This is why I LOVE Steemit! - A Package from Romania

in #gift7 years ago

So I've been watching the mail for a little bit now waiting for an envelop to arrive for me. It's been pretty exciting. I've never received a package from Romania Before.

20170929_145929.jpg

I think aside from stuff I have ordered that came from China, or maybe Canada, this is the first item I have received from a person outside of the US. I might have gotten something from England once. I worked with a lot of folks from there and Australia when I worked for the cruise lines. But if they sent anything, my memory fails me.

But this is why Steem is so amazing. There are no borders here. No forcing you into the cookie cutter of a nationality. You can literally connect with anyone. If you are able to speak each others' languages, or are willing to use a translator, then you are able to engage with each other and build a relationship.

20170929_150552.jpg

One of those relationships started on my first couple of days on Steem. I found the blog of a guy making some awesomely fun and funny Steemit Hearthstone cards. He already had almost 30 created when I first discovered him. He has since increased that number to 43. You can check them all out by going to the most recent new one where he links to all of the older cards as well. The newest is a custom card for @papa-pepper. And still time to upvote the post too. So go get that taken care of and then come back. I'll wait.

https://steemit.com/steemitcard/@fishmon/steemit-cards-43-papa-pepper-steemit-s-home-grown-super-star

Okay. Thanks for checking out his post. Welcome Back.

So I followed @fishmon and commented on his work. My upvote was worthless, but I gave him that too. Eventually we caught up on Discord too.

20170929_150618.jpg

A couple of weeks ago he mentioned he had printed and laminated some cards as a test run and he wanted to send them out to his followers. Of course I jumped up and said I would love to have some. I enjoy the cards, and I envision pulling up a post on my computer screen and taking a picture of it with one of the cards that fits the post. Of course, since I had that thought, Fishmon came up with the Steemcards Bot that comments the cards for you. So he wins the internets.

He chose me to send some cards to and got my information. He even sent me a picture of the envelop to let me know it was on the way. You've seen a bit of what it looked like above. But when I unwrapped the deck I found 12 unique cards waiting for me. Each laminated and hand cut. They are big too, about 1/4 of a sheet each before cutting away the excess. Here's the whole picture.
20170929_150717.jpg

Even the backs of them are pretty cool.

20170929_150802.jpg

So that's my super cool package from my friend in Romania. Something you would never have happen from FB or The Twitter.

The good news is. You can get your own copies of some of these wonderful cards sent to you from Romania. Just hit up @fishmon. He's selling them now, so you aren't quite as lucky as me, but you can still get a random allotment of Steemit Cards all the way from Romania from your friend @fishmon. Check out his sales post here:

https://steemit.com/steemitcard/@fishmon/steemit-cards-taking-orders-to-print-and-mail-them-to-you

And be sure to follow @fishmon to keep up with his trading cards as more and more are sure to come out as time passes!

DQmR85zPfrVbDQnziU8jMLy8iA5XQzmUeRcJP2nxbRxYicJ_1680x8400.jpg
Fishmon with his puppy Crono.

Thanks for stopping by! I appreciate all of you taking a look at what I am doing. Maybe at some point I will manage to have something to offer to send to friends around the world. I wouldn't hold your breath, I'm more of a wordsmith than an artist. But you never know!

I can't express how much something like this puts Steem head and shoulders above any of the other social media sites out there. The true sense of community is overwhelming! Thanks @fishmon for the wonderful gift, and thanks for being a friend!!

Sort:  

Great to see friendships blossoming here on steemit. You're right, what a great gift to receive. And a great article of gratitude, displaying @fishmon's work. Thanks, @mikepm.

Oh! The cards turned out great. Was wondering when they would be ready. Glad you got some for yourself. 🐓🐓

That looks awesome and fun... peace, good for you (-:

Really cool story! Cards look awesome!

Stay awesome, Mike !

They look awesome huge fan of fishmon!

This post has received a 11.93 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @mikepm74. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 0.69 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @kid4life. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52