Gardening Report - April 29. 2019

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

For the last few weeks the weather was nice, except for a few days of cold but even so, it was perfect for gardening. Plants are growing nicely, the garden looks great. If nothing bad happens, we're going to have a good year again.

I took some photos today to show you our work and this post is my entry to Garden Corner hosted by @sustainablelivin and also for SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge - April hosted by @simplymike.

IMG_20190429_132725a.jpg

Currants are looking great already. As I said, if nothing bad happens, we're going to have a lot of fruits, which is great. I've been making currant jam for a decade now and everyone loves it. It's great for cakes, for biscuits and not only. My storage room is always full of currant jams.

IMG_20190429_132716a.jpg

These fruits are organic, chemical free, thus healthy. I prefer to make my own jam as i know what I'm eating and I can keep my family healthy. Sugar is minimal in my jam, compared to what you buy from the supermarket, where you eat 2/3 part sugar and 1/3 part fruit.

IMG_20190429_132715a.jpg

About a month ago I cleaned these currant bushes, cut the old, dry branches. Renewal is essential, should be done from time to time. old branches should be cut so new ones have space to grow.

IMG_20190429_133139a.jpg

Gooseberries, these were planted last year and already growing, giving fruits. My grandparents always had gooseberry but those were smaller ones. These are Dutch and the fruits are quite big. Las year we already had quite a lot. I'm hoping for more this year.

IMG_20190429_132644a.jpg

This is the elder. This elder tree is a young one, last year was the first time when we could pick some flowers. I believe the flower will open in a few weeks.

This is it for today. Stay tuned, I'm going to show you more interesting things in my next report.

Sort:  

Those berries look exactly like mine. Unfortunately, our bush is only 2 years old, and doesn't produce enough fruit to make jam. But I love eating the berries as a snack while I'm in the garden.

Thanks for joining the 🌺 SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge

We have at least 15 bushes and are probably older than me. It was my grandparents' 😊
One year I made 150 jar of jam 😀

My pleasure, looking forward to participating in the next one 😉

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you!

You got a 8.50% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

You have receive an upvote. Thanks for playing moonSTEEM

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 6000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Yay, another milestone!

You're welcome
Feel free to vote our witness to support us. You will get one more badge and more powerful votes from us on your posts.

Done, you have two votes from me, one from this account and one from my alt, @erikahfit. Thanks for the heads up.

I love all three of these fruits and they are not growing in my area. But we have lots of other things here - all good.

Love the pictures!!

Thank you for participating in the garden corner 😄

Hello @sustainablelivin, and thank you for the nice words. I really enjoy your contest and already have a bunch of material for the next editions to come.
I love that we have different plants from all over the world, this way we can learn more :) Have a nice day and steem on! A fed rainy days are expected here, so gardening is on hold for now but rain is very necessary at the moment.

I am looking forward to your pictures!! And rain is a good thing - mostly LOL

You're right 🌧️

!sbi status

Hi @erikah!

  • you have 188 units and 0 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 342832766143 or 0.176 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.035 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 57.85 % has come from your subscription level
  • 0.00 % has come from your bonus units
  • 42.15 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 0.00 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    To reduce blockchain clutter, you can also check your status in our Discord server!
    https://discord.gg/VpghTRz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54114.77
ETH 2331.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13