You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Garden Journal 2019 | Pests!

Great update, @enjar. I wanted to do my own update before I published the new Garden Journal Challenge, but now I think I will do the contest post first. Will try to get it up this weekend.

That tomato plant is huge; Just the thought of having to use a ladder to get to your tomatoes is hilarious. If I were you, i would be pruning the top off, so all the plant's energy will go to the tomatoes instead of plant growth.

Sorry to hear about the pests you have been dealing with. I know all about it. It seems like this year, it's one thing after another in my garden.
Ants are the worst. I really went to war against them, and had to use every organic trick in the book to get them out of my greenhouse beds. I think they just had enough of the constant attacks at one point and moved. Or maybe my final attempt using lemon just worked. Anyway, they seem to be gone.. for now.

How did you get the white flies under control? It's not that bad yet, but I noticed a couple on my tobacco plants yesterday (I'm growing those as indicator- and trap plants), so I will need to take action soon. All tips are welcome

Sort:  

How did you get the white flies under control?

My garden is not organic so I just used a random spray in the store as one of my layers of defense and offence. Along with picking their eggs out of the dirt and washing them off the bottom of leaves when I could find them. I would also just remove leaves that had a lot. A yellow colored sticky trap did a little but not a lot. More or less everything I can short of getting a flamethrower!

They can be nasty. Last year I dealt with them for most of the season and best I could do was knock down the population and they would return. Even if I think it’s under controlled or dealt with I assume I missed some and keep checking for weeks.

The issue is the eggs, the young, and the adults tend to be resistant to different things and tricks. Most times a couple of eggs I would have missed or one or two would have escaped Than a few weeks later they would pop up again.

I hope you find something that works. Have a great weekend!

Thanks for the tips.

I use the yellow sticky traps mostly as an indicator to see what's flying around in the greenhouse. It's a lot, lol! (Not that I can identify that many species - at least, white flies are white, lol.)

I'm trying to figure out what the fluorescent orange spots on some plants' leaves are. I don't know if they are eggs or some sort of weird fungus - I guess I should take my magnifying glass to investigate properly... There's always something new to learn in the garden ;0)

I also wanted to let you know that I've managed to get the July edition of the SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge up, and like to invite you to drop a link to this post in the comments section to enter.

Could be eggs. The whitefly eggs I get are more opaque white but that could be just for my area.

I'll be sure to join. Thanks for hosting it monthly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39