You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemit Gift Economy: What is it all about and what can you offer?

in #gifteconomy7 years ago (edited)

Great post! I like the way you describe that we are in a Gift economy. I like to believe, when giving, one will receive. Sometimes it is a bit questionable if that is indeed the case. But I still try and believe it and continue to give my gifts. With qsounds I dedicate ton music as a gift to the community and although music is not that well looked at, I continue since persistence is what counts in making something successful. So please, keep on giving your music gifts to the community!

Wrt the whales, wll you can assume they are all good, but all those who are not we shall not be blind for. What about all those whales who run their own 'buy my vote or rent my SP' services? They take more revenues from the platform then every before. Ok, they may earn less on curation since the last HF, but fact is that in the past the gave rewards to others, and now they get a direct income for their reward to others. How can that be 'good'? Don't get me wrong, I like the entrepreneurship, and have respect for those who make these services happening, but it will be the dead for a human dominated community, it will be the dead of the community in itself when this continuous. On a daily bases now vote and buy my vote reteem or whetever bots are coming to life, more spam is coming to life, all those things that are not gift but far from that.

That said, as long as it is possible, I like to give the community some quality music to listen to. Stuff I personally like very much. Next to that I from time to time like to give the community also some other information and I do that with my edje account. So far so good, well, so far I'm still here and try to enjoy. Reading this type of posts, makes me feel happy again and thanks to @mammasitta for alert this post was out!

Sort:  

You got me thinking. There is no where you go on Steemit, you will see this post has being Upvoted by so so and so.
Is that what Steemit is now all about. Paying to get ur posts Upvoted.
Don't get me wrong. I do pay too cause I have no option. In a country like mine, we do whatever we can to make money as long as its legit.
How I wish there won't be to much gap between whales and minnows
I will always be grateful to @darkflame for the plans he has for me and @bullionstackers for #whalepower.
Thanks to all who wants the best for we minnows.
I'm grateful

It seems to be the case indeed to get some rewards, one has to buy it. TO be honest, I've done several test and I don't really see a net result from buying one of the 3rd party upvoters. Some give for free, but then again, with many of those upvotes on your post, you for sure will miss out on the possibility for curation guilds like curie to vote for your post. Their vote is worth around 100$ to 200$, much more than you get from the boosters. I personally give lower or no vote to those posts having many boosters called in. It is not a rule, but more and more I check if boosters are used, and by whom; When they are self voters, then the post must be really really really good for me to cast a vote. Not sure how others are in the community, maybe they don't care and give a vote after all, but I can imagine the people with more power and rewards to give, are a bit more critical to what they vote for.

Excellent comment, I really like your work. I think it is very objective in the analysis and in what you want to convey. Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us.

Thank you for your kind words, appreciate it really much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.95
ETH 2351.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47