Garden Adventures: Cracked Boulders and Volunteer Tomatoes

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Many of the structures in this city are built out of large broken boulders like the one shown here, partially broken but not completely. They use machinery to break them apart then they build all sorts of things with the remaining pieces. This is both a good way to deal with giant boulders often in the middle of construction sites here and a good, sturdy building material. It's also really pretty because of high quartz content.

I noticed this tomato plant a few weeks ago before it even had any fruit literally growing out of a pile of trash. We aren't going to eat these because of that, but it's fascinating because we did NOT plant this.

These flowers are super common both in my garden and in Acapulco. We personally have 4 different colors and there are even more out there than that.

Little walks like this remind me that I do live in a botanical garden of sorts, just much less put together.

I love the boulders that cover these lands and I'm not the only one. Thanks for looking!

Check out some of my other recent posts!
Lily's New Toy: VIP Dabber's Dream Briefcase
Lily's Little Chicken: New House and Needs a Name
Garden Adventures: Lily's Lime Tree and Garden Sunset

Sort:  

Amazing!

Someone once told me that the sewers of Dublin are filled with tomato plants in the spaces where light reaches down. I guess people eat a lot of tomatoes! It's probably the same in most sewer systems.

If that's true then you're probably right. Here in Mexico, the tomato plants are everywhere LOL.

He he, eek, what does that mean! lol

Nature and its beauti. Those stones are probably a good radiation shield too, because of the quartz :-)

Hadn't thought of that part.

Pretty photos as usual-- I guess these boulders are just native stone to the area? Were they originally used to build some large native monuments? Don't know much about the Acapulco area, in terms of ancient history...

They're used to build houses buildings and big privacy walls and just walls in general. Used all over to this day.

The actual city has only been as big as it is for a little while, where i live is relatively new.

Those boulders are strait out of a fairytale, amazing! Your photos of them are really good too. I like the photos that show the drill hole. Thanks for the post!

Amazing post, as always :)! I adore the photos you took, the unlikely tomatoes and wall of moss stirred something in me... That you understood and appreciated their place here brought a huge grin to my face! The one boulder looks like a human sort of, really cool. Thank you for the enjoyable tour of your botanical garden!

very nice shots which seems a heart touching places. please upvote and follow me i really need help growing on steemit..

wonderful pic.....

Just perfect.. wow :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44