Gardening Workshop and Seed Exchange Event

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

There was an event for buying organic seeds and learning gardening today, called Verdun Seedy Saturday. It was held at the Verdun Municipal Greenhouse, at 7000 boul. Lasalle. I found it through Facebook events (or I should say my girlfriend did, but she was working today).

IMG_20180310_145354.jpg

Verdun Seedy Saturday.jpg

Get the jump on the season and come see local seed vendors and organic gardening suppliers during the Verdun Seedy Saturday!


This was a free event with the following activities:

Activities

  • Seed Exchange
  • Many Seed Companies
  • Local Ecological Companies
  • Gardening workshops

I went for the one of the workshops.


Here are some of the exhibitors and organizations that were present or involved in the event today:

Exhibitors and Organizations

  • La Shop Agricole
  • Verte Santé
  • Semences du patrimoine Canada
  • Les Jardins de l'écoumène
  • La Cédrière d'émeu de point du jour
  • Semences du Portage
  • LA SOCIÉTÉ DES PLANTES
  • Terre Promise semencière artisanale
  • La Ferme Coopérative Tourne-Sol
  • Urban Seedling / Semis Urbain
  • Un Plant de Tomate à la Fois
  • Botaphyte
  • Les Jardins de l'écoumène
  • Le potager africain du Québec
  • CAUS
  • Maison de l'environnement de Verdun
  • Flora Exotica
  • SouthWest Kitchens / Les cuisines du Sud-Ouest
  • Hamidou Horticulture
  • Rucher de la reine noire
  • Concordia Greenhouse

The workshops/presentations were as follows:

Workshops and Presentations

  • 10h30 Biodiversité au jardin (Garden Biodiversity)
  • 11h00 Cultiver les plantes ethniques et anciennes (Cultivating Ethnic and Ancient Plants)
  • 11h30 Growing a Vegetable Garden in the City
  • 12h00 Quelques plantes pour la pharmacie familiale (Plants for the Family Pharmacy)
  • 12h30 Edible flowers in the garden
  • 13h00 L'ABC du Semis (The ABC's of Seedlings)
  • 14h00 Ecological Balcony Gardening
  • 14h30 Les abeilles et les plantes indigènes (Bees and Indigenous Plants)

The workshop I went to was Ecological Balcony Gardening at 2:00 PM (14:00), but the previous presentation was delayed/extended, so it only started around 2:30.


It was a grey and gloomy day with a bit of snowfall. I biked there. It took me about 15 minutes.

There are many citrus plants with fruit (lime, lemon) and other plants like cucumber and I think I saw some melons/squash.

Here is the greenhouse building:

IMG_20180310_134432.jpg

IMG_20180310_134527.jpg

IMG_20180310_134530.jpg

IMG_20180310_134533.jpg


Upon entering there is a delightful circular area with plants:

IMG_20180310_145354.jpg

IMG_20180310_133913.jpg

IMG_20180310_133549.jpg

IMG_20180310_133922.jpg


There are also various plants to the left and right upon entering:

IMG_20180310_133541.jpg

IMG_20180310_133555.jpg

IMG_20180310_133602.jpg

IMG_20180310_135105.jpg


On each side of the greenhouse there were exhibitions:

IMG_20180310_133608.jpg

IMG_20180310_133619.jpg


Most were selling seeds, and some were selling plants and food to eat at the event:

IMG_20180310_133737.jpg

IMG_20180310_145558.jpg


That's what I did this Saturday afternoon :)

I am really interested in having a greenhouse someday. Being able to grow citrus fruits and other fruits and vegetables in the winter is VERY appealing :D

I recorded the Ecological Balcony Gardening presentation. A large man broke a plastic chair halfway through the presentation, so I have to edit that out first. Stay tuned for that video if you are interested in gardening on your balcony :)


What do you think? Have your say.

  • Do you like to garden?
  • Do you have a greenhouse?
  • Do you plan to do either some day?

Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page; or just click on the upvote button if I am in the top 50.

Sort:  

Awesome! I Love to garden, but haven't too much experience yet (< 3 years). No greenhouse yet, I do have a small indoor hydroponic setup with kale, choc mint, and spinach growing ATM. My plans are for a HUGE greenhouse in the future so I can then build an Aquaponics setup and grow ALL my food year round.

Wow, great! Keep up the good work on indoor growing :)

You would definitely need a greenhouse to grow some of those plants! Just like here, where it gets so cold in the winter! That is one reason why I have been focused on planting sustainable plants in our Permaculture Food Forest Project! After we get enough of those established, and to a point where they have less fungal/pest issues then I will focus on a larger, more permanent greenhouse solution!


I like the one you have pictured here! What you could do with that! I walked outside on Dec. 25th to find my smaller less permanent greenhouse impaled upsidedown on a rather large fencepost! That was no fun!!! Lol!

Thank you for sharing your journey!
applesnitch_logo_s_banner_1.jpg

Damn, that sucks about your greenhouse :/ Good luck with your food forest, I dream of doing the same.

Earth is a garden and each human is a wilting Sunflower needing refocused. We need to treat each other like the most precious bonsai tree Earth has ever produced and all pain would dissolve immediately, death would die and we would thrive as intended.

💛

Thanks for the warming feedback :)

best photography

Very nice, I look for these kind of events too. :)

the post was so great, the activity was very good, planting organic seeds and exhibits about the plant was an amazing thing, very rarely in my area there is such an activity.

Great photos!

Hi, I have a big garden in the south of France,
I have a side with vegetables,
and on the other side with vegetable squares.
I also have hazel and cherry,
and on my terrace, my cacti and succulents.
I work in gardening, it's a real passion for me!
plantes 4fevrier 055.jpg
We also have a pond that serves as a refuge for birds that come to nest,
such as kingfisher, mallard, gray heron, cheetah and woodpecker ...plantes 4fevrier 018.jpg
Nice to meet you!
martin pecheur .JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59972.21
ETH 2389.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42