Pineapples - How to grow your own.

in #gardening7 years ago

Pineapples are one of my favourite fruits. The pineapples here are so much better than the ones I bought in the supermarket in Holland. Here they are much juicier, sweeter and so much tastier.

2U0B2508_L.jpg

The pineapple is a member of the bromeliad family. The fruit actually exists of many berries fused together around a central core. Each scale of the pineapple is a berry. They are very high in vitamin C, thiamin and manganese.

Here are some benefits of the pineapple.

  • Helps prevent arthritis, cancer and heart diseases.
  • Reduces inflammation of joints and muscles.
  • Protects against constipation and irritable bowel syndrome.
  • Helps improve oral and eye health.
  • Boosts immunity and improves blood circulation
  • Helps heal wounds and protects against infections
  • Reduces risk of dementia and Alzheimer’s disease.

If you live in the right climate it’s very easy to grow them yourself. They are very pests resilient and don’t require that much care. What they don’t like is to have wet feet. That’s why I grow them in raised grow beds.

Step 1: Get yourself a pineapple.
Step 2: Cut off the crown.

2U0B2512_L.jpg

Step 3: Twist off the remaining fruit. The crown should come out cleanly.

2U0B2514_L.jpg

Step 4: Peel off the leaves at the bottom. You can see white dots. These dots will form into roots.

2U0B2516_L.jpg

Step 5: Stick it into ordinary potting compost and water it in.

2U0B2521_L.jpg

Step 6: Put them in the full sun and just make sure that the compost doesn’t dry out.

That’s it. It’s that easy.


On the first picture there were 6 pineapples I planted in this manner a couple of months ago. They are getting potbound and are ready to be planted in open soil.

These grow beds are a bit of a mess. First I have to do some weeding.

2U0B2505_L.jpg

This is Biscuit, he likes to dig a big hole for himself in the nice cool sand.

2U0B2503_L.jpg

I don’t dig. I don’t turn the soil. I just yank out the most of the weeds and put layers of mulch and compost over the soil.
This saves a lot of work and it really works. The compost feeds the soil and the soil feeds the plants.
Of course we do everything organic in our garden.

2U0B2526_L.jpg

On this picture you can see the roots of the pineapple, better get it into the soil quick.

2U0B2528_L.jpg

And here they are. 6 young pineapple plants, planted and watered in. I have to do some more weeding around the edges and put more compost on it.

2U0B2530_L.jpg

Now I have to be patient and wait for at least a year before they start flowering and produce my own pineapples. Yummie!


Thanks and much love,

Gardenbsquared



square-small.png

Check out this other cool content on the ecoTrain.

Sort:  

I knew it was possible to get more than 1 root out of 1 pineapple but didn't know how, nice info. Don't see the white spots on the pic but that's because of my not-so-sharp mobile pic i guess. Much love

Thank you. They are a bit difficult to see, it's true.

Love this post because I am hoping to do exactly this with growing pineapples and you made it look so easy! @bolaamir referred me to this post in upvotable 30 and I like it so much you also get a tip!

Thanks @jerrybanfield. It's very easy but one has to be patient. Thanks for the up vote and for the tip, I was pleasantly surprised. Thanks @bolaamir for referring me.

Excellent article! We have about six as well, we've eaten the first one! They are so good when you grow them yourself.

Be careful with sheep! Our sheep LOVES pinneaple plants!

I don't have sheep, but I've got a dog I don't trust. He used to tear up young pineapple plants when he was younger. I only had one homegrown myself but what a joy. Thanks.

Really love pineapple alot, but can't plant my own. Thanks for the post

Fantastic post! Thanks for the info!

I recently planted some lemon seeds after making lemonade one night, and now I have several small lemon trees. I'll have to try pineapples next!

This post is very well-done. The photos are great quality, and they make it easy to follow along with the step-by-step guide. I'll be following for more useful gardening tips!

@tippy vote
@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gardenbsquared to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks does? Give it an upvote to support this project and keep it free!
For more information, Click Here!

Thank you. I'm not sure how many gardening tips I can share but I will try to share my garden's hidden treasures.

I am looking forward to it!

I'd love to plant pineapple but I am really not in the right area for that! Would a greenhouse be conducive to growing them??

I'm no expert but I think you can grow them in big containers. Put them outside during summer if the temperature allows it. And put them in a greenhouse during winter. They don't tolerate freezing temperatures.

Great post. Growing fruit and veg from leftovers is really good and easy to do. It's like magic. Here's some others that also work:

Thank you. Great tips in this video. I'll try it with ginger next.

Yes, he's a sweetie. Thanks.

This is awesome! I love that you're showing this! My dog just dug mine up! I was soooo sad! Maybe I should try to start them inside first... I usually just like to go right into the soil but obviously your way is working better than mine so I will have to give it a go! Thanks for sharing <3

Thank you. My dog used to do that to. He used to completely shred them to pieces. No idea why. But they survived the night. It was the first thing I checked this morning. LOL

Hahaha wow that is weird... I wonder why dogs want to sabotage the growth of pineapples? Happy to hear yours made it! 😍 I hope they make it all the way to your mouth at some point! 💜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63700.12
ETH 3136.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83