You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Love goes where my Rosemary grows!

in #gardening6 years ago

I have a geranium, Attar of Roses, I've had in the house for 10 years. It now has 2 daughter plants and all 3 of them need frequent pruning to keep them at 18" diameter...

Attar of Roses geranium crop Dec. 2015.jpg

I bring in rosemary from the herb garden each year. One year I kept one alive for 3 years! But mostly they die. I don't have a photo of this year's 2, but this was last year's, until it died...

Rosemary in office crop March 2017.jpg

Both of these are in the south window of my office. I have extensive grow lights, but only use them for specials like ginger or bay laurel, out of season. During the growing season March - June I have up to 20 4' lights over seedlings in my house's windows.

Sort:  

Beautiful @goldenoakfarm!

I usually have a pretty good green thumb, but we keep the house so hot in winter which dries out the soil drastically and I get tired of the watering. the inconvenience of having to get a ladder out to reach the majority, the mess of dried up leaves and constant pruning, it just doesn't warrant me trying any more as I would much rather choose winter for my arts and leave the gardening for summer, lol. One or two pots on the window ledge is okay, but....

I recently purchased a tower garden so I will relay my experiences with that... I fear I will be constantly filling it with water though.

Thanks for stopping by and your contribution!

We have wood heat, when the passive solar isn't working, and that dries stuff out hugely!

I only water twice a month, on the 1st and 15th, if they are lucky. I use cache pots for them all, or humidity trays. If they can't survive that treatment, oh, well...

But amazingly well over 75 plants in this house do survive it, some of them for 40 years. :))

I absolutely love wood heat and could never live without it, and our house is very dry because of it, can’t have everything I guess.

I used to water more often than you, but it is still not enough it seems. That’s fantastic you have had plants last that long.

This one, the jade on the right is definitely 44 years old:

Windows - Greenhouse finished1 July 07.jpg

And this spider is pretty close:

Finished - Living room26 crop Oct. 07.jpg

Both are so stunningly beautiful, thank you for taking the time to show them to me! 💕💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67494.82
ETH 2610.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72