Presenting some vegetable plants from the backyard with Steem exclusive pictures

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

A few months ago we decided to start growing food in our backyard and take advantage of the space we have in there.

This is the first post in which I am sharing what we have grow so far, I am also planning in doing regular updates because there are some plants getting bigger faster than we expected ^^

We mainly started doing this because in our country Venezuela there are always problems when finding certain foods, mainly because of scarcity and the economic crisis that has been going on for several years.

So a lot of people and neighbors decided to start using the backyards to grow food.

This is what we have so far after a few months since we began.

Scallion

With this vegetable people can make sauces, and use to improve the taste of many different soups.

It can also be used to make a vegetable sauté, which is what we are planning to do later on.

Chives

Sugar Cane

This one was a gift from one of our neighbors, and in the right side of the pic you can see it is starting to grow nicely.

Black bean

In Venezuela there is a typical food consisting in black beans, rise, fried plantain, meatloaf and arepa. This typical food is called "pabellon criollo".

So at least we have one part of this meal growing in the backyard :)

Potato

This is the one I am waiting the most to grow for obvious reason. Who doesn't like potatoes?

We also have more potatoes next to the beans below. The one I am showing here is the smallest one.

Beans

This is a different kind of bean than the one mentioned before.

But we are trying to grow as much as we can.

Moringa

We bought these because there are so many things we can do with them, especially its oil has a lot of uses we could take advantage of and try to find a commercial use for it.

Here we can see its pretty leaf

If these titles sound interesting to you, I assure you the articles will be even better!


.
Defending our freedom and no middle ground.
.
Governments and mafia can be pretty much the same
.
"Thoughts about our mind being our most valuable asset."

Sort:  

good something for us.your hobby is really awesome.keep it up

Thanks for your kind words!

You are doing a great job in many sense man, keep it up.

I hope so, the black beans are growing very fast :P

Now i remember you.. You were one of the first persons helping by discord throught my first days in steemit! Thank you very much for that!

That's such a great idea, i wish i could garden like that, but i live in a appartment. I always dream about having a tomatoes plantation lol

Yep I remember, that was me ^^.

Having tomatoes is also a good idea, we might add them eventually.

This is a pleasant and useful activity to grow for your family some kinds of products to Your table. It's nice to see the plants grow bigger day by day. Also nice at the end of the season to harvest, which is grown with their own hands. I wish You success!

Thanks @madlenfox, it is really a nice experience to do this :)

Looks great! I am especially interested in the Moringa tree - what is it all about?

They have an oil we can sell. Moringa trees can be used for a lot of commercial uses.

Your environment are very similar to my country, I can see a lot of plants we planted here as well.

That's cool! Are you growing vegetables as well?

My partner does, but we don't have land, all are planted in pots. This is the tomato.
Tomato-s.jpg

Hey Moringa we have a lot of those here and we call them Malunggay in our native language. It has many benefits and we love adding them to soups with clams. Fried fish in a broth with moringa including it's fruit is very delicious.

That's nice to know mate, moringa is indeed very useful :P

Looking good, that garden of yours.
Maybe it’s not too late to change one og your tags to ‘gardenjournal2018’ and join my new steemit Gardening Journal challenge and maybe win a price. You’ll find the contest post on my blog ;0)

Thanks @simplymike, I just added the tag!

I really enjoyed seeing your garden update. It was refreshing: because you live in a country with a climate that is completely different from mine, the things you are growing are also very different.
I even had to look up ‘moringa’. I had never heard of it before.

And I think it’s awesome that you are growing sugar cane...

Those beans seem to be doing very well. And I simply love the small potato plants, they are so cute... :0)

hahaah yep that small plant looks cure but it is growing nicely, will do a new update in a few days :)

I have been considering repeating the contest every two weeks now everything is growing so fast, but doing so will result in me being broke very soon, lol.
Plan B is that if everyone keeps using the tag for every update, we might still get a nice overview...
I’m going to try to pit up my own post soon. Will probably have to split it up and do more than one post, because there is so much going on in the garden and my energy is very limited :0)

Plan B is that if everyone keeps using the tag for every update, we might still get a nice overview

I agree with that, in my case I will keep using the tag when doing posts like this one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97