Digital Art - Searching For Simplicity

in #gif6 years ago

A slideshow of digital-art images

There is a certain 'look' I'm trying to create - I can see it in my mind, and I'm getting closer but I'm not fully happy yet.... perhaps I never will be!

The idea here is to simplify the image, removing detail until all that is left is the essential composition - the light and shape and colour. In other words, I'm trying to use my camera to produce "paintings."

These photos have all been manipulated using Topaz Simplify and converted to into a short slideshow. I will post the individual still images below. Let me know what you think... is there a value to looking at images through this type of filter, or are you only interested in the latest high-resolution fifty-megapixel images?

ezgif.com-optimize (4).gif

Is there a particular piece of software you have used and can recommend to create 'painterly' images? If so, let me know in the comments.

Here are the individual files - All original images based on my photographs taken in and around Victoria, British Columbia. Thanks for taking a look.

DSC_0957-Edit.jpg

DSC_4364-Edit.jpg

DSC_4365-Edit-Edit.jpg

DSC_4371-Edit.jpg

![DSCF7479-Edit copy.jpg]
()

DSCF7504-Edit_vectorized-Edit.jpg

DSC_7823-Edit-Edit copy_Snapseed.jpg

DSC_4068-Edit-Edit.jpg

DSC_0875-Edit-Edit.jpg

DSC_7209-Edit-Edit copy.jpg

waterfall-Edit copy.jpeg

Sort:  

Those are some fantastic captures. I appreciate your editing and they do look like paintings! The first and last ones are my favorites.

Thanks so much, I'm glad you like them. It's still not what I'm trying to make, but perhaps a little closer...

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of 5 June 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Let me try this again after putting more money in the piggybank!

tip!

Too funny! Yes, I saw it come in Denise, thank you again!

The first one with the light streaming through the trees?? Love this....I have a collection of pastoral and tree forest pictures. Love this.

What a creative soul you are....seriously. This idea is a great idea!!

There used to be a "posterize" edit in Picassa - I don't know if another software would have it...you could try using that and playing with the controls to see what happens. I really like what you've done though and can't wait to see what it is you are trying to achieve.

I'm a fan.

I really appreciate the comment @countrygirl... the shot with the sunbeams is my favourite from the lot. I'll keep working on my vision - but it's been a long time already, and I have haven't figured it out yet! :)

Just Excellent.

Thank you very much!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I couldn't recommend a software unfortunately but love what you've done with these. =)

Thanks very much, I'm glad :)

That was an amazingly beautiful series. I am reminded of Emily Carr in a number of them:) I tend to just use photo editing to create my digital art, no particular program. But looking at these works, maybe I should. Bravo. An extraordinarily beautiful post, Keith:)

Thank you so much! There's something fun about turning my DSLR into a low-resolution camera! I'm so happy you like the images! :)

You have created an enchanting Fantasy Forest with these images Keith. Love them. Have you tried any of the painting effects in Be Funky? They are more versatile than what I originally thought. I've almost given up on Dreamscope. Have a look at this one http://editor.pho.to/ I haven't used them for a while but they do have some interesting features.

Thanks so much, Trudee! I can't wait to try those other editing programs!

You're very welcome Keith. I look forward to seeing more of your wonderful creations.

Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Beautiful Sunday, So Sublime! Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86