Steemit Community Garden Journal Challenge May 2019, My Entry

in #gardenjournal20195 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians and fellow garden enthusiasts,

It is time to join once again to the Garden Journal Challenge by @simplymike. Before I forget you may check the original post to know more about the contest details and join 😊

Last March on my entry I was focused more on ornamental plants because the heat of the summer sun here in the Philippines is too much for any vegetable to grow. Gardening is my hobby and I could not tend to my plants regularly especially when I attend out of town conferences. Back in March, I did prepare the soil for my planting in mid April and start ofMay.
71u1ugw4x9.jpg

After

You see our garden is a small alley utilizing styrofoam boxes that we repurposed. On this photo the camote or sweet potatoes are slowly growing and on the farthest view we got some peppers

xkhae5no9w.jpg

Before

This is the before photo when I prepared first the soil and still deciding what to plant

lbnwjjfzbr.jpg
These are the peppers. Look at their leaves, infested with the little white flying insects not sure what they're called but I'm sure they are pests. The camera didn't show much but the leaves give you a bit of a clue. I am disappointed because I don't know how to get rid of the pests and not sure if my peppers will reach their full potential.
68lh2km3um.jpg
This one has some white spots on its leaves. 😑😶
hzo3sc4fpe.jpg
Later in May we already experience occasional rains and these eggplants are showing some hope
44lb1f7pf4.jpg
A closer look at the sweet potatoes, looking good. I am not sure if they can produce enough roots but we are good consuming the young green tops.
y72lvmkmil.jpg
This box has a squash and lemon grass and anything in excess.
pbwyokgalm.jpg
It's just lovely to see a banana growing in our porch.

Hope you like my garden journal for May. Have a blessed day.

Gus

Sort:  

Congratulations @pastoragus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @macchiata.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To avoid and treat pests, try spraying your plants with a garlic spray. (I have the recipe here.)

For best results, add a tablespoon of neem oil to it.

Works perfect for most pests.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56098.81
ETH 2411.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36