Farm Update: Crazy Hollowed Chicken Mystery Solved!

in #gardening7 years ago


I'll admit I've been avoiding this one...just because its so fucking crazy. It's so crazy, I gotta swear about it. As the hot weather set in we started having a weird chicken issue. Once a day we'd go out to our unique chicken area, that is the chickens that aren't white, to find one of the chickens completely hollowed out, guts gone but the bird left.

Sorry for the graphic photos, but I know this has been so crazy that I have to. So we'd find a bird, usually a docile breed like this black and white one, out there. Sometimes there'd be ants but often not which we found strange, but we just had no idea what was going on.

One day while John was feeding them, he saw it happen first hand. It was cannibalism. They were eating each other through the ass, intestines and all to leave the body to rot. The chicken he rescued was still alive, with half of it's organs missing. We took to the internet and found that this is actually the one of the most common issues among all chicken farmers, including free range.

We took extra lengths for about a week to make sure it wasn't diet related, leaving so much food for them that it was rotting on the ground. The problem resurfaced again one rainy morning and it seemed flockwide. These birds were killed because they were cannibals. It's a genetic trait that is also a social trait, so once it's started it's an issue until all the cannibals are removed. We spent about an hour watching them and killing them as they tried to eat their friends. Finally, it was down to 3 brown birds, one of which played dead and literally showed no interest in the cannabalistic tendancies. I took that one inside, where it's been cuddling with a friend wounded from cannibalism a few days prior. We caught it at just a bad wing wound, so it'll be fine. The other two seemed to decide against cannibalism and there hasn't been an issue since.

We have all sorts of breeds here both fighting and birds for food and eggs. Often times these genetics get mixed and the worst traits carry over. Whatever it was, it probably started with one or two chickens, with the rest of the flock to follow. It hasn't been an issue among our white chickens, just the interesting ones.

It does sound harsh to kill them, at a glance it does. But they were habitually eating their friends, ignoring other food options. Had any of them survived, I'm not sure I want cannibalistic traits to stay in my flock, I'd rather get new birds and be more selective of what we get. Make sure the conditions are perfect or as close as possible to discourage these genetic traits.

So there it is, the tale of the crazy chicken cannibalism mystery. We were floored to find out this was the cause of the hollowed out chickens. When I got into this, no one told me that this was a common thing. Of all the things we considered, like ants, we never ever expected that they were doing it to each other. From what we can tell they probably went for the birds going for the food, the more docile less likely to be cannibalistic types.

Check out some of my other recent posts
Adventures Around Acapulco: Historical Clavadistas Photo Gallery and Other City Sights
Acapulco Beach: Morning Shots in the Main Bay
Acapulco At Night:Stormy Colors

Sort:  

I knew exactly what it was when you said the intestines were only ate. We had the exact same thing happen. Our Rhode Island Red chickens decided to eat our Plymouth Barred Rock chickens one day at the drop of a hat. It was crazy! We had three of each breed and they just flipped their lid one day and killed the others. I was ready to shoot them but my wife convinced me to give them away. We were upfront with the people taking them about what happened. Crazy huh?!?! Where we lived at the time, we called it cannibal hill.

Wow...that's insane. I totally understand why you had to do what you had to do--that is responsible animal caretaking, as harsh as it seems. Thanks for sharing this story, for those of us who are still in our first year of chicken-keeping (raises hand). I had no idea this was a thing, and I hope I never meet it.

The photos are oddly ...I can't say beautiful, with the dead birds lined up like that. But they remind me of some of those old still-lifes, with the game bird trussed up next to a bowl of fruit. (shrugs) That's relics from my art-ed degree, I guess.

Woah. Dude. I knew chickens would eat anything but honestly I had no idea how far that would go. That is a disturbing but very interesting tale! Thanks for sharing, I am going to go have some very interesting dreams now... yikes LOL
Naw I can handle it. Looking forward to more of your homestead reports

Wow! I knew that they could do that sometimes but I figured it was mostly due to maybe the chicken who was getting attacked was sick or something! I never thought it would be something they would just do for fun! That's crazy! In so glad you figured it out!

It seemed like the more aggressive breeds just started with the docile ones, the ones that were already bent over eating food off the ground, not paying attention to the others. Crazy stuff. When there can be veggie scraps, several types of feed and supplimented with scrambled eggs.... and they go for their buddies

Since starting chickens this year I have definitely concluded they're assholes in general, to each other mostly. Haha like no regard for the other! Haha totally self preservation mode!

Yeah, I've found that too. I didn't think they'd be so mean to eachother. Ducks aren't that mean. They just cuddle unless youve got asshole male muscovys haha

My ducks (Swedish) were assholes when they were babies! Haha I added some geese and there was a lethargic one (who is doing well now), they pecked at his eyes and hurt his eyelids. Haha he's fine but his eyelids are a bit messed up now. Poor thing.

That is crazy! I have raised chickens twice and never saw that. Wow!

We think it has something to do with the recent hot temperatures. It's the hottest it gets in Acapulco right now.

Oh ok. Still weird though. Imagine if people did that when it was hot.

This totally blew me away.. so weird!! I want my own chickens.... but not chicken-eatin-chickens! Yikes! Haha!

Look into breeds that are more likely to have the genetic trait...I've heard Rhode Island Reds are a common one and I'm pretty sure that was at least one of the culprits here as we had a lot of them.

Its something I never expected to deal with. Just be aware its a possibility especially in hot weather and if it happens once, just a hollowed out body, you'll know. Then you can watch and eliminate them only having to maybe kill a few if you catch it early. We just thought it was anything else before that. We even seriously considered aliens haha

Good info!! And yeah... never rule out aliens 😜😉👍

How odd! I have noticed a few of my chickens with some butt thing going on where bugs are crawling around on them and the other chickens are pecking at their butt. Not sure what the cause is of that, but I hope the other chickens don't get carried away and eat the chicken too.

Yeah, it'd be something to keep a watch on. Even something of interest like say a worm in a butt could start the trait and once it gets going it seems to continue until those birds are eliminated.

holy shit I had no idea that was a thing. Glad I learned about that.

now that's some freaky tale to tell at a camp out :P I hope it never happens for you ever again :) thanks for sharing

Congratulations @lily-da-vine! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61470.93
ETH 3436.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52