Love goes where my Rosemary grows!

in #gardening6 years ago

Two years.... two years I had that herb growing in a pot; a red pot I might add, my favourite colour, and then I transplanted it!

The roots were long and the stalk thick and woody; she was doing so well

photo © Heather Johnsgaard
The previous winter I had overwintered a number of geraniums in my living room along with several herbs, Rosemary being my favourite.

Winter at our house practically consists of us wringing out our shorts from sweat due to the tropical temperatures inside, the result of our efficient Pacific Energy wood stove.

Rosemary survived the heat and the winter, while all the geraniums, save for one or two, shrivelled up into leafless stalks akin to deformed Charlie Brown Christmas trees. They were pathetic and I was disgusted.

Rosemary’s savoury stalks had always flavoured my meatless shepherd's pie, nourishing us throughout the cold months; paired with home grown potatoes and carrots, nothing could compare to this hearty dish, and she had been generous.

Spring arrived and Rosemary, in her little red pot, found herself outside, flourishing like nobody's business as she spread her arms and absorbed the rays of sun and drank the droplets of rain. I was so proud!

photo © Heather Johnsgaard
When Fall arrived I knew Rosemary must come inside along with her ever growing circle of sweet and savoury herb friends... but I’d be darned if I was going to have a multitude of pots crowding my window ledge, I had had enough of that last year.

Determined to have less watering duties but still having these savouries close at hand, I found four ledge pots, two smaller and two larger, the perfect solution for my needs.

Filling the drainage holes in the larger pots with silicone to seal them up, I proceeded to place the smaller pots inside and planted four plants in each then filled them with top grade soil; they were good to go. I had two plant pots to water throughout winter instead of the dozen or so of the previous year. Bonus!

photo © Heather Johnsgaard
Now here we are, less than two months later, November, and I have killed Rosemary and three of her associates. No more fresh savoury Rosemary to enhance the taste of my food, dried store bought herbs it shall be, oh the shame.

Notwithstanding I had crowded four different plants per pot, I can only assume my faux pas had to do with Rosemary's size; trying to cram her extra long feet into a pretty short pot, our extreme in-house temperatures and, I suspect, not enough day light hours mingled with cloudy days....

or maybe she just missed her little red pot

photo © Heather Johnsgaard
On impulse, I purchased a grow light. The use of a tension rod positioned between the window frame allowed me to hang the light from it. The best feature is that I can easily adjust the height of the light from the plants by raising or lowering the chains. Here's hoping my efforts will pay off and these survivors of the aromatic plant world will thrive.

Now to track down some herb seeds since I cannot get established plants anywhere around here at this time of year, let alone in the spring.... and I have to wonder, does anybody ever grow an indoor herb garden any more?

*********************************************

See my needle arts

See my artsy endeavours

Purchase my colouring book pages

Sort:  

I have a geranium, Attar of Roses, I've had in the house for 10 years. It now has 2 daughter plants and all 3 of them need frequent pruning to keep them at 18" diameter...

Attar of Roses geranium crop Dec. 2015.jpg

I bring in rosemary from the herb garden each year. One year I kept one alive for 3 years! But mostly they die. I don't have a photo of this year's 2, but this was last year's, until it died...

Rosemary in office crop March 2017.jpg

Both of these are in the south window of my office. I have extensive grow lights, but only use them for specials like ginger or bay laurel, out of season. During the growing season March - June I have up to 20 4' lights over seedlings in my house's windows.

Beautiful @goldenoakfarm!

I usually have a pretty good green thumb, but we keep the house so hot in winter which dries out the soil drastically and I get tired of the watering. the inconvenience of having to get a ladder out to reach the majority, the mess of dried up leaves and constant pruning, it just doesn't warrant me trying any more as I would much rather choose winter for my arts and leave the gardening for summer, lol. One or two pots on the window ledge is okay, but....

I recently purchased a tower garden so I will relay my experiences with that... I fear I will be constantly filling it with water though.

Thanks for stopping by and your contribution!

We have wood heat, when the passive solar isn't working, and that dries stuff out hugely!

I only water twice a month, on the 1st and 15th, if they are lucky. I use cache pots for them all, or humidity trays. If they can't survive that treatment, oh, well...

But amazingly well over 75 plants in this house do survive it, some of them for 40 years. :))

I absolutely love wood heat and could never live without it, and our house is very dry because of it, can’t have everything I guess.

I used to water more often than you, but it is still not enough it seems. That’s fantastic you have had plants last that long.

This one, the jade on the right is definitely 44 years old:

Windows - Greenhouse finished1 July 07.jpg

And this spider is pretty close:

Finished - Living room26 crop Oct. 07.jpg

Both are so stunningly beautiful, thank you for taking the time to show them to me! 💕💕

so sad to hear about your rosemary, perhaps it wasn't because you loves to take her stalks too often @thistle-rock, LOL.. well, not too many indoor herb garden around my neighborhood and I've never tried any. I like your geranium though ... and I have featured you in the pay it forward contest this week, here is my entry if you want to read it Entry to the Pay It Forward Contest Week 34

Thanks for sharing and I'll follow you to see your #needleworkmonday because I like to enjoy beautiful creative things handmade from that tag. Wish you continued Success!

Thank you @cicisaja

Gardening is always trial and error when you make changes, but it is always a fun learning experience.

Thank you for the “pay it forward”, I am going to check it out, and thank you for following me.

I hope to show several of the needleworks I do beside the quilting blocks and I hope you enjoy them all.

Have a splendid day.

I enjoy reading your posts because you have something really different from my culture and habit. I like to know more about other stories from other part of the world.

Thank you @cicisaja. What would we do without the internet which has brought the world around us closer!

I'm sad to hear the plants didn't survive the move...

PS: I've found your post after @cicisaja featured you in her entry for the Pay It forward Contest

Good post, keep up the good work!

aah.. you almost beat me @trincowski, I should've cehck on yours too, Thanks!

Ihihihiihihi! :-)

Thank you @trincowski. Not so bad about the plant, I will grow another.

Thank you for following the link to me, I too am going to check it out.

Hoping you enjoy my past and future posts.

Congratulations @thistle-rock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

A great and fun article! Thanks for sharing about your horticultural experiences.

Great post! I found you thanks to @cicisaja's Pay it Forward Curation contest entry this week. Keep up the great work!

Awww... thank you so much @viking-ventures, I have so many topics to talk about I hope my works appeal to many. I look forward to creating more.

Thanks so much for visiting 😊

.... and thanks again to @cicisaja 😊

found your blog and i must agree rosemary is soooo nice. I saw some needlework too maybe you want to join #needleworkmonday there is even a dicord group off needles, keep steeming
gr
Britt

Thank you @brittandjosie, I am glad you happened upon me. 😊

I did join the #needleworkmonday with my quilt block tutorial, and I joined the discord group, I'm still just floating around in there though until I know what I am doing, lol.

Thank you so much for visiting.

Ohhh the quilt was yours !!!!! Greattttt
And lurking around is ok and if you need help let me know ! Or Theo munitie so mamy lovely ladies and...... 2 men I believe 😉😉

LOL, yes, the quilt was mine 😊

Thanks for the offer of help, I may need it, that black screen scares me and the red blingy numbers that means there is something I need to pay attention to freaks me out! LOL

I understand so I am here if you need me

Thank you 💕

Nice post @thistle-rock!

Notwithstanding I had crowded four different plants per pot, I can only assume my faux pas had to do with Rosemary's size; trying to cram her extra long feet into a pretty short pot, our extreme in-house temperatures and, I suspect, not enough day light hours mingled with cloudy days....”

Like you, we’ve had our challenges with trying to keep a bunch of different plants equally “happy” in our home. It is certainly not a trivial task, as they each seem to need their own “special touch” or else …

Dropping by to support your post, after @cicisaja featured it in our weekly @pifc community contest.

It certainly is a challenge! I love gardening, I am not always successful though, as we can't control what Mother Nature has intended, but I keep trying. Throw in lack of time with every day life, we can only strive for our best efforts.

Thanks so much for stopping by @roleerob, love having the support.

Yes @thistle-rock

”Throw in lack of time with every day life …”

… with our rich diversity, we all share in common the same “fixed constants” – 24 / 7 / 365. And, like you, continuously challenged to invest it wisely and well …

Keep up the great work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60165.60
ETH 2421.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44