You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemit Gift Economy: What is it all about and what can you offer?

in #gifteconomy7 years ago

So essentially, its a barter system. Where I give you something, and you give me something.

However, what you give me, isn't worth what I give you. Meaning, I will have to give you something more in return.

Interesting outlook. However, I don't think it will work in our society. Maybe in a small forum, such as steemit, and then can be grown to include everyone who joins steemit, but not on society as a whole.

Human's are inherently greedy.

Sort:  

oh yeah, I don't think it can work in 'society', we've gone too far down the wrong path.

Well not really bartering as such. When you post a blog, you are sending it out there free of charge, as a gift. The quality of the gift, how useful/required it is, could well be rewarded accordingly - or not as the case may be.

Visibility of the gift, and your status in the community, are also variables to be considered...

Thanks for the comments :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.95
ETH 2351.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47