PRICKLY PEAR Growing WILD

in #gardening5 years ago

I started this Prickly Pear Cactus last Spring from one pad. It added a few pads last Summer and it has added more already this Spring. Looking more like a small tree.

20190622_085540.jpg

DSCN0023.JPG
What it looked like last Spring

I took a couple pads from the Prickly Pears growing in the South Jamesport cemetery. Just transplanted this one in the below picture after it started to grow some pads. I know these things can get out of hand but they are unique to me so I will let them :-)

20190622_085606.jpg

20190622_085532.jpg

Starting my own little Cactus patch...

johnny-automatic-leaf-border.png

Sort:  

Where I live, these are very common in fact they are almost every where, trust me, by time it will be hard to get rid of them, then trying to cultivate them. Technically if you just trow it on the ground as a leaf it will grow, (every prickle is an opening for a root). But any way good luck and don't forget to cut some of the leaves (when it grows into a tree) to let it grow higher instead of taking the ground.

Thanks hilo ..uncommon up here but I see it can easily become a pest.

Yeah, but the important is to take care of it, if you don't let spread then its a nice plant to have, also does that produce fruits?

Not yet.. They have a lovely large yellow flower. Maybe next year... :-)

I think it will take longer, since the bottom part of the leaves must first grow into a log like form, then it can sustain its self.

WOw its sure is coming along well I am impressed how much t had grown already

They sure grow fast:-)

Congratulations @manorvillemike! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Wow .. that looks soo cool .. I want to try it to next time I plan something with my wife to grow ;) .. I really like your blog .. nature and cats !! .. I am going to follow you and hope to see more nice content ^^

My cactus in the workplace in the office

20190625_060640017_iOS.jpg

Nice, look but don't touch :-)

Oh, yeah 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

They are a fascinating plant. Thanks for posting!

Rare here by me... Thanks :-)

This is really cool! Prickly pear is the only cactus, I think, that’s native to my area. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one nearby, growing wild, but apparently they exist, and I’m always on the look out!

Same here.. they are around, just have to know where to look.. Sandy dry, well drained spots...:-)

I remember when you posted these awesome prickly pears. They sure have grown. : )

They grow fast.. Maybe I can sell them as a novelty here. Use grow lights and heat pads in the winter... :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64187.97
ETH 3476.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49