( Barnsteen ) Amber.

in #geology6 years ago (edited)

You could say I am a lucky bastard. and I know that I am luckier than most as a rockhound.
Maybe it is because I spend a huge amount of time in this hobby, maybe it is a little bit more than that.
I think it is all about asking the universe, mental stability, intention, intention, and intention. shutting down the conscience part of myself, feel and open myself as the spirit I am and go into the now. let my energy and the energy of what I want to find intertwine.
it works that way with Agate, crystals, fossils and with Amber....!

20180605_234215x.jpg

A friend and co-rockhound showed me this amazing place, ( a sand quarry near Nijmegen in the Netherlands ) where I could find pieces of Amber if you know where and how to look.
I learned it very quickly. hahaha, and I found a ton of it.

20180605_233022.jpg

So I went there ( i cannot show you the location, sorry ) and did exactly what my friend told me to do, fishing with a small fishnet, Amber does not float at all, but swirls between the wood on top of the sand so it will come up first ( very light stuff if you scrape the bottom of the water basin where the wood is filtered out of the sand.
And I found myself an amazing collection of small, very small and a couple of big chunks of Amber.

20180605_233042.jpg

20180605_233053.jpg

20180605_233855.jpg

so what can I tell about this Amber, it comes from another sandpit, near Wychen, that quarry was operational years ago, now it is a recreation lake, and somewhere in a distant past, there used to be an ancient forest there.
They brought the clay and sand to the quarry where I go now and search, dumped it there in the lake and now, slowly the Amber is coming to the surface.
And I and my friend did find a lot of it, went there now maybe 10 times ( my friend a lot more, he has a huge collection) and found myself like 400 pieces.

Some of the pieces are bigger and worth polishing. so I did.

20180605_234408.jpg

20180605_234215b.jpg

20180605_233932.jpg

22549898_1660019867396044_7105601311831699513_n.jpg

I will go there, again and again, and again, so much fun, being outside, in my element, and there is treasure to find...!
I love my hobby.

17493258_1438428099555223_1958597960789757729_o.jpg

20180605_234532.jpg

20180605_234659.jpg

for more of my rockhounding finds, I would like you to join me and go to these links...
https://steemit.com/hobby/@elohibaluk/my-precious
https://steemit.com/hobby/@elohibaluk/unusual-finds
https://steemit.com/hobby/@elohibaluk/mammoth-agate-and-goniatite
https://steemit.com/geology/@elohibaluk/dutch-agate

Sort:  

I always get so excited when I find a piece barnsteen on a walk through the mudflats of the North Sea. But I have only found a few in my life. Maybe because I never actively searched, but just stumbled upon them. I would go crazy if I'd find as many as you. The collection is insane.
Your pictures make me want to go back and do a little searching myself. Sad that I am currently living so far away from the mudflats.

Hola @elohibaluk
Me encanta tu hobby Rockhound.
El ámbar, árabe o succino es resina fosilizada de origen vegetal, proveniente principalmente de restos de coníferas y algunas angiospermas.
Se pueden hacer joyas muy bellas con ellas y me imagino que eres capaz de hacerlas.
Aquí te dejo una de ellas.

amazing and very pretty. thanks..!!

Congratulations @elohibaluk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @elohibaluk! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @elohibaluk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46