You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nomad Garden Journal - October

Wow, what an impressive garden. And you still got so much going on. I'm really jealous now, lol. My garden is as good as empty, except for the cabbages, the root vegetables and a couple of sweet pepper plants. Everything else was killed by a mysterious, but contagious pest. So my season ended earlier than expected.

That radicchhio and those cardo stems intrigue me. I have a thing for veggies and fruits I'm not familiar with. Now, I'm not such a fan of endives, so the radicchhio is probably not a very good idea... I couldn't find anything about cardo. I'm guessing it's Spanish or Italian for 'cardoon' or 'artichoke thistle'. I never heard of it before, so I've put it on my wishlist for next year. I've already got Jerusalem artichoke and Chinese artichoke, so I think it might be a good idea to start collecting more kinds of artichokes.

Thanks for your entry, and even more for introducing me to new veggies to experiment with.

Sort:  

sad to hear that! yes it's pretty amazing this year, i even forgot to share the basil with 6 cm long juicy leaves! In mid october outdoor!
I am not too familiar with the "cardo" myself I must admit - and yes I just shared the Italian word as that's how i know it! We just ate it once and it was pretty mild the taste... It takes up quite a lot of space for what we've used it, but it was also just an experiment of Roberto's mother..
I really love the radicchio, but it's quite bitter raw. They use it a lot here, for salads, on pizza, and also cooked in risotto, in stir fries and the like. It's nice because it's a late season - into winter - fresh crop.
But if you don't like endives, it might not be the best choice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54