Mineral Mondays #32 - Cutting Slabs

in #geology6 years ago

I am going to take a little detour this week and talk about slabs.

Slabs

Slabs are roughly 1/4' slices of material most commonly used for making cabochons. However, sometimes the material is so amazing the slabs are left as is for display or further polished and displayed. They are also used as a way to explore what is inside of a rock rather than breaking it open with a hammer. The Tiffany Stone header image of this post is a good example of cutting to see what is inside. The entire specimen has an orange crust to it and you wouldn't know the interior is made up of fluorite and a yet unidentified, green crystal.

Cutting

Cutting slabs are not as easy as you might think. First of all, you need the appropriate saw. A 7-1/4" wet tile saw will allow you to cut slabs only about 2 3/8" tall. This is fine for more expensive type material, like my bacon opal or tiffany stone. For more common material like agates, a larger saw, 10" + is needed so you can cut bigger slabs. Usually, people won't buy 2.5" slabs of common material so you need to move up into the 3" + range.

Since playing around with 10" saws is dangerous​ there is a manufacturer named Lortone that makes enclosed, self-driving​ saws and they aren't cheap. A 12" rig costs about $1,500. The one my old rock club had, an 18", costs $3,350. The larger saw also cuts slow. Cutting time is about 10 minutes depending on the size of the material, but the cuts are very clean. These larger saws also use mineral oil instead of water as a coolant/lubricant. 

Source

The other week I ordered a small tile saw online and it finally came in last week.​It's a great saw for doing the work I am doing, smaller slabs of rare, expensive material.

I immediately got to work cutting material. Unfortunately, I already wore out the blade. That's the other thing, agates are hard and can burn up your diamond blades pretty quickly. They are between 6.5-7 on the Mohs scale, equal to the hardest porcelain tile. This is about 1/3 of what I cut.

One last note, tile saws are loud and throw off shards of the material cutting. I always use safety glasses and earplugs​. As careful and experienced as I am,​ I've had saws shoot pieces of rock into my arm and have had the saw bite the rocks throwing them and my hand away. No matter how tough you think you are, the saw is tougher. Always, always play it safe. It's no fun cutting your fingers off, I know.

Next Week, Back to Gem-O-Rama!

Thanks for reading!

https://www.acuitas.app/


Sort:  

So...what are those lovely lavender slabs? 😯

Yumm love the bacon rocks! ❤ Very cool to see
some real bacon next to it, now don't chomp
on the wrong piece :-)

How awesome to see @melinda010100 here
also looking at the pretty rocks @rt395 has!

That sure looks like fun cutting slabs and
seeing what's inside! 💎

I bought a bunch of them @shasta! They are going to be Christmas gifts for the grandkids.

Indeed she did! Thanks as always. I just cut some Tiffany Stone and put it up. I have so much material to cut, but not enough time!

I just bought it! Thank you! You are the best!

Melinda, I sent you a message via Etsy.

Sorry. Missed that notice. I trust you to send me good stuff!

ベーコン石!(笑)

おいしいそうね?

only 10 minutes.. makes me remember the movie "saw".

Lol, totally different!!

Your post has been read and you did great! You received a 40.0% upvote from us for your post with the geology tag since you are a member of the geopolis community.
Keep on writing and stay curious!

One last note, tile saws are loud and throw off shards of the material cutting. I always use safety glasses and earplugs​. As careful and experienced as I am,​ I've had saws shoot pieces of rock into my arm and have had the saw bite the rocks throwing them and my hand away.

A few months ago I went on a lapidary tutorial kick on youtube, I remember seeing a couple crafters using fully enclosed automated saws to cut slabs for cabs, precisely for those reasons.

Are you into lapidary? I tried cabbing, but due to not having the polishing machine at my house I lost interest. I just like to go out and dig the rocks up, cut them and pass them off to the artists to do their work.

Like I mentioned, the bigger saws also use mineral oil. That would make a huge mess without the enclosures.

Actually, the larger saws like the Lortone are much quieter than your average tile saw. I'd love to get my hands on a 12" saw and set it up in the garage. I would run it as much as possible. Need to have something to do other than worry about bitcoin every day​.

I'm only into it right now as an interested observer. There's a local craft studio which does it, but I'm studiously avoiding new hobbies while I finish up grad school. One day I hope to do a little faceting though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56576.23
ETH 3024.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29