Homesteader Knowledge! Results of the #100khomesteadchallenge

in #ghsc6 years ago (edited)

Starting a Homestead!

PicsArt_11-14-11.09.30.jpg

About a week ago, I posted a challenge to the Steemit homesteading community on what every budding homesteader has on their mind... How and where do we start? My partner and I are finding that as we plan for our homesteading dream, we come up with more and more questions every day, and challenges to tackle, and we have barely just begun. Excited for our future but becoming a little overwhelmed, I reached out to the community and asked one simple question:

If you could start your Homestead over, completely from scratch, and you had a hypothetical budget of 100k US dollars in your pocket, how would you plan and prioritize?

With some points to consider:

What kind of priorities would you have or reconsider?
What kind of power would you use?
In what ways would you use this nest egg first?
How would you do your planning again, if you had the option?

I got a lot of great responses from homesteaders in the community, both in the comments of the original post (some real gems!) and as challenge entries, and almost as soon as I posed the challenge, @goldendawne generously offered to sponsor 2 additional SBD to the winner(s). She was almost as excited about the challenge as I was making it!

Without further ado, here were some of the amazing responses that we received.

@sagescrub
JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH815w674DVdzuWe1XSvT2cMaAAn1fXAAqFSuo2P14k7YRFdsgKogrTc8ZXGJJ7eFCuC1AmCCBYiEDfVrfrNgNBif8DiPnDU.jpeg
@thetreeoflife's 100k Homestead Challenge!! My response
https://steemit.com/ghsc/@sagescrub/thetreeoflife-s-100k-homestead-challenge-my-response

... it is better to start right away with what you have and where you live. Some people want to research every facet of homesteading and prepare themselves for every eventuality and only then are they ready to start. Not me... I want to start right away and learn from my small mistakes. I don't need to own land to Homestead! ~ @sagescrub

... What I loved about @sagescrub advice the most is that you can start homesteading right where you are at, even if you live in a rental or in the suburbs. It's never too early to live the life you dream.
I couldn't agree more!

@porters
2VZXybTSZJq1AreaDn1D7Jp7ZEvgLC9TvJctofX1ChMgSZqi11DAUjtwdf2isU7wcf83V8h22HGG41ssh2haNuAFXmgyohfqj3AAnFKfps1WjpzPodTvQdoAxUf8y4X9gfxcYWy6f4uNz8NExdnLaijBeox.jpeg
If I Were To Do It All Again - A Responce to 100k Homestead Challenge...
https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/if-i-were-to-do-it-all-again-a-responce-to-100k-homestead-challenge

I think it's also important to have a community that you can get along with, for in hard times if the community can come together there is a lot of strength in that. ~@porters

I love how @porters expressed the importance of community, and talked about earth burmed homes as well. She brings up some other good points as well!

@thistle-rock
C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iNfrEJe5NSJGkebHdvqAJHnhQuuCCtU7j3fxS8CTCpyQjKQaDLwPVCWuT37d5N6zGeNRay9ZSmk.jpeg
If I had $100K!
https://steemit.com/100khomesteadchallenge/@thistle-rock/if-i-had-usd100k

... when we are young and eager with our whole lives ahead of us, full of excitement and eagerness, ability and imagination, plans and dreams... take a step back and look at the long-term picture.... live for today but plan for tomorrow and your ever after home will be the fairytale you dreamt of and the story you get to live. ~ @thistle-rock

She really touched on some good points (like the importance of a reliable water source, which will pretty much always be the first priority), but I loved how she brings up points beyond simple survival... Like personal goals, dreams, and something I hadn't really considered, which was age, and thinking long term. Will I still want to chop my own wood when I'm 80? Good question. @thistle-rock is also a new member to steemit, and I love how she writes, and her enthusiasm for sharing knowledge and getting involved.

@mountainjewel
4PYjjVwJ1UdtC5FGc4dbhnimoSgD7UrMDvdWGwMTzRwXoPiXEz6fqBG2BCSgGDwJFuEX98qRghzeAsh1tK1dUgiVaMYzNxMk2s7VWod3Mq8.jpeg
Homestead Life: What We Would Do Differently with 100K at the Onset
https://steemit.com/100khomesteadchallenge/@mountainjewel/homesteadlifewhatwewoulddodifferentlywith100kattheonset-rao46d1si6

@mountainjewel had alot of awesome insights to share, as well as beautiful photos. She brings up some other points beyond basic needs, such as taking our time to learn about the land we choose and letting it speak to us.

Move into the place first. Spend a full 4 seasons there. Let the land talk to you. Let your dreams mingle with your place, its people, wildlife, energetics and the specific piece of land you’re on.
I believe in collaboration and synchronicity and that we aren’t only here to establish our dreams on a blank slate (there is no such thing), but to interact with the web of life of which we find ourselves a part. We aren’t humans with a green backdrop, so as you think about establishing yourself somewhere, leave room for that somewhere to establish you. ~ @mountainjewel

I loved reading every entry, and I hope those who read this post take a moment to check them all out. Great nuggets of insight, and years and years of experience. Thank you for everyone who participated in the challenge, as well as @goldendawne for sponsoring, and all those who commented as well (you all know I love the comment interaction here!!)
It was hard to choose winners, so I decided to divvy it up, 1 each SBD to @thistle-rock, @sagescrub, and @mountainjewel, and a HUGE thank you to @porters for her participation as well.

Thanks all, hope you enjoyed this challenge!

Xx the Tree of Life

Sort:  

Great post! Keep it up! Looks like you put alot of work into this.
|/,,

I think they did indeed. I wish we were homesteading now. But it isnt to be at the moment!
Peace

Your welcome!
|/,,

OMG... thank you, thank you @thetreeoflife .... what a delight to see this today; and my heart is bursting with pride just to share what ticks in my head 💖

Congratulations to all the participants because just to have the courage to enter a contest is a win in and of itself and a step forward in our journey here on Steemit.

I look forward to more people joining me on my blog, teaching and sharing as much as I can.

With much thanks 💕

Both of the other winners kindly donated their sbd back to the pot, so I'm awarding you 3sbd in support of you since you are brand new to steemit and just jumped right in to this. I'll be transferring it later today so keep your eyes peeled! This way, you can power up a bit and support others more as well.
Steem on, thanks again!

OMG, really! @thetreeoflife What fabulous news.

I have been trying to perform actions but have not been able to do anything, even powering up a few bits myself has not allowed me to comment...l I tried commenting to your reply above the other day and it would not let me and I didn’t want people to think I was ignoring them. Here’s hoping when I hit “post” this comment will make it through.

Thank you so much @sagescrub and @mountainjewel this community is just so generous!

congrats thistle-rock! we're glad you're here! i've delegated a little bit of SP to you giving you a little more commenting/posting/upvoting power... you can find your exact stats here: http://steem.supply/@thistle-rock

wishing you the best!

My goodness @mountainjewel, what an unexpected surprise. Thank you so so much for your generosity, I hope to pay forward your kindness!

Life just gets better every day here on Steemit and I am so glad I took the plunge to join such a wonderful community and to be able to read all the wonderful posts people like yourself are sharing. I hope to serve the platform well with what I have to offer myself.

Thank you, thank you, thank you, you have made what has been a somewhat frustrating experience more bearable and I have hope for future good outcomes all around.

Yes it's been tough for newbies here. Hoping it helps you!

Thanks for your contribution, we really have learned so much.
I am a newbie here too so I am still trying to figure out how to get your sbd to ya, but it's on the way!

Congratulations @thetreeoflife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thetreeoflife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

thank you dear! loved participating in this homestead challenge and racking my body soul and brain to see what i could offer from what i've learned. much love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65862.35
ETH 3444.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68