You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mineral Mondays #32 - Cutting Slabs

in #geology6 years ago

One last note, tile saws are loud and throw off shards of the material cutting. I always use safety glasses and earplugs​. As careful and experienced as I am,​ I've had saws shoot pieces of rock into my arm and have had the saw bite the rocks throwing them and my hand away.

A few months ago I went on a lapidary tutorial kick on youtube, I remember seeing a couple crafters using fully enclosed automated saws to cut slabs for cabs, precisely for those reasons.

Sort:  

Are you into lapidary? I tried cabbing, but due to not having the polishing machine at my house I lost interest. I just like to go out and dig the rocks up, cut them and pass them off to the artists to do their work.

Like I mentioned, the bigger saws also use mineral oil. That would make a huge mess without the enclosures.

Actually, the larger saws like the Lortone are much quieter than your average tile saw. I'd love to get my hands on a 12" saw and set it up in the garage. I would run it as much as possible. Need to have something to do other than worry about bitcoin every day​.

I'm only into it right now as an interested observer. There's a local craft studio which does it, but I'm studiously avoiding new hobbies while I finish up grad school. One day I hope to do a little faceting though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61