Garden Journal 2019 | Pests!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardenjournal20195 years ago

gardencover.jpg

The summer bug has sure got a good hold of me this year. Most summers I waste it indoors this time around I been enjoying it when I can. As such content has been a bit slower to make on my end which I’m fine with. I’m still around just enjoying what free time I have outside of my cave.

It has been quite a hot summer with lots of rain which is great for knocking down the chances of wildfires here. With that, there also been so many different pests attacking my different plants. It’s almost like everything has its own issue. There is a bit of fun trying to troubleshoot if it’s something I’m not doing correctly or if I’m missing signs of something else going on.

That is why I have been enjoying gardening so much. I always do it more from a trial and error method to see how things go. Only researching information if I feel stumped and I’ve been unable to solve the issue for a while.

Beefsteak Tomato

BeefsteakTomato.jpg

This is the first year I’m now concerned about highest restrictions from where I’m growing everything. I’m also now committed since it’s too big to get it out of the door. I’ve taken a second tomato cage flipped it upside down and connected it to the other one.

There also comes a point where I’ll need to get a ladder to even get any of the tomatoes if this keeps up as it has been. I might have to resort to pruning the top off. Really not much left I can do. Hopefully I’m quite near how tall it’s supposed to grow. If not maybe I’ve got a beanstalk on my hands and I’ll be crawling up it into the sky!

As far as trying to move it outdoors before it got to this point so many different things would have just eaten and attacked it. For my area, this is my best solution. Maybe another year I’ll consider building out an actual area to expand into. With a proper fence around it and other stuff.

The whitefly infestation that I have been battling since late spring I have finally feel like I’ve gotten under control. I’m not finding eggs anymore in the soil and very few if any these days flying around when I give it a gentle shake after a heavy rainstorm to help it try out.

A number of them have split from all the rain we have gotten. I just cut around that part just in case there is any mold or other stuff. I did have to toss one out due to that being the case. Otherwise, I’ve enjoyed about a dozen Beefsteak tomatoes now.

Tobacco Pepper And Jalapeno

TobaccoPepper.jpg

This is the one that kicked my butt a few nights ago. A number of them are starting to turn red and so I gave one a try. For whatever reason, it swelled up my lips and was worse than a jalapeno. According to its own tag it’s just supposed to be “medium” heat. I’m going to try waiting for them to mature more before trying another one and being more careful when preparing it.

It was great on a homemade pizza. I still have plans to turn it into some kind of hot sauce at some point. Perhaps that will be a better former I can consume it in. While I like a little heat I’m more of a medium less or kind of person. This was not that.

If all else fails there got to be 50 of these pepper by now and I’ll just trade it locally with others for something I can use. It’s always nice to get out into the community anyways and see what others are doing.

As far as my jalapeno plant itself since it’s outside of the area I’m keeping everything else in. Something came up and took a giant bite out of it. It has not recovered since and it’s been dead looking for weeks now. It is its second year so if I got anything out of it I would be happy. Something else enjoyed the single jalapeno growing on it. Best of luck whatever it was I’m sure it was hot!

Scallion Onion

Overnight it went from being a perfect and healthy plant to caterpillars eating the entire thing. The thing was so fat it could not even move and it was no longer green. This happened a couple of weeks back and sadly I’m not seeing any new growth coming out of this plant.

Caterpillars have been massive issues this season for me. I have no clue how they getting in and they seem to have a taste for all my different herbs. Every time I find one it gets sent for a trip to the landfill. So I at least know it’s not the same one over and over. There is an entire frost for them to eat. Get out of my garden!!!!

I had plans to use it in a dip with some sour cream and other ingredients. I’m not sure if I’m going to replace it or just count my losses. I do have a least a bunching onion that seems to be getting close to me transplanting it out of my starting tray. I’ve had some failure on them even getting that far. Perhaps I’ll see the full damage of the other onion and replace it with that one.

Red And Green Bell Peppers

bellpeppers.jpg

These have not grown much in height from the start. I thought it was all kinds of different issues. I thought at first I had overcrowding issues so I removed some of the flowers. After that, I kept finding caterpillars so I thought I finally found the culprit. I was wrong.

ANTS!!!! If I recall one of my followers said it looked like one of my plants was suffering from ants. Well, it turns out my pepper has an entire colony that now crawls all over my bell pepper. I have been waging war with these invaders and they seem quite resilient in wanting to stick around.

On the plus side, I’ve pulled 3 small bell peppers from these two plants. Over the weekend another one will get consumed in some Hamburger Hobo cooked on the grill. I just hope when I cut one open I don’t find a reason to toss it out. I hate seeing these very fresh and amazing tasting things not get used.

Parsley

Parsley.jpg

While I have quite a few herbs growing parsley has been the one I’ve been using the most. I have just been trimming from the outside moving inward first. I frankly can’t keep up with it. It has just been nice to toss it onto whatever. Not to mention it smell is amazing.

For whatever reason Black Widow spiders seem to also love my parsley as well trying to make a home near the plant and creating a web to it. As close as I’ve looked at this herb I have no idea why they want this and a couple of others.

I’ve had about two weeks being free of them and last night I noticed a new web forming. I can only suspect another one is back to do who knows what to the parsley! The caterpillars and all other stuff I can get used to dealing with. These things I’m not a fan of.

Final Thoughts

bloom.jpg

I hope everyone’s gardens are going great. I have other herbs, starting trays and whatnot going even this far into the season. These where just the ones I felt like including this time around. Over the weekend I should be getting more planters and maybe picking up a starter or two at a discount if anything catches my eyes.

Despite the entire thing that seems to be attack everything I’m growing I’ve had a lot of fun. Having more space to grow a thing, in general, is going be on my list of things I want the next time I relocate. It’s just nice knowing I’m eating stuff I was able to grow. I would like to grow more of it and hopefully not have an entire forest of stuff try and eat it.

I still have not found a mortar and pestle I liked for preparing a few of my herbs into dressing, oils, and pesto. This is still on my plans to get around to. Some of the herbs I know are getting a bit out of control.

Have a great weekend! That final photo is of a plant I’ve not seen bloom in two years. Forget what it’s called I shard it the other week on twitter. Cheer.

Information

Photos were taken and content was written by @Enjar.

phc.png

Sort:  

It seems to me like pests come in waves. Just when you think you've got one thing under control, the something else steps in!

Posted using Partiko Android

I had that issue last year when I'd let my guard down thinking I won they regroup and come back in force. Now I know to be a little more proactive and keep going even weeks after I think they are done.

For caterpillars Bt is really the way to go assuming you are fine with killing the caterpillars (which it sounds like you are doing when you find them anyway) (https://www.planetnatural.com/bacillus-thuringiensis/) . Bt is a bacteria that kills caterpillars but is harmless to birds, fish and mammals, it is organic/natural so not really like spraying a conventional chemical pesticide. I used it on my marijuana plants and it totally took care of caterpillar problem.

All caterpillars I find go to the landfill. I can only assume they arrive alive and have an amazing adventure afterwards. One day they are getting fat in my garden the next they are captured in a net and place in a bin for a drive!

Thanks for sharing your solution. If they start to become bigger issue than they are I’ll consider changing my warfare tactics. For now its ants!!!!

I been thinking about looking deeper into Diatomaceous Earth.

diatomaceous earth is pretty effective but is indiscriminate killer of invertebrates. Bt is much more targeted, particular strains of the bacterium are effective against particular insects. You can buy Bt strains at gardening stores that will kill caterpillars and almost nothing else.

That tomato is insane. I think it is going to ketchup to the trees.

Haha that is. I just hope it stops around 10 feet. that part of the screen use to have a hole up there but its all been replace so I rather not have to risk that happening.

Lol, that hurts...

Kudos to you for keeping at it even through all the pest invasions! I like your attitude and hope you do get some more growing space to expand your edevers!
Where abouts do you garden that you have black widow spiders? Luckily we have no venomous spiders or snakes where I live in Saskatchewan Canada.

I use to never see them but they seem to be coming more and more into the area-- US, Florida. We got a few deadly things down here that I’m not a fan of! At least we do have longer grow season than most.

Have a great weekend :)

OMG! That is a monstrous tomato plant LOL!

Maybe you got some Carolina Reapers that were mis-labeled LOL

Maybe you got some Carolina Reapers that were mis-labeled

That would be funny but sadly no they don't have the tail!

Container gardening is always a neat idea. Your crops are looking bountiful.

Thanks, they present interesting issues but also the ability to move most of them if I need to without uprooting.

I do like a bit of gardening, and eating home grown is great

I had no idea how much better tasting home grown was until last year when I compared some things side by side and realized store bought had a very muted flavor.

Talk about 'jack and the beanstalk', that tomato has it's own idea of growth.

Enjoy what grows even more when you battle the elements @enjar

Thanks, I might have to battle with the tomato soon enough if it keeps growing like it has been!

Great update, @enjar. I wanted to do my own update before I published the new Garden Journal Challenge, but now I think I will do the contest post first. Will try to get it up this weekend.

That tomato plant is huge; Just the thought of having to use a ladder to get to your tomatoes is hilarious. If I were you, i would be pruning the top off, so all the plant's energy will go to the tomatoes instead of plant growth.

Sorry to hear about the pests you have been dealing with. I know all about it. It seems like this year, it's one thing after another in my garden.
Ants are the worst. I really went to war against them, and had to use every organic trick in the book to get them out of my greenhouse beds. I think they just had enough of the constant attacks at one point and moved. Or maybe my final attempt using lemon just worked. Anyway, they seem to be gone.. for now.

How did you get the white flies under control? It's not that bad yet, but I noticed a couple on my tobacco plants yesterday (I'm growing those as indicator- and trap plants), so I will need to take action soon. All tips are welcome

How did you get the white flies under control?

My garden is not organic so I just used a random spray in the store as one of my layers of defense and offence. Along with picking their eggs out of the dirt and washing them off the bottom of leaves when I could find them. I would also just remove leaves that had a lot. A yellow colored sticky trap did a little but not a lot. More or less everything I can short of getting a flamethrower!

They can be nasty. Last year I dealt with them for most of the season and best I could do was knock down the population and they would return. Even if I think it’s under controlled or dealt with I assume I missed some and keep checking for weeks.

The issue is the eggs, the young, and the adults tend to be resistant to different things and tricks. Most times a couple of eggs I would have missed or one or two would have escaped Than a few weeks later they would pop up again.

I hope you find something that works. Have a great weekend!

Thanks for the tips.

I use the yellow sticky traps mostly as an indicator to see what's flying around in the greenhouse. It's a lot, lol! (Not that I can identify that many species - at least, white flies are white, lol.)

I'm trying to figure out what the fluorescent orange spots on some plants' leaves are. I don't know if they are eggs or some sort of weird fungus - I guess I should take my magnifying glass to investigate properly... There's always something new to learn in the garden ;0)

I also wanted to let you know that I've managed to get the July edition of the SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge up, and like to invite you to drop a link to this post in the comments section to enter.

Could be eggs. The whitefly eggs I get are more opaque white but that could be just for my area.

I'll be sure to join. Thanks for hosting it monthly!

Hi @enjar!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.321 which ranks you at #770 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 10 places in the last three days (old rank 760).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 116 contributions, your post is ranked at #17.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57387.61
ETH 2518.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31