How to Save Pea Seeds from A-Z

in #gardening6 years ago


If you've ever wanted to try saving seeds, then look no further than the humble pea. It's one of the largest seeds you'll grow in the garden, making it the perfect choice for a first time seed saver.

Saving pea seeds requires patience - you have to wait about 3-4 weeks after harvest date for the pea pods to get dry and leathery to the touch. You want the peas to rattle around inside the pea pod as an indication they're fully dry and ready for long-term storage.

After you cut them open and collect the seeds, place them in a cool, dry, and dark place for longer-term storage. If you are going to start a new crop right away, you can sow them directly without waiting for them to dry out!

Thanks For Reading!

If this is your first time reading my writing, thank you! Please leave a comment so I can get to know you better.

My name is Kevin and I run Epic Gardening, a website, podcast, and YouTube channel. My goal is to teach 10,000,000 people how to grow their own food.

I'm a big believer in Steemit and decentralized platforms, so I'm going all in on Steemit, dtube, and dsound. Be sure to check me out there too! You'll find me writing about gardening, travel, health, and philosophy - I can't seem to stick to one topic :P

Thanks and happy Steeming,

af.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Can peas be planted immediately after they are harvested for a new crop in the same season, or do they have to be very dried out and stored first? I also have sweet peas on the pod, but they still look a bit tender green.

I only saved peas once, and it was a disaster. Little weavel bugs must have laid invisible eggs inside the pods. After a month in an airtight container in dry storage, each pea had a little bug sized tunnel through the center. Not sure if there is any way to check and see if the dried peas are going to be infested or not. One bad pea, and the whole batch of seeds becomes bug food.

You can plant immediately and don't need to let them dehydrate at all, that's one of the gerat things about peas!

So sorry to hear about your pea saving experience! Hope it goes better for you this time.

Hi Kevin, it’s been a while!
Glad to see you back.

Happy to be back, Dave! Hope you've been well my friend.

I'm confused. Should I have patience before harvesting them (and wait 3-4 weeks longer than I would want to harvest them) or after harvesting just letting them be for 3-4 weeks somewhere?
Maybe in a dry place.

Both are viable, that's what I was trying to explain in the video. I'll do a better job explaining next time! I prefer the harvest + dry method so I can use the space in the garden more effectively.

... there is a video? I just thought that's a photo and didn't notice the Dtube tag. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43