A Little Garden Remodel

in #gardening6 years ago

I think I'm just a weekday steemian. Weekends I find I'm just too busy to actually post anything!

Anyway...

Slowly but surely I'm making my yard a better place!

This was my latest project area.

IMG_3248.JPG

It was overgrown, the original rocks and wooden frame that were there when we bought the place were mostly gone.

IMG_3249.JPG

I added in hostas and creeping Virginia to the existing ground elder a while back but hadn't really done much with the space.

This year I decided enough was enough! I ripped out the grass in front, pulled out the old rotten wood from the frame and pulled all the weeds and grass roots.

Check out this ground elder growing through a piece of wood! LoL

IMG_3281.JPG

Then I took a trip to the greenhouse for some new plants!

IMG_3278.JPG

I got lupines, which are one of my favourites, that I've tried to start from seed every year since buying our house with no success. This time it will have to work!!! LoL

IMG_3340.JPG

These beautiful Daisies have a shaggy look to them and should be quite stunning once they open!

IMG_3335.JPG

This beautiful little plant adds a touch contrast too! And I also got some hens and chicks!

IMG_3341.JPG

IMG_3336.JPG

I moved around some of the existing ground elder, which is crazy invasive, so that it will fill out the space in the next year or two.

IMG_3288.JPG

Then I added some red mulch!

IMG_3342.JPG

I love the red against the green in this space! I think it looks fantastic now!! ❤️

IMG_3334.JPG

I still have some disaster areas in my yard but I'll get to them soon as well :)

It will be sad to sell it now though, all the work and love I've put into it will be enjoyed by the new owner! Hopefully I'll get my dream farm right away though so it will be bitter sweet!

Take care Steemians!!

~The NeoHippy

For more garden articles, check these out! ❤️

https://steemit.com/garden/@theneohippy/side-bed

https://steemit.com/garden/@theneohippy/home-garden-update

https://steemit.com/garden/@theneohippy/out-of-town-update-3

https://steemit.com/gardening/@theneohippy/5jq1nw-tomato-update

Sort:  

Awww, I can imagine how lucky the next occupant will be. That's a lot of work there and it's all for the beauty of the planet.

Thank you! It will be bitter sweet for sure! ❤️

You are such a garden hippy ! lol

Haha thank you! Guilty! 😆

Thanks for sharing your gardening experience. I'll look forward to your pics of this spot in a couple of months after the plants have filled in the space.

Hopefully, when I get some extra time, I'll read through some of your other articles, also.

Thank you! It really spruced up the area :)

I hear you about the time! It's hard to keep the posts coming let alone checking out other people's stuff! LoL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67