The Most Beautiful Weapon That You Can Have Against Black Aphids in Your GardensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever had a Nasturtium in your garden?

1a.jpg

This too, is from one of them seeds given to me by Green Peace. Since I got them as seeds, I had no idea what they'd become nor what kind of flower they'd have nor whether they're edible or many years ago. Well ... this is what they look like when they bloom.

2a.jpg

10.jpg

I got me the usual orange and yellow ones in my backyard.

10a.jpg

3.jpg

My latest acquisitions are these. I bought (yes, you read it right) these two just this year.

17.jpg

16.jpg

This is what their buds look like.

3a.jpg

When a bit bigger, they somehow look like one of them aliens in some movies.

6.jpg

6b.jpg

Or do they actually look like a T- rex with that tail like tube that holds the petals.

6a1.jpg

That tail points upward just when they are near to spread their petals open.

6a2.jpg

They look pretty sweet looking at them - front view :)

6a.jpg

When in bloom, they look like megaphones - or I do think so. What about you ? Where can you compare them looking like so?

9.jpg

2a2.jpg

When they're near withering, they tend to look up to the sky as if trying to say, "I had my time to behold your beauty up there." Looking like this, they remind me of a funnel, just that they've got more holes and not just one.

22.jpg

2a1.jpg

12a.jpg

7.jpg

The moment they're done showing off their beautiful blooms, they wilt and the petals tend to spread apart ...

15.jpg

and like performers on stage.. they kind'a look like taking their last bows and as if wearing those witches hats you get on halloween

11.jpgs.

12.jpg

12c.jpg

12b.jpg

12d.jpg

The petals dry up and the fruit in the middle start to swell.

14.jpg

9b2.jpg

When the fruit is ripe enough, the petals won't shed. It stays and just dries up with it as if the fruit suck all the juice out of it.

19 a.jpg

19b.jpg

19.jpg

Once, petal - less, I pluck them off their stems and just let dry in an open container. They turn brown in the process and I just plant them next year. I could let them stay and brown outside but it's always wet and they, too aren't immune to the mildew thats going around some plants here in autumn. Did you notice that one of them seeds look like a big butt. (chuckles!)

21.jpg

Here are some proof they're the most beautiful weapons you could use against black aphids. Why the most beautiful? It's all organic and you won't need to spend any dime on any poisonous pesticides plus you get to enjoy a lot of benefits(below) it has aside from the beautiful bubbly looking flowers.

9b.jpg

I actually didn't know that till - during my first year of having them, I noticed a damselfly which is featured on one on my blogs in my website chewing one of them aphids that were freshly delivered by ants.

9b1.jpg

9e1.jpg

9f.jpg

Back then, they were growing in pots. I realized that the black aphids seem to like them a lot so I placed each pot near the baby cherry plants they were plaguing back then. They moved to there and for some reasons, the Nasturtium must be a tastier treat cause finally, they've left them baby cherries alone.

9c.jpg

9d.jpg

9e.jpg

18.jpg

It's not just black aphids you can repel with these and here's the proof.

9g.jpg

9h.jpg

This is why I planted them around the baby apple plants, too.

9a1.jpg

Some summery days this year, I saw two cabbage butterflies courting each other. One of them had its wings wide open and its butt pointing up while the other was hovering on top of it. I suppose they were mating and had to stop because I went close by trying to take a video. A few days later, I found these tiny creepy crawlers. Are these the cabbage butterflies larvae?

An old friend of mine paid me a visit on it's first year in bloom and she asked me for seeds. I promised to give her a few and she told me then that the flowers could actually be eaten, the seeds, too and so are the leaves. I've never really eaten the seeds but had the flowers and the tiniest of them leaves added in soup or salads.

1.jpg

2.jpg

What do they taste like? A bit spicy but mild. The scent is similar to that of the sap that comes out of a papaya fruit when you pluck it off the tree. My husband loves munching on them so I often have to say, save some for my bee friends please and some to seed.

These days, I don't have to say that too often because they flowered like crazy and seeded a lot.

20.jpg

Have you got Nasturtiums in your garden, too?
Do you use it for cooking, too?
What else can you actually do with this plant culinary and cosmetic wise, care to share in the comments below?
Thank you!



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP : Don't waste your voting power on posts that have already been paid out. Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



Sort:  

They are absolutely awesome at attracting pests. The first time I planted them I was horrified at the number of aphids and other breasts that were crawling all over them. I was almost ready to start soapy want me watering the stems to get skit if then but then noticed that my plants nearby were all clear. Fantastic stuffs!

Lovely pics lass, their seed pods do look cool. Almost like scotch bonnet peppers!

thanks!
I had to duckduckgo what scotch bonnet peppers look like :D
also like a three leaf clover but bulgy instead

Yes, yes .. they must be very very tasty to them black aphids.
Keeps the ants away from your house, too cause they only attack this plant just to supply those black stem suckers!

Dont Scotch Bonnets look funny?

I have some just flowering and growing into cheeky little strong peppers on my windowsill.

I will probably grow more nasturtiums!

Definitely on my planting list for next year. I plant calendula in my garden- similar co-planing theory, the pests are attracted to the calendula rather than my some of my veggies.

oh hi,

haven't seen you in awhile :D

so true about the calendula I have them, too
for some reasons, the ants seem to thrive year after year here
so one plant repellent isn't enough

These are now also on my list!
Loved this post and found it not only beautiful but very helpful!

Great to see you around as always!

Beautiful flowers @englishtchrivy, a variety of colors is amazing. The omnipresent aphids want to ruin beauty!

thanks it is a natural solution to keep away this dangerous insect..

Wow! Planning to have one too. I think raw fresh food straight from my own backyard will help my father recover from cancer. Nice post @englishtchrivy

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

What a stunning post......the photographs are just lovely ....no...I did not know that about Nasturtiums......appreciate the information as always.

Monet must have been enchanted with them as there are loads at Giverney.

Wishing you and yours all the best. Abientotlater mon ami.

Hello @englishtchrivy! We have a lot of Nasturtium here in Mauritius, it grows mainly in the wild and near rivers. We call the cappucine flowers here and I really love them.
I never knew that they had such a great effect against black aphids, wow nice to know!
I love using them in many dishes that i cook, i even put them in a smoothie recipe recently for the steemit culinary challenge! The mild spicy-ness is just amazing in salads!
Great photography you posted here! Love them all!
@progressivechef

that's great!
hmm.. thanks for the tip about using them in a smoothie I haven't tried that

What a great discovery. I used to work on a commercial organic produce farm, and our tomatoes got nailed by the aphids. We brought in some huge bags of living ladybugs in order to combat the aphids. I often wondered about the ethics of the ladybug method. Yours solution is certainly more sustainable, and of course nasturtium flowers are incredible edible additions to the dinner plate. :)

I have an aphid problem on my tomatoes and it's so annoying- I'm going to plant some nasturtiums next year and actually do something about it! Thanks for all of this info and awesome photos to boot!

Attract aphid eater wasp with a nesting block they paralize aphids to feed their young. Here is an article I did on them. https://steemit.com/gardening/@jetjockey/natural-aphid-control-with-aphid-hunter-wasps

this is the kind of reply that could get you flagged
don't do this again specially not on my wall please
we have a [steemd.com](https://steemd.com/@englishtchrivy?]() profile and I automatically upvote anyone I see on it the same time they upped my post and if not - its probably the next day cause the voting power has to recharge so you don't have to post a link of your post - it's desperate and pretty much of a gate crashing on someone's post
would you find it respectful if I drop a link on your post ?
would you not feel like something is being pushed on your face to upvote
would that be a positive feeling?
I understand that you are new as your rep tells me but I suggest that you refrain on doing this - it's very very annoying!

This is not spam! It's a pertinent comment the link is to an article that I wrote and is 3 months old so I am not trying to get an up vote. Legitimate natural aphid control.

Would you prefer if I had posted the text from my article?

@jetjockey I see
I suggest that you include this - (paid out post) in your comment then. There's plenty of this going on and the chat has been off now just because I put out a shout out there. You could be mistaken for spamming and I apologize for doing so but next time just add that on your link. I clicked it yesterday to confirm that it is indeed paid out and saw.

Yes and the fact that he up voted his own comment after pasting unsolicited links. I think anyone successful on Steemit here agrees with you @englishtchrivy as the more successful you get the more spam and unsolicited copy paste stuff you get.
You were kind enough to give a detailed written reply instead of a flag. That is more than kind.

SteemON!

thanks I hate the flag and I have used it once and I didn't like the feeling so I thought I'd better just bring clarity to the table that I don't want this on my page. Too many of them post crashers. This one's paid out as he claims.

Yes its important to do something about the spamming as its inappropriate and your choice is the honorable way. Good on you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67343.52
ETH 3227.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65