You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Land, The Plot, The Bed and The Plan A four part series on land development-Part 3 The Bed

in #gardening7 years ago

Wow, that looks like a lot of work there.

I have little soil here as I am on a mountainside so I largely have to use raised beds. Once I have them established I have been experimenting with the no-dig method put forward by for example Charles Dowding :

Sort:  

It's really not as hard as one would think.

If I have all the materials on hand(compost, mulch, tarps, etc), it only takes me about 4 hours to make 300 feet of bed.

Dowdings work is awesome!

Looks like you have pretty good soil there. Presumably quite free of rocks?

Almost rock-free. When I run across rocks (which is rare) its almost always sandstone. Generally its thumbnail size, but occasionally I've come across some large cut stone on old homesteads.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54