You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Garden Journal 2019 | Pests!

For caterpillars Bt is really the way to go assuming you are fine with killing the caterpillars (which it sounds like you are doing when you find them anyway) (https://www.planetnatural.com/bacillus-thuringiensis/) . Bt is a bacteria that kills caterpillars but is harmless to birds, fish and mammals, it is organic/natural so not really like spraying a conventional chemical pesticide. I used it on my marijuana plants and it totally took care of caterpillar problem.

Sort:  

All caterpillars I find go to the landfill. I can only assume they arrive alive and have an amazing adventure afterwards. One day they are getting fat in my garden the next they are captured in a net and place in a bin for a drive!

Thanks for sharing your solution. If they start to become bigger issue than they are I’ll consider changing my warfare tactics. For now its ants!!!!

I been thinking about looking deeper into Diatomaceous Earth.

diatomaceous earth is pretty effective but is indiscriminate killer of invertebrates. Bt is much more targeted, particular strains of the bacterium are effective against particular insects. You can buy Bt strains at gardening stores that will kill caterpillars and almost nothing else.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39