The Land, The Plot, The Bed and The Plan A four part series on land development-Part 3 The BedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

The Land, The Plot, The Bed and The Plan
A four part series on land development

In July of 2017, I took out a long term lease on a piece of land which needs some prudent management. It has been in my family for over 60 years, during which little care was taken into account for the long term development.

I have already started some work on restoration, reclamation and development of access ways, gardens, grazing areas and hydrologics.

This is a four part blog on the development plan and techniques I am using for the improvement of the property.

Some parts will be dry and technical, but a basic understanding of the process for is necessary a person to apply or modify such techniques on their own property.

link to part 1 of 4
https://steemit.com/permaculture/@torquewrench1969/the-land-the-plot-the-bed-and-the-plan-a-four-part-series-on-land-development

Link to Part 2 of 4
https://steemit.com/gardening/@torquewrench1969/the-land-the-plot-the-bed-and-the-plan-a-four-part-series-on-land-development-part-2-the-plot

The Bed:

Caution: This will be an extremely long post.

Warning: This type of bed is not necessarily needed or appropriate for all environments, soils, personal goals, production goals or beauty.

1.jpg

When I go to make a planting bed, I try to think of the soil as a sponge. The climate in my area makes conservation and management of water a priority of utmost importance.

Many of the soils I work have also been depleted of organic matter (which holds water) and it needs to be replenished for the long term success of the land.

I use a BCS tractor with a rotary plow for making my beds, though it could be done by hand in some soils and massive manpower would be needed.

The structure of the bed maximizes water retention and soil nutrition, whilst allowing the roots of the plant room to grow.

When completed, these beds only need to be reformed every other year, reducing long term manpower.
Here are the videos on how I build my beds (2 videos total run time approximately 24 min):

Part 1

Part 2

Once you have determined the orientation of your bed, you will use the rotary plow to dig a trench:

First Pass.jpg
FIRST PASS

Second Pass.jpg
SECOND PASS

Third Pass.jpg
THIRD PASS

Fourth Pass.jpg

At this point, broadfork the bottom of the trench every 12-16 inches. This will help aerate the soil and allow for deeper infiltration of water, bacteria and fungi.

Fill the trench with bio mass.
Fill.jpg

This biomass will increase the water holding capacity, while adding food for soil microbes, bacteria, microarthropods, fungi and many other soil fauna.

Bury the trench back in:

Fifth Pass.jpg
FIFTH PASS

Sixth Pass.jpg
SIXTH PASS

Seventh Pass.jpg
SEVENTH PASS

Eighth Pass.jpg
EIGHTH PASS

Ninth Pass.jpg
NINTH PASS

tenth Pass.jpg
TENTH PASS

Repeat these steps until you have the quantity of beds you need.

Topdress the beds with compost:

Compost.jpg
COMPOST

Mulch areas between beds:

Done.jpg
DONE

If making beds beds for immediate use (less than two weeks from planting), harrow and plant the beds.

If making beds for later use (over two weeks), cover beds with cellulose, plastic or silage tarps. This will allow weed seeds to germinate then die due to lack of sun.

As much of the land I work is fairly compacted, I generally have to use 10-12 passes with the BCS tractor to produce a respectable bed. Some soils will only require four passes and others may require much more.
Please feel free to ask questions!

End of Part 3

Note: All proceeds from this blog go to land restoration and agricultural development!!

Sort:  

I was so excited to see this post. Now I have to go back and read the others. I'm a huge fan of good land stewardship. I just finished up with some permaculture classes. I sure wish I had a lot of this knowledge when I first bought my land. I would have made wiser decisions. The importance of biomass can not be stated enough. I'm very impressed with the work you are doing! Here's to part 4.

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Wow, that looks like a lot of work there.

I have little soil here as I am on a mountainside so I largely have to use raised beds. Once I have them established I have been experimenting with the no-dig method put forward by for example Charles Dowding :

It's really not as hard as one would think.

If I have all the materials on hand(compost, mulch, tarps, etc), it only takes me about 4 hours to make 300 feet of bed.

Dowdings work is awesome!

Looks like you have pretty good soil there. Presumably quite free of rocks?

Almost rock-free. When I run across rocks (which is rare) its almost always sandstone. Generally its thumbnail size, but occasionally I've come across some large cut stone on old homesteads.

This reminds me of the story I learned in grade school. Squanto teaching the pilgrims to plant corn with a fish.

More similar than you think!

The biomass provides long term, slow release plant nutrition.

Squantos fish were providing short term, quick release nutrition.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @torquewrench1969 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53