote for.

Excellent comment, I really like your work. I think it is very objective in the analysis and in what you want to convey. Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us.

Thank you for your kind words, appreciate it really much.

Just popped in to check up on you with everything going on in Spain. Be safe. And seriously, this post is amazing! Resteemed.

Hey! Yes i'm fine, still planning out my next move.... options!

Thanks so much for the re-steem and i'm glad you liked it!

So essentially, its a barter system. Where I give you something, and you give me something.

However, what you give me, isn't worth what I give you. Meaning, I will have to give you something more in return.

Interesting outlook. However, I don't think it will work in our society. Maybe in a small forum, such as steemit, and then can be grown to include everyone who joins steemit, but not on society as a whole.

Human's are inherently greedy.

oh yeah, I don't think it can work in 'society', we've gone too far down the wrong path.

Well not really bartering as such. When you post a blog, you are sending it out there free of charge, as a gift. The quality of the gift, how useful/required it is, could well be rewarded accordingly - or not as the case may be.

Visibility of the gift, and your status in the community, are also variables to be considered...

Thanks for the comments :)

Awesome happy 1 year steemut birthday. 🎂

Thank you very much @paulag 😁

One wonderful year ! Good job!

I love this
Thank you for sharing your gift
Everyone should have this mindset.
Thank you

Thank you very much my friend!

This is brilliant.

One year already? Cool.

Thanks, time flies for sure

Hee a little sound from the 'underground' :) Thanks for the votes! Really appreciate it!

My pleasure! I'll reply to your epic message on works time tomorrow ;) Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64