How I Grew 180lbs Of Fresh Food In 16 Square Feet

in #gardening8 years ago

I grew 100 lbs of fish and 80 lbs of vegetables in 16 square feet!

I lived in Cancun, in a 3 bedroom house with no yard, or not the size yard you would expect around a house that size. More like a cement patio the size of trampoline, if a trampoline was square.

Being so close to the beach made the soil sandy, horrible for growing veggies. I bought bagged soil, used half barrels to grow as much as I could. I managed to grow quite a bit of food in those barrels, to my surprise, and the house was soon surrounded with vegetables growing in every direction.

Neighbors loved it, said it reminded them of their mom, granddad or aunt, and they always had a story to share about someone.

I was running out of gardening space and then discovered aquaponics.

imag0702.jpg

Aquaponics combines aquaculture with hydroponics.

Wikipedia defines aquaponics as:

any combination of aquaculture (raising fish) and hydroponics (the soil-less growing of plants) that grows fish and plants together in one integrated system

Little did I know, that it would end up producing 100 pounds of fish and 80 pounds of vegetables in a 4' by 4' area. That's just 16 square feet.

Basil grew bigger than I've ever seen or thought possible. I was making so much pesto and giving basil away to my coworkers.



This my YouTube video of the aquaponics system that I built right after I planted it and stocked it with

Here's the best part. Once the system was set up there was;

No dirt, No fertilizer, No sprays, No chemicals.

And if thats not enough to convince you to try it, the food tasted great and it only uses 5% of the water of conventional farming.

All I had to buy was fish food and they can eat lettuce scraps too, they loved it.

I just wanted to share this with people who would like to grow their own food but don't have much space to grow in. If there's a will, there's a way. You could do this in a small yard.

I even met a guy that raised lobsters in his backyard. Imagine that! Homegrown lobsters.

When my friends came over, they always wanted to see the fish. They ask me if I named them and I'd say, "Yes, they're named, Fish and Chips, and this one's Basil and Garlic, and that one over there is Wasabi Ginger. I named them after the meal I made in their honours, it's the least I can do.

If you're interested in more about aquaponics, there's many YouTube videos showing all about it My favorite was Murray Hallam, on YouTube. I bought and online course he sold for $10 and learned a lot .I just wanted to show you my set up. Hope you enjoyed it.


Thanks for reading my post and Steem On. Follow @luzcypher

franktoccoheadshot.jpg
🆙

Sort:  

This Is Cool
Aquaponics Will Continue To Grow
Steemon!
^upvoted!

Simply Amazing. This deserves an Up vote for sure, You got my follow as well. As well as anyone who agrees that this was a awesome thing to witness. Thanks for sharing you experience.

@sirlunchalot Thanks for the kind words , for reading my post and the follow and upvote. Much appreciated

Fantastic technology that has been around for awhile...this will become mainstream and common after the collapse. Great post!

I believe it becoming more popular

Wow, you continue to amaze me! Last year we grew food in the winter (we live in Canada) in a greenhouse heated by a wood stove. It was pretty inefficient. We are looking into aquaponics as a solution to winter growing!

Aquaponics would work well in a greenhouse. I dont know if it would produce as much food as what i got. Cancun weather is so sunny and warm that everthing grows fast. I'm trying an aquaponics set up here now and we're doing it in a coldframe. We'll see how it goes. I definitely recommend growing tilapia though, as they are tough fish that can withstand a wide range of temperature fluctuations. Have you ever eaten tilapia?

Thank you for the tips, we are going to be doing it in our basement if we do this, our temps can get to -15 C sometimes in the winter here. I have tried tilapia, yes, very tasty! Even tastier if it was #homemade :)

Nice, love this post thanks for sharing.

THIS IS SOOOOO ON MY TO-DO LIST.

Also, Here are the entries for the Tattoo Story Contest, please let me know what your top picks are.

Let me know your top 3 in the next day or so. Thanks!

I liked all the tattoos but number 3 as far as the best story goes. Wow, life is amazing

Any other suggestions, I got to come up with the top 3

Yeah, the one with the guy that tattooed his girls name on his chest before he proposed to her, and leviathan

Awesome! I'll let you know soon.

Bravo! Sending this to my husband @chadyo for inspiration. He's been wanting to do this for a while.

Cool, it's pretty easy and you can learn how on YouTube

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60840.29
ETH 2577.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57